We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown Suites to your Saves list
Georgetown Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 30th Street Northwest, 1000 29th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Georgetown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for a family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

we stay at the georgetown suites when our young teenage son had a swim meet in the area. This is a great hotel for a family. Although decor may not be completely up to date. it is very clean!! we had a one bedroom suite with a kitchen. There was plenty of room for the entire family. We would definitely stay here again. The staff was wonderful and help us with all our questions. They had a nice breakfast buffet in the morning with a little coffee machine for the rest of the day. The kids liked going to get hot chocolate whenever they wanted it. Location was also perfect. Dont pass this one up..esp when traveling with kids!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for posting your comments about Georgetown Suites! We're so glad your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next time you come to DC. We are renovation our lobby this summer, so we hope you'll love our new look. But, don't worry. The hot chocolate machine isn't going anywhere!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    272
    87
    33
    21
See reviews for
212
154
34
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We got an excellent deal on Travelzoo on this gem. Perfectly located in Georgetown half block away from busy M street. Several restaurants within easy walking distance. The Metro is a little bit of a walk but the circulator is $1 and takes you along the north and east sides of town. Nice breakfast every morning. Rooms are large and clean with full kitchens. Would definitely recommend place to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for the nice comments. We are so glad you were able to take advantage of one of our special rates and stay in Georgetown. We hope to have you stay with us again next time you are in DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were a party of five and had two rooms. One suite and one room. Both had kitchens and were spacious. A generous buffet breakfast was available and included. The location was great, near M street, the canal and waterfront but the hotel just wasn't exciting. A bit old and dated, everyone was nice enough.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night for a work function for his company and we were NOT impressed. The place is so outdated and stuffy. Our ac stopped working and when we called down to reception to report the front desk clerk had an attitude and seemed very put out. A maintenance worker was sent up and said the braker had flipped. We went out for the evening and upon our return found the ac unit to not be working again. Called down a second time and got the same clerk who again had attitude and basically told us he didn't have anyone to send up to look at the ac and he couldnt put us up in another room because they place was full. All in all the hotel
Staff was not helpful and the place needs updating badly. You are pretty much paying to stay in Georgetown.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend checking around before you book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I'm sorry you had a bad experience at Georgetown Suites. I'm sorry that your air conditioner didn't work properly. I understand what an inconvenience that must have been for you. I believe our staff was in touch with you personally to try to resolve your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We are 1 night into a 2 night stay and I've seen enough to post a review. The good things about the hotel is the location and the staff, right in the heart of Georgetown and within walking distance of the shops. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Now for the bad. The rooms are in very bad need of updating, I feel like I've stepped back 30 years in time. The bed is the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on in a hotel. I opened the pull out couch and there is rat feces all over the sheets. The hot/cold is backwards on the shower. The ventilation is very strange, when the air is blowing its freezing in the room and as soon as it turns off its burning up hot again. The breakfast is very disappointing. It's basically 4 different types of bagels, a few pastries and cereal in pre-packaged bowls. And lastly, $30 a day for parking seems a little steep.

Bottom line we will book somewhere else next time. This place is overpriced. I could have I overlooked some of these complaints if te room was at a $50 a night Motel 6 but not at a $320 a night Georgetown Suites.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I think most of the reviews have caught this hotel pretty well. It's in a great location in Georgetown, we found it great wandering around the locality choosing a place for dinner after a day in DC, I guess this was an added bonus as we'd booked the hotel based on it's proximity to the main DC attractions. The suite we had was great too, as others have said the decor is perhaps a bit retro but for those of us who prefer function over style who really cares ! The complementary breakfast was fine too, if we came back to the DC area I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Liked it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for your review. I'm glad you've found a comfortable hotel to return to next time you are in Georgetown. We have some improvements planned including continued kitchen renovations, and a lobby renovation. So, I hope you'll let us know how you like the upgrades when you return next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The suites are well appointed spacious and very clean. The service was superb. The breakfast has somthing for everyone. The location is in the heart of Georgetown. The recessed location provides privacy and some nice places to sit outside without being on the street. In short we loved it here

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Georgetown really is a great area of DC, and we love being right in the heart of everything, yet set back in our own courtyard. We hope to see you again next time you are in DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Georgetown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Suites

Address: 1111 30th Street Northwest, 1000 29th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Georgetown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown Suites is an all suite hotel located in the heart of Georgetown. Georgetown is a quaint neighborhood in Washington, DC with lots of unique boutiques and restaurants. We offer studio, one and two bedroom suites along with 2 bedroom townhouses and a 3 bedroom penthouse. All rates include complimentary continental breakfast daily, free wireless internet and free local calls. Georgetown Suites consists of two buildings, located a half block apart. Our Harbour Building is across the street from the Washington Harbour complex on the Potomac, which offers several waterfront dining options and a brand new outdoor ice rink. Our 30th Street building, is right off of M Street, just steps from the many shops and restaurants in Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Georgetown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Georgetown Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.