We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stretch Out The Weekend!
Ranked #26 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Cooma, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Loved this Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were here for the second part of our 30th wedding anniversary trip. We had never been to Washington before.
We had the best time and loved this hotel. The central position meant we were able to walk most places. We met up with some friends for the weekend and they had organised a Segway tour and a tour of Ford's Theatre.
We loved the hotel and our room. We did not eat at the hotel at all. We tended to have a late breakfast-lunch in one.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    557
    277
    101
    54
    28
See reviews for
195
338
71
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel is ideally situated in the city, close to the Verizon Center, a few blocks off of the Mall, with ready access to the Metro. Building is unique, and the third floor hallways (I had an interior room looking down at the courtyard) are simply spectacular. Room rate was reasonable for the City. Room service from "Poste" was excellent and prompt. The welcome at check-in was exemplary. The room I had was cozy, a function of the original architecture and the need to use part of the original room for the bath and HVAC system. Overall a pleasant stay, with a slight markdown for the room needing a bit of paint freshening.

Room Tip: My interior room facing the interior courtyard was very quiet. I didn't rent a car, and flew int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went for a short family trip to DC in early Jan. This hotel is in the middle of many great sites, stores and museums. We walked a lot, did not drive the car and had a great time.
rooms are spacious and well furnished. One spot of humidity on wall and ceilling over the headboard. Restaurant "Poste" was tasty for dinner and breakfast.
Had also one breakfast in the room and the croissant was bland.
Everyone was very helpful and the check in/out was seamless. We would go back if in the area.

Room Tip: On3rd floor, no noise from F street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Although a regular at Kimpton Hotels, this was my first at this property in DC, usually staying at the Palomar on the other side of town. Housed in a huge former federal office building/post office, the huge public spaces, columns, marble and woodwork of 120 years ago make this a unique spot. My room was spacious, beautifully equipped as always, spotless, with 15' ceilings and a huge window about as high as the ceiling. The hotel is quiet, the front desk staff attentive, and remember your name, the staff pleasant, and the food at Poste quite good. The hotel is close to museums, the Mall, Capitol and major Federal office buildings, as well as Union Station. For the price and value, why pay more in my view? Another hit for the Kimpton franchise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful cute hotel! Flew in this past weekend for my brother's 50th birthday and stayed here overnight. Killer location with a very professional staff. Everyone was pleasant and extremely helpful. Only negative was the waitress at restaurant when we had breakfast. Her service was slow and she would disappear for long period of time. What made up for her terrible service was the excellent quality of food. Nevertheless, it was a great time. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, VA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed recently for a night in the town (DC) to see the Wizards. We were a group of 3 families (1 couple; 2 families) traveling. My rating is mixed.

5 stars:

Location - great for Verizon Center, metro, shopping, etc.

Room was nicely decorated & comfortable, including bed. TV - nice flatscreen; bathroom clean & pleasant. For price (paid through Amex points), I have no complaints about room.

Bar (Poste): (Fri night in January after 10:30) was hoppin' - if you don't mind being late 40s amongst a bunch of 20-somethings... & service was good.

3 stars:

Service - Mediocre at best. No one seemed happy to be there. While I understand they are working, aren't they supposed to make you feel more welcome? Also when I called to find out about rates for a family of 5 (we were 3 families traveling), the first customer service rep was not very friendly and implied we couldn't put 5 in a room because of DC fire code. However, when I called Sales Agents in morning, it was no problem.

Elevator - cold.

Hotel Space - a bit weird. It is an old building so it's cool in that sense, especially the wide hallways, but it's a maze; hard to navigate. More signs would be appreciated. Restaurant bathroom is far from dining area. My kids liked the design/decor of the lobby, etc, but I thought it needed some warming up. Strikes me as too eclectic or something - can't quite put my finger on it. Maybe too much green? This is just my personal opinion though, as many in our party did like it. I forgot to take room pics but am attaching some lobby pics.

Restaurant - Bar at night was fine as I said above & service was good then, but I was less than impressed at breakfast. Made the mistaken assumption that you could eat breakfast in the hotel restaurant (Poste Brasserie), but when we got down there the hostess asked if we had a reservation - just me & my 2 kids at that point. I told her no & she said that they were "fully committed at this time." I had to ask about the bar seats since she did not offer that, and then she agreed that was fine. But of course then service was slow. After 15 min waiting for waitress she said she'd be with us to take our order, but we didn't even have menus yet. I think the hotel needs to provide a small buffet for people staying at the hotel if they cannot accommodate guests in the restaurant. On a good note, the food was good.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are below the lobby level, level 2. We were on floor 3 which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The corridors are so magnificent that every evening, after a long work day, I feel I am heading to a ballroom rather than to a hotel room. The corridors are long, wide, with deep beautiful carpets, high-backed benches spaced out on each side, and glittering chandeliers! It might sound superficial but, to me at least, it gives the Hotel character so sorely lacking in most major hotel chains.

Room Tip: Rooms on either the 7th Street or 8th Street side means you can exit through the side doors and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel’s exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the bustling Poste Moderne Brasserie, Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.