We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, good food, odd pricing policy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #26 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, good food, odd pricing policy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

As others have said, the hotel is in a beautiful building in an excellent location. The guests rooms appear to be converted from large offices. Repurposing was done well, however, preserving many of the lovely architectural details. Despite the location, the room was quiet. It faced on an inner courtyard with a bar/restaurant with outdoor seating. I don't know how that would have affected the noise level because it was cold, dark and raining, but it looked lovely.

We opted instead for the fireside couches in the lobby and then dinner in the regular restaurant. The lobby was cozy, the restaurant a little loud - as are most places in DC - the food and wine great, and the service unrushed even though we arrived late. However, the kitchen had run out of the caviar for the trout rillettes I'd ordered. The chef offered to use another type - but only for an extra $3. The whole thing was delicious, with maybe 2 tsp of caviar. Still, I'm bemused by the belief that when the chef has to make a substitution the customer should pay more. At least they asked.

Checkout was simple and pleasant. I like this chain and will keep an eye out for its other properties.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear TiaKiki
You had me at Beautiful Hotel! All kidding aside - if you liked the fireside couches and the inside architecture (and I agree they are great) - next time give Poste Winter Bar a try on the patio - fire pits, heaters, and faux bear skins - and no extra charge for caviar! Now that really warms the heart!
Thanks for the great comments - we hope to see you again soon.
Best
Ed - General Manager DC Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    574
    282
    105
    54
    29
See reviews for
203
348
72
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is in a good location in DC; close to landmarks, museums, transit and restaurants. The front desk is super friendly and helpful, and the hotel design is beautiful and quirky.
My subterranean room was extremely dusty though. The carpet was stiff in places and under the desk was almost a sheet of dust.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello lillesand25
Well I'll definitely agree - dust is not quirky - and not what makes our hotel great. It seems given your great comments about the rest of your stay and our staff - you agree. Seriously - we truly appreciate the great comments - and I'd also say don't forget Post Brasserie as you think of those "other" area restaurants! We hope to see you again on your next trip to DC.
Best
Ed - General Manager - DC Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A superb hotel in an historic building at an excellent location (restaurants, sights, etc.) with a warm, caring, attentive staff. Become an InTouch member and you'll get extra goodies that will spoil you even more than their usual attention. This has now become our goto hotel in DC which we frequently visit, the relatively inexpensive valet parking with in/out privileges is an added plus. They offer an evening wine time, a morning coffee time, newspapers, super snacks & drinks. The hotel bar is comfy and well stocked for evening fun. The restaurant, Poste Brasserie, was fine for brunch but they should not overcook the hash browns or burn the sausages - a sign of a weak staff that puts one off their more pretentious efforts (homemade chorizo???). Stay here because it's GREAT, but eat at any one of a dozen places within two blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I found the room to be open and vast with plenty of natural lighting. The location was perfect for the purpose of our trip. The service and accommodations were all fantastic! I would recommend to all of my friends and family.

Room Tip: The Monte Carlo guest rooms are bigger and better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for the second time this year for a work event, and we had a very pleasant stay. Service, location and accommodations were all fantastic. The only two watch outs we would share is that there is a significant difference in the size of the rooms depending on which floor/class of room you book, and the room service options are somewhat limited and maybe too European/gourmet. Overall this is one of our favorite choices for DC stays, and we'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Interesting hotel,
previuosly a post office building which was renovated to make a hotel,
however bathroom in the room was like a small closet, doesnt look good,
No coffee machine in the room,
Clean, but small rooms,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua L, Assistant General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Good afternoon alpit,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Monaco; I am sorry to hear that it does not seem as if you had a favorable experience. You are correct that it was a post office, in fact it was the original home of the US Postal Service circa early 1800’s, the bathrooms were added during renovation, we do have several different size and layout of rooms, something to consider while booking your next reservation. We also have coffee makers available upon request as we have found this to work very well since we have complimentary coffee every morning in the lobby.

We hope you will give us another shot the next time you visit our Nation’s Capital!

Safe travels,

JL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great location, great sheets, fine bed. Interesting decor. Zebra and tiger print robes. But it seems the average room has a queen bed and is 325 sq ft. (Including the bath). I was "upgraded" to a king bed. My initial reaction was -thank you! BUT -the basement is a regular hotel "floor". Virtually no natural light, an 18" view of people' shoes going by. Mold in the corner of the tub shower. Just too creepy for me. Friends who had rooms on other floors, also all experienced business travelers, complained about the lack of a desk , or chair, etc. because of the small size of the rooms. Probably an okay hotel if you don't have to stay in the basement. There are better choices in DC.

Room Tip: Refuse a room on the first floor. It is the basement below the reception floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua L, Assistant General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Good morning LuvsAllTrvl,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Monaco; I’m glad to see that you enjoyed the location, comfort of the bed and found our décor “interesting”. I am sorry to hear that you did not like the room size and location. We have been working on our first floor to make it feel more homelike and we hope these changes will enhance the experience for our guests. Also we are hoping 2013 will bring us new desks and armoires for all of our guest rooms.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit our Nation’s Capital!

Safe travels,

JL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel’s exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the bustling Poste Moderne Brasserie, Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.