We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free!
Ranked #32 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Waterford, VA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed recently for a night in the town (DC) to see the Wizards. We were a group of 3 families (1 couple; 2 families) traveling. My rating is mixed.

5 stars:

Location - great for Verizon Center, metro, shopping, etc.

Room was nicely decorated & comfortable, including bed. TV - nice flatscreen; bathroom clean & pleasant. For price (paid through Amex points), I have no complaints about room.

Bar (Poste): (Fri night in January after 10:30) was hoppin' - if you don't mind being late 40s amongst a bunch of 20-somethings... & service was good.

3 stars:

Service - Mediocre at best. No one seemed happy to be there. While I understand they are working, aren't they supposed to make you feel more welcome? Also when I called to find out about rates for a family of 5 (we were 3 families traveling), the first customer service rep was not very friendly and implied we couldn't put 5 in a room because of DC fire code. However, when I called Sales Agents in morning, it was no problem.

Elevator - cold.

Hotel Space - a bit weird. It is an old building so it's cool in that sense, especially the wide hallways, but it's a maze; hard to navigate. More signs would be appreciated. Restaurant bathroom is far from dining area. My kids liked the design/decor of the lobby, etc, but I thought it needed some warming up. Strikes me as too eclectic or something - can't quite put my finger on it. Maybe too much green? This is just my personal opinion though, as many in our party did like it. I forgot to take room pics but am attaching some lobby pics.

Restaurant - Bar at night was fine as I said above & service was good then, but I was less than impressed at breakfast. Made the mistaken assumption that you could eat breakfast in the hotel restaurant (Poste Brasserie), but when we got down there the hostess asked if we had a reservation - just me & my 2 kids at that point. I told her no & she said that they were "fully committed at this time." I had to ask about the bar seats since she did not offer that, and then she agreed that was fine. But of course then service was slow. After 15 min waiting for waitress she said she'd be with us to take our order, but we didn't even have menus yet. I think the hotel needs to provide a small buffet for people staying at the hotel if they cannot accommodate guests in the restaurant. On a good note, the food was good.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are below the lobby level, level 2. We were on floor 3 which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    304
    114
    57
    30
See reviews for
217
379
74
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The corridors are so magnificent that every evening, after a long work day, I feel I am heading to a ballroom rather than to a hotel room. The corridors are long, wide, with deep beautiful carpets, high-backed benches spaced out on each side, and glittering chandeliers! It might sound superficial but, to me at least, it gives the Hotel character so sorely lacking in most major hotel chains.

Room Tip: Rooms on either the 7th Street or 8th Street side means you can exit through the side doors and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at The Moncao in January for three nights. The staff were very good. We found a great cup cake shop! And hotel did happy hour which in Winter they served mulled wine/cider by the fire which was lovely. Very central so could walk easily to places. Big very comfortable bedrooms (we had 3) and huge hallways (apparently used to be Post Office).the reception and concierge were all very pleasant and helpful, nothing was a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fun hotel in great location - close to metro and eats - - as well as museums, Verizon Center. Could work for families if you get large enough room. Very quiet hotel....very good service. I'd rather stay in this location than on the HIll or closer to Pennsylvania Ave. I've also stayed in the Dupont area, but adds too much time to get back and forth to the hill or downtown when you stay up there.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from elevators and "front" of hotel. higher up is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Perfection begins at the top. The administrative staff at the Monaco have every minute detail of service executed to perfection by the staff members. Each of the staff is thoughtful, pleasant, helpful and prepared to assist you during each aspect of your stay. The hotel is spotless, the room immaculate and well appointed, the amenities are numerous and the experience exceeds most expectations. The location is centralized for any DC excursion. The Monaco is the number 1 choice for the discerning traveler.

Room Tip: Each room is equally as enjoyable, whether overlooking the street or the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have just completed a five week trip of the US and stayed in many hotels during that time. This hotel stood out above all the others in terms of service, ambiance, and special touches that the Kimpton Chain adds which made this a very pleasurable place to stay. The afternoon cookies were delicious; the nightly wine reception was something that we looked forward to each evening, as it gave us the opportunity to try different American wines; the concierge was extremely helpful and the reception staff were friendly, professional and informative. Our experience in the restaurant for breakfast every morning was equally enjoyable with wonderful service and very yummy food which set us up beautifully for a full day of sight seeing. The hotel is in walking distance of most of the DC monuments, museums, shopping and restaurants. If we go back to DC again we would definitely book the Monaco again as we loved staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have stayed at many Kimpton hotels before, but not this one even though we are in this area of DC often. Glad we finally grabbed a good deal. What fun. Everything was great. Just before Christmas, and it was a great location for a holiday getaway...thanks, Monaco.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel’s exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the bustling Poste Moderne Brasserie, Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.