We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Suite Night Free
Ranked #41 of 138 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cooma, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Loved this Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were here for the second part of our 30th wedding anniversary trip. We had never been to Washington before.
We had the best time and loved this hotel. The central position meant we were able to walk most places. We met up with some friends for the weekend and they had organised a Segway tour and a tour of Ford's Theatre.
We loved the hotel and our room. We did not eat at the hotel at all. We tended to have a late breakfast-lunch in one.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerandquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Colorado
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel is ideally situated in the city, close to the Verizon Center, a few blocks off of the Mall, with ready access to the Metro. Building is unique, and the third floor hallways (I had an interior room looking down at the courtyard) are simply spectacular. Room rate was reasonable for the City. Room service from "Poste" was excellent and prompt. The welcome at check-in was exemplary. The room I had was cozy, a function of the original architecture and the need to use part of the original room for the bath and HVAC system. Overall a pleasant stay, with a slight markdown for the room needing a bit of paint freshening.

Room Tip: My interior room facing the interior courtyard was very quiet. I didn't rent a car, and flew int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooncat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went for a short family trip to DC in early Jan. This hotel is in the middle of many great sites, stores and museums. We walked a lot, did not drive the car and had a great time.
rooms are spacious and well furnished. One spot of humidity on wall and ceilling over the headboard. Restaurant "Poste" was tasty for dinner and breakfast.
Had also one breakfast in the room and the croissant was bland.
Everyone was very helpful and the check in/out was seamless. We would go back if in the area.

Room Tip: On3rd floor, no noise from F street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel8807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlochen
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Although a regular at Kimpton Hotels, this was my first at this property in DC, usually staying at the Palomar on the other side of town. Housed in a huge former federal office building/post office, the huge public spaces, columns, marble and woodwork of 120 years ago make this a unique spot. My room was spacious, beautifully equipped as always, spotless, with 15' ceilings and a huge window about as high as the ceiling. The hotel is quiet, the front desk staff attentive, and remember your name, the staff pleasant, and the food at Poste quite good. The hotel is close to museums, the Mall, Capitol and major Federal office buildings, as well as Union Station. For the price and value, why pay more in my view? Another hit for the Kimpton franchise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful cute hotel! Flew in this past weekend for my brother's 50th birthday and stayed here overnight. Killer location with a very professional staff. Everyone was pleasant and extremely helpful. Only negative was the waitress at restaurant when we had breakfast. Her service was slow and she would disappear for long period of time. What made up for her terrible service was the excellent quality of food. Nevertheless, it was a great time. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, VA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed recently for a night in the town (DC) to see the Wizards. We were a group of 3 families (1 couple; 2 families) traveling. My rating is mixed.

5 stars:

Location - great for Verizon Center, metro, shopping, etc.

Room was nicely decorated & comfortable, including bed. TV - nice flatscreen; bathroom clean & pleasant. For price (paid through Amex points), I have no complaints about room.

Bar (Poste): (Fri night in January after 10:30) was hoppin' - if you don't mind being late 40s amongst a bunch of 20-somethings... & service was good.

3 stars:

Service - Mediocre at best. No one seemed happy to be there. While I understand they are working, aren't they supposed to make you feel more welcome? Also when I called to find out about rates for a family of 5 (we were 3 families traveling), the first customer service rep was not very friendly and implied we couldn't put 5 in a room because of DC fire code. However, when I called Sales Agents in morning, it was no problem.

Elevator - cold.

Hotel Space - a bit weird. It is an old building so it's cool in that sense, especially the wide hallways, but it's a maze; hard to navigate. More signs would be appreciated. Restaurant bathroom is far from dining area. My kids liked the design/decor of the lobby, etc, but I thought it needed some warming up. Strikes me as too eclectic or something - can't quite put my finger on it. Maybe too much green? This is just my personal opinion though, as many in our party did like it. I forgot to take room pics but am attaching some lobby pics.

Restaurant - Bar at night was fine as I said above & service was good then, but I was less than impressed at breakfast. Made the mistaken assumption that you could eat breakfast in the hotel restaurant (Poste Brasserie), but when we got down there the hostess asked if we had a reservation - just me & my 2 kids at that point. I told her no & she said that they were "fully committed at this time." I had to ask about the bar seats since she did not offer that, and then she agreed that was fine. But of course then service was slow. After 15 min waiting for waitress she said she'd be with us to take our order, but we didn't even have menus yet. I think the hotel needs to provide a small buffet for people staying at the hotel if they cannot accommodate guests in the restaurant. On a good note, the food was good.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are below the lobby level, level 2. We were on floor 3 which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerbyD428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The corridors are so magnificent that every evening, after a long work day, I feel I am heading to a ballroom rather than to a hotel room. The corridors are long, wide, with deep beautiful carpets, high-backed benches spaced out on each side, and glittering chandeliers! It might sound superficial but, to me at least, it gives the Hotel character so sorely lacking in most major hotel chains.

Room Tip: Rooms on either the 7th Street or 8th Street side means you can exit through the side doors and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#21 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
#13 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,806 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,650 reviews
JW Marriott Washington DC
#73 of 138 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,202 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , U Street Corridor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel’s exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the bustling Poste Moderne Brasserie, Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing