We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown Suites to your Saves list
Georgetown Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 30th Street Northwest, 1000 29th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Georgetown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #73 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

I stayed here for six nights with my teenage son whilst sightseeing in Washington. It was a good choice. We had a one bedroom apartment on the ground floor with an outdoor area. The spacious apartment was clean and well appointed with two flat screen TV's and contemporary furniture. It had mostly been renovated. The kitchen was dated, but very acceptable. We had planned for my son to sleep on the fold out bed in the loungeroom. However, we found that the mattress was too saggy and the metal bar across the frame could be felt. But I think that most fold-out beds are like this. So we ended up sharing the very comfortable king size bed. I suggest that the fold out bed would possibly be OK for children and younger smaller teens (my son is over 6 foot).

The staff at reception were friendly and helpful to us. They took time to advise us on restaurants, tours and a good camera shop. The reception area has a homely feel about it because of the breakfast eating area which is adjacent where you can get a cup of coffee and watch the big screen TV (although a drip coffee machine was supplied in our apartment, and restocked daily). The breakfasts were good, there was plenty of food and we did not experience any of the overcrowding which some other reviewers have mentioned.

The hotel is quiet. We could not hear any traffic noise. The area around the hotel is good and interesting. There's a good selection of restaurants including a number of budget restaurants just around the corner in M street. We tried getting into the Mall area via public transport, but found it took too long for us. The time spent waiting for a bus, then a slow bus ride to the Metro, then catching the train etc was too time consuming. We decided to catch taxis instead. Taxis are continually available from M street, and generally cost about $13-15 (incl tip) to get into the Mall area. We didn't mind this as we'd travelled from Australia to get to Washington and didn't want to waste time for the sake of saving a few dollars each day.

I've stayed in a regular hotel closer to the Mall on a previous visit to DC, but I felt very unsafe in the area, whereas Georgetown Suites is in a very safe and interesting location. The combination of a spacious apartment, friendly staff, Georgetown location, and low cost (we paid about $155 a night), make this hotel a great choice for a pleasant stay in Washington DC.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    252
    73
    33
    18
See reviews for
194
142
33
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

I just got back from three days in DC with my two teenage daughters and three of their friends. We stayed at Georgetown Suites and loved it! Georgetown was perfect for us with all of the shops, restaurants, and movies. It's also close to the Kennedy Center. We stayed in a two bedroom townhouse suite. It was just the right balance of privacy and togetherness. The staff was friendly and responsive to our requests. We also enjoyed having the kitchen to make tea, have a snack, etc. I highly recommend Georgetown Suites.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

I will not be going back to this hotel ever. It would be a much better value to stay at a holiday inn or some other chain. The room was dirty and the bathroom was merely tolerable. The kitchen in the room was horribly disgusting, and the fixtures looked dirty. Additionally, the elevators are excruciatingly slow. I waited for nearly 10 full minutes once for the elevators. The staff uses the same elevators as the guests which must slow it down even more, and it is not a pleasant experience to be crammed in an elevator with a cart full of dirty laundry. They do not change the linen daily either. The "lobby" could barely be called a room, and the breakfast room which was connected to it had some sort of coffee vending machine in the corner. Very unpleasant experience altogether that I would never recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

This is the 5th time we stayed at this location and its crown and glory is the location. Great for the bars of GeorgeTown etc. Only down side is breakfast. The room can only sit about 25 and it is a real bun fight in a morning, (excuse the pun).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

The suites are a good size and have most facilities you'd need, but the decor is very 'tired' and a bit tatty - probably not been updated since they were built 20 years ago. Also, the light was poor - not enough daylight and poor electric lighting. Breakfast served in the lobby was fine, but the location odd - lots of coming and going. The 2nd building overlooks a very busy highway - impossible to sleep.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

The Georgetown Suites actually has two separate buildings a couple of blocks apart. I stayed at the 30th Street location, which is just off M Street. This was a great location from which to explore the shops and restaurants to Georgetown. The suites were huge - a large living room, a full kitchen and a large bedroom. I paid about $220 a night which, given the size of the room and the location, seemed like an excellent value for Washington DC.
A simple continental breakfast was served in the lobby. Room service was available by ordering form local restaurants which delivered.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

It's in Georgetown-old district near lots of restaurants. The bus 'circulate' stops 30th street et M street at corner. The hotel is calm, the breakfast is good et its prise beats all...
The room was clear, big with huge bed.
This hotel was very good choice!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Georgetown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Suites

Address: 1111 30th Street Northwest, 1000 29th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Georgetown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown Suites is an all suite hotel located in the heart of Georgetown. Georgetown is a quaint neighborhood in Washington, DC with lots of unique boutiques and restaurants. We offer studio, one and two bedroom suites along with 2 bedroom townhouses and a 3 bedroom penthouse. All rates include complimentary continental breakfast daily, free wireless internet and free local calls. Georgetown Suites consists of two buildings, located a half block apart. Our Harbour Building is across the street from the Washington Harbour complex on the Potomac, which offers several waterfront dining options and a brand new outdoor ice rink. Our 30th Street building, is right off of M Street, just steps from the many shops and restaurants in Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Georgetown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Georgetown Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.