We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #27 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Booked through Priceline and was very surprised when I got this hotel for $100.00 on a Saturday night. They even upgraded us to a Monte Carlo room for free. The only issue was that when we checked in around 4:15pm, they said our room wasn't ready (Check-in is 3:00pm) and they didn't even offer a drink or anything. They just said we had to wait and it ended up being about 40 minutes. The room was great, very big and the free wine tasting was a nice bonus. The location is probably the best aspect of this hotel. Would definitely like to stay here again when in D.C.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Monte Carlo room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Ggrt81584 - weekends were made for Monaco! Though next time - you may find a better value in a great package deal booking direct with us at Monaco-dc.com! Come see us again - the location won't change - we promise! (nor will our wine hour or the free guest use bikes!)
Thanks for the great comments,
best
Ed - Monaco GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    563
    279
    102
    55
    28
See reviews for
197
343
72
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I spent two nights at the Monaco Hotel in Washington DC and loved this hotel! It's in a fantastic location a few blocks from the National Mall and all the museums and is in the historic Post Office. The hotel rooms are smallish, but the high ceilings and floor to ceiling windows make them seem more spacious than they are. The decor is fabulous - a great mix of bright colours and patterns that work well with the historic buidling. If you arrive around 2pm there are freshly baked cookies waiting for you at the check-in counter and in the evenings they have a welcome drinks function - great if you're travelling alone. The staff are friendly and helpful. I ate breakfast one morning in Poste - their on-site restaurant. The food was okay but a rather over-priced for what it was (which I think is the case with most hotels...). I would stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Wow KerriBrisbane -
Thank you thank you thank you - we love that you loved us! (and the cookies!) That's a long way to travel for a few nights stay - next time let's take more than a second to get to know you - make sure you book yourself one of our Monte Carlo rooms - small upgrade in price, massive upgrade in space!
Thanks again!
Ed - Monaco GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is very close to the Verizon Center and many other interesting sites you would want to visit in Washington. Having thoroughly enjoyed the Monaco Hotel in Denver I was a bit disappointed with the Washington hotel. It still needs quite a bit of work to go from "faded" to "classically elegant" IMHO. The sense of scale was all wrong as I walked through the fabulous hallways and staircases to my room with its high ceiling and huge windows that made the furnishings look undersized. This was obviously a very impressive building in its time and you can just see its potential . . . nevertheless you can't beat its location and the service was excellent as usual for a Kimpton property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi Mark_in_EC,
Well I guess size does matter after all! All kidding aside, I'd love to show you around our National Historic Register "gem" on a future visit - we agree the location is second to none - and the massive scale certainly gave us some fun opportunities when converting to a hotel. Though without all that extra space we might not have room for our award winning Poste Brasserie or Garden Courtyard for fair weather drinks and dining - that's a tasty use of space! Many thanks for your comments,
Best
Ed - Monaco GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was down to DC to visit with friends who had runners in the Rock-n-Roll Marathon and Half Marathon and, although The Rouge (another Kimpton Hotel in DC) is normally our hotel of choice, we were recommended to The Monaco and decided on it. We booked four (4) rooms for the party and, although the rooms were small, they were very nicely furnished and clean in every respect. The hotel itself is small (four floors) and was the former headquarters of the US Postal Service. The corridors are super elegant and set the tone for the luxury that pervades this fine hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful and promptly provided extra towels on request. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Clearly, I will be back and one member of our party opined that The Monaco was her favorite hotel in DC. BTW, it is very conveniently located - public transportation is directly accross the street from the entrance.

Room Tip: My party had four (4) rooms located throughout the hotel and all were without issue. Frankly, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Wow BobofNewtn - we're so glad you decided to break the Rouge tradition and try out another Kimpton family member in DC (and most of all pleased it was us!) - many thanks for the oh-so-kind words - as you pointed out the location is second to none but the team is what makes the difference! Please stop in and say hello on your next visit - would love to show you around the Grande Dame!
Best
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just back at the Monaco again. There's so much to like about this quirky boutique hotel. It's just off-center enough, and in all the right ways. (Given that it's DC, you can choose if it's off to the left or right.) I love the 4th floor - when you look up at your ceiling, it's giant, full of cool moldings and arc shapes. The stairs (who needs an elevator here) are gorgeous with in laid marble you don'd see any more. So many details to appreciate. The service is great, although the staff has changed recently and I miss some of the old faces. Coffee time in the morning and wine hour in the afternoons are friendly and warm. Great location, too. This hotel is a real gem in a city of average hotels.

Room Tip: I love the 4th floor and anything below a Monaco room is kind of small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Jeff B - quirky... well I guess I resemble that remark! I so appreciate your kind comments, and truly miss a lot of the old faces too (I've been here a few years now...) though most of them have moved into other great Kimpton Hotels in the city - spreading that Monaco love to the masses! We appreciate your loyalty, and I know the new faces, like Chef's new menu, will surprise and delight on your next visit.
Cheers,
Ed Monaco GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a last minute weekend getaway for us. Having seen this hotel many times when we go out to Chinatown/Gallery Place, it seemed like a great place to stay. The hotel is right across the street from Verizon Center on 7th and F street. There are about 20-30 restaurants all within walking distance. It's a boutique hotel which used to be the US postal building. It has only 4 floors, floor 1 being below street level. The service at the front desk was very good...the person at the front desk told us that our 4th floor room was on the same floor as a wedding and asked if we wanted to be on a different floor. She didn't have to do that and I appreciated it. We ended up on the 1st floor, below ground, and there was a real small window...but that was ok because it was a one night stay. The room was a little small, but had high ceilings and a decent sized bathroom. It was very quiet as well, which I appreciated. The restaurant in the hotel has an amazing reputation, but was so full, that we neve ate there. The walk to the smithsonian museums is 6 short blocks. The hotel is right across from the Gallery Place/Chinatown (red line) metro stop, so if you need to take metro, it's SUPER convenient. There is also another Metro stop, Archives/Navy Memorial (blue and yellow line) 4 blocks away. We drove in from VA, and valet parking is 40 dollars a night. If you live in Northern VA like we do, it probably would be a lot cheaper to take metro (or a taxi to the metro) to get into the city. The hotel has C.O. Bigelow toiletries (soap, lotion, shampoo, conditioner) which did the trick. Room service menu was very reasonable ($10 for sandwiches and burgers), but we chose to eat in Chinatown (3 blocks away). This is a great place to stay if you want to be close to the touristy spots or come in to catch a game/concert at Verizon Center. We would come back again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet and dark room to get a good night's sleep, request the 1st floor...it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Lisa B - you had me at Unique! What great comments - I thank you for your time - and you're right, our award winning Poste Moderne Brasserie is very busy, but worth the call for reservations. In the mean time, summer is coming and it's a great opportunity for a NoVA resident to grab a DC outside dining experience second to none! Let us know if we can assist with grabbing a table for you.
Cheers
Ed - Monaco GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a boutique hotel and we expected a lot more than we got for the money. The one saving grace is that the staff are totally awesome. Anything you want they will do their best to see that you get it and with a big smile. The hotel needs more work on cosmetic issues, and the rooms were very small for "king deluxe". We will say, that the food at the reception we attended was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi Thomas J - what can I say - I couldn't agree with you more - our staff goes the extra mile so you don't have to (and our great location has something to do with that too). They are really the element that makes this Historic Landmark unique! Many thanks for the kind words,
Ed - Monaco GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel’s exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the bustling Poste Moderne Brasserie, Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.