We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good and Central - BUT ASK ABOUT THE ROOM YOU ARE GETTING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #27 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very Good and Central - BUT ASK ABOUT THE ROOM YOU ARE GETTING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As a former DC resident I thought the central location in the transformed neighborhood was incredible. Close to all of the tourist sites DC has to offer and in a lively neighborhood, it is a winner. The rooms are great, but be sure to request a room on the second or third floor. Rooms on the first floor are half below grade and would have angered me. Also, some rooms are on the courtyard and you should be aware of that when booking. I found the hotel to be very good for the money, got a three day deal for $149 a night, a steal, compared to the fourth night for $359, but both worth it in DC. Just be careful, it seemed to me that the placement of the hotel in a historic building created lots of opportunities for rooms that would have been unacceptable to me.

Friends warned that the "Poste" restaurant service was poor and that was confirmed by us on three occasions during our stay. The bar staff was slow to offer, slow to serve and slow to return. The space was not busy during any of our visits and we would have drank more, for better or worse.

Our local friends had stated that they tried the restaurant on a few occasions and had "given up" because service was so poor. Breakfast was quite good, but again, the pace of the service just was not good. There are many good restaurants very close by and those would be chosen by me. It would be great if this very good hotel had very good bar service (and lobby service - none is presently available) and a good restaurant, but we would still recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: What fllow will you be on and will you face the courtyard or street. Some rooms are half below grad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    564
    278
    104
    54
    28
See reviews for
199
345
72
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

From check in to check out this was a great stay. The hotel is a beautiful old building with very comfortable rooms. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Location is perfect with the International Spy Museum 1 block away and about a 10 minute walk to the National Mall. The Verizon Center is across the street and Chinatown is a few blocks away as well. Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. The room I had was a perfect size for one person. The bed was clean and comfortable with plenty of pillows. The bathroom was a good size and no problems with hot water. Closet space was very good with enough room to hang your clothes and plenty of drawer space. The wifi was excellent all over the hotel. There is a free wine hour every day between 5-6 in the lobby which is a very nice touch. I highly recommend this hotel and plan to stay in other Kimpton hotels.

Room Tip: Sign up for the InTouch loyalty program so you get the wifi for free. It doesn't cost anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay near the Verizon center, we were going to watch a Hockey Game-but no Hockey this year :( This Hotel received good reviews and was across the street from the Verzon Center. Loved our stay here. They hotel is beautiful, wide hallways, tall ceilings, gorgeous buidling, quiet, clean rooms. Staff were nice, I think the price was very reasonable. We could walk to everything from here. Subway is across the street and good restaurants close by. I would definitley stay here again. (I don't think there is a pool, I did not rate the pool on this review the computer automatically showed terrible-sorry!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel has the given guest needs of great location, ample size rooms and bathrooms, cleanliness, and affordability. What makes it stand out is the customer service. Every request my friends and I had--from supplying a humidifier in my friend's dry room to providing us with goldfish (a Kimpton trademark) on our nightstands--the staff carried out promptly. Furthermore, the hotel provides complimentary coffee in the morning, fresh-baked cookies at 2 p.m. and glasses of wine starting at 4 p.m. The lobby was scattered with guests during happy hour, making for a great way to converse with fellow hotel guests and pick up tips on restaurants and attractions. It will be our hotel of choice whenever we visit D.C.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in DC for work, but this was a family trip between Christmas and New Years (when the town and museums are "less" crowded) and we prefer smaller, boutique hotels with charm and service - the Monaco is all these and more! Location: short walk to the Mall and museums (across the street from the Portrait Gallery), many great restaurants, and shopping. Accomodations: big, well decorated rooms along huge halls, and a large well-equipped fitness room. Ambience: very classy with incredibly helpful staff, gift package for the daughter, warm robes that the wife and daughter went crazy over, and the 5pm wine tasting (and drinks for the kids too) is the perfect way to end the day/start the evening. In terms of value, I am a Klimpon In Touch member and scored a great rate 2 months in advance (DC hotel rates go down between the holidays because Congress in not in session - not in 2012 though), so I thought the value was great. We highly recommend The Monaco DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a Monte Carlo room and have zero complaints! The staff is very friendly and always greets you with a smile and hello. The room was great! Just the right amount of space and lovely amenities. Very close to plenty of shopping and fun! Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

After researching dog-friendly hotels in Washington, DC, I selected Hotel Monaco because it accepted dogs of all sizes (mine weighs 62#) and does not require a security/damage deposit. That said, we were excited that the hotel was centrally located, within walking distance of most of Washington's most famous tourist sites, the staff totally dog-friendly. The decor was eclectic and fun: art deco green chandeliers illuminating a traditional brick fireplace, funky art and upholstered pieces adorning the lobby. Room size and bath were adequate. The queen bed was very comfortable. Pet sitters are available. Complimentary Happy Hour from 5-6pm in the lobby was dog-friendly and very well attended. Great atmosphere!

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was very quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel’s exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the bustling Poste Moderne Brasserie, Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.