We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #25 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is definitively a Kimpton. The decor is fun and it has all the trimmings of a boutique hotel. The location is fantastic. Several blocks away from the White House and across the street from the Spy Museum and the Verizon Center. Like most Kimptons this hotel is pet friendly. DC is a great town for walking around with a dog so being able to travel with your dog and stay in such a nice hotel is a real treat. The rooms can be on the small side. I opted for a step up from the standard room to have a little more space. The only negative about my stay was brunch at the hotel restaurant, Poste. It's a bit on the pricey side which I don't mind as long as the food and service are good. In this case the food was substandard and the service was lacking. There are many fabulous restaurants in DC, I would recommend avoiding Poste. Other than that, the Monaco is a great hotel and I would definitely stay there again the next time I'm in downtown DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    573
    282
    105
    54
    29
See reviews for
203
347
72
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good. It's a fun hotel, and the staff is quite excellent and caring. The hotel restaurant is most excellent. Good location.

Bad: The rooms are tiny and ill fitting. I had a room looking out on the inner courtyard, and apparently they've farmed out the restaurant management. That management loves to blast loud music over the inner courtyard to try to attract customers to sit out there and eat and drink until 11:30 at night. The hotel didn't seem to be aware that this loud music might disturb the guests. Both nights I was there I had to call the desk to ask them to get the restaurant to turn down the noise. Not pleasant.

Room Tip: Find out if the restaurant is still allowed to blast music and, if so, don't get an inner courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello Ron D
I wholeheartedly agree with the good - and I'll also agree that when the Winter Bar at Poste is heating up - we should ensure that we're keeping the music cool for our courtyard facing guests. A point well taken.
Next time you come in - I'd encourage you to try one of our Monte Carlo guestrooms - very spacious, open, and bright and far from tiny and ill fitting - plus they're the best value upgrade in the house! I think you'll find them just the ticket for a more restful stay on your next trip to DC.
Until then - travel safe,
Best
Ed - General Manager DC Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel to stay in for all of the right reasons. First and foremost, the staff is the best I have ever witnessed. They answer any and all questions you have, they are friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. The room was very nice and clean and being a Kimpton member we got to raid the mini bar. We always stay here when in DC because it is close to everything.

Room Tip: go with the nonrefundable rate if possible. Saves a bunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello nancy1235
Thank you so much for recognizing the team! We couldn't agree more they make all the difference - and let's face it - though anyone can raid the minibar - only Kimpton In Touch members get to do it for free! Double bonus! Next time be sure to stop by Poste Brasserie - Chef Dennis' treats are not to be missed - until next time - all our best and travel safe,
Ed - General Manager DC Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We've been for 5 days at the Monaco and it was superb. We had an excellent service in the center of DC. They have the wine detail in the afternoon which is a perfect break for a whole day of strolling.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Greetings AlbertoBelinchon
We agree wine hour is a fantastic way to unwind after a day of touring - but a trip into Poste Bar to visit our mixologist Jason can be just as pleasing - we hope you get the chance again soon!
Cheers
Ed
General Manager Monaco DC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

As others have said, the hotel is in a beautiful building in an excellent location. The guests rooms appear to be converted from large offices. Repurposing was done well, however, preserving many of the lovely architectural details. Despite the location, the room was quiet. It faced on an inner courtyard with a bar/restaurant with outdoor seating. I don't know how that would have affected the noise level because it was cold, dark and raining, but it looked lovely.

We opted instead for the fireside couches in the lobby and then dinner in the regular restaurant. The lobby was cozy, the restaurant a little loud - as are most places in DC - the food and wine great, and the service unrushed even though we arrived late. However, the kitchen had run out of the caviar for the trout rillettes I'd ordered. The chef offered to use another type - but only for an extra $3. The whole thing was delicious, with maybe 2 tsp of caviar. Still, I'm bemused by the belief that when the chef has to make a substitution the customer should pay more. At least they asked.

Checkout was simple and pleasant. I like this chain and will keep an eye out for its other properties.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear TiaKiki
You had me at Beautiful Hotel! All kidding aside - if you liked the fireside couches and the inside architecture (and I agree they are great) - next time give Poste Winter Bar a try on the patio - fire pits, heaters, and faux bear skins - and no extra charge for caviar! Now that really warms the heart!
Thanks for the great comments - we hope to see you again soon.
Best
Ed - General Manager DC Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is in a good location in DC; close to landmarks, museums, transit and restaurants. The front desk is super friendly and helpful, and the hotel design is beautiful and quirky.
My subterranean room was extremely dusty though. The carpet was stiff in places and under the desk was almost a sheet of dust.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello lillesand25
Well I'll definitely agree - dust is not quirky - and not what makes our hotel great. It seems given your great comments about the rest of your stay and our staff - you agree. Seriously - we truly appreciate the great comments - and I'd also say don't forget Post Brasserie as you think of those "other" area restaurants! We hope to see you again on your next trip to DC.
Best
Ed - General Manager - DC Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A superb hotel in an historic building at an excellent location (restaurants, sights, etc.) with a warm, caring, attentive staff. Become an InTouch member and you'll get extra goodies that will spoil you even more than their usual attention. This has now become our goto hotel in DC which we frequently visit, the relatively inexpensive valet parking with in/out privileges is an added plus. They offer an evening wine time, a morning coffee time, newspapers, super snacks & drinks. The hotel bar is comfy and well stocked for evening fun. The restaurant, Poste Brasserie, was fine for brunch but they should not overcook the hash browns or burn the sausages - a sign of a weak staff that puts one off their more pretentious efforts (homemade chorizo???). Stay here because it's GREAT, but eat at any one of a dozen places within two blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel’s exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the bustling Poste Moderne Brasserie, Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.