We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown Suites to your Saves list
Georgetown Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 30th Street Northwest, 1000 29th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Georgetown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location; good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

Stayed there for three nights and it was fine.

Positives:
* Location, location, location
* Reasonable rates for the area, especially for a suite
* Very roomy
* Very clean room
* Helpful/friendly front desk

Negatives:
* Kitchen and bathroom somewhat dated

Will stay there again

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    272
    87
    33
    21
See reviews for
212
154
34
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

We stayed at the Georgetown Suites for an extended weekend. Since we were traveling with our daughter, we preferred to have room to spread out and this hotel offered a moderate sized suite with a complete kitchen. The hotel is just a block off the main drag and tucked back in from the street so it was quiet and we didn't hear any noise from other guests either. The staff was helpful in bringing up different items (an extra blanket and later, a mending kit) and always pleasant. The only negative was an unusally small closet, but that might have just been in our room. I would recommend this hotel to our friends if you want to stay in the Georgetown area. The hotel also offered a reasonably complete continental breakfast, but there was a GREAT french bakery/cafe just around the corner too - Cafe Madeline so we chose to have our breakfast there.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

The suites are spacious and clean. I had a one bedroom suite and there was more than enough room for 3-4 people. There was an entire kitchen, large TV and 3 closets. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. I was only there one night and didn't want to leave. It is within walking distance of everything in Georgetown. The front desk personnel were very pleasant.

  • Liked — The clean room.
  • Disliked — There was no gift shop.
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

I concur with all the positive reviews this hotel has received.
They lose a star for the following: They utilize an absolutely horrendous dry cleaning service called Hotel Custom Dry Cleaners. These people are neither custom nor cleaners. In all my years of traveling I've never seen a worse job ironing clothes. It's to the point of almost damaging the fabric.
That loses Georgetown Suites a star, otherwise it's home away from home.
Oh, and the microwaves are old and should be replaced.

  • Liked — Amenities and facilities
  • Disliked — Their dry cleaners
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

My husband & I stayed at this hotel from 9/30/07 to 10/03/07. We booked a one bedroom suite. When we arrived, there were no one bedroom suites available so they put us in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite.

The rooms are in need of a bit of "updating", but they were clean. The beds were comfortable. The rooms were cleaned daily. I did leave a tip for the maid each day. She actually came to our door the morning we were to check out to thank us for the tips! She obviously did not expect any tips and it was nice that she took the time to personally thank us for our "thoughfullness". ( I usually tip the maids at hotels in which I stay as they work hard, get paid relatively little and often have to clean up big messes left by many inconsiderate people. My grandmother was once a maid at a hotel and I am aware of what she went through while working that job.)

The location of this hotel was great. Close to nearby shopping and many restaurants.

We used the "Old Time Trolley Tours" to see the sights of DC. The stop in Georgetown was only about 2 blocks from the hotel. It was the best way to get to all the best sights!

We will definately stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Liked — location, price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights on August 19, 2007 and had a great time. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful from the bell boy to the front desk personnel. The rooms were large and we also had a rollaway for both nights. I've stayed at numerous hotels in Washington, DC this year (Embassy Suites, Marriott, Homewood Suites, etc) and highly recommend Georgetown Suites especially for long term lodging. It also has a full oven in the kitchen.

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — continental breakfest
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

Please, do yourself a favor and stay here. You will love it! This coming from a middle-age father of four, who usually tends toward Embassy Suites-type lodging whenever taking the family on a trip. We usually seek out places with good space for our family to spread out, cleanliness in environemnt, and maybe a good breakfast thrown in if we're lucky. This has all that....and more.

Perhaps like in our situtation, planning your stay in Washington D.C. is dominated by the question of "Where's a good, close place to stay....that also fits within a reasonable budget". Perhaps? Now, as a business traveller, I have stayed at a number of hotels in the city, which is fine for a single adult traveling on the corporate expense account. I've stayed at the Hyatt Regency and downtown Marriott just within the past six months on business. Nice places, for sure. But when it comes to bringing a spouse and teenage children, that just isn't feasible or desirable. I did some research online with TripAdvisor and other sites, and decided to try the Georgetown Suites....and was treated to a marvelous experience. First, it's reasonable. Secondly, it is clean and spacious. Picture a large, modern, updated, one-bedroom apartment of a good friend who will let you stay at their place while you are in town. Bright, airy, with most of the amenties of home. Beds are perfect and comfortable, lots of area to move around, dining area with furnishings, huge bathrooms with double sinks, etc. Two TVs, including a larger HD screen in the living room. Does it have a marble tub with gold swan faucets? No. Is it modern and clean and as nice as our suburban split-level back home? Absolutely. Does the kitchen have cherrywood cabinets with brass hardware handles? No. Is it clean and as nice as an apartment you'd see your young adult children moving into? Even more so! Georgetown is just outsde and is a treat to wander. And the red "Circulator" bus comes by every ten minutes up at the corner, which will take you to every place in downtown/Mall area in D.C. you could hope to visit, all for only a buck. Better than taxi serivce -- make sure to get a schedule and learn about this great form of transportation.

I give high prasie to this place as a restful home base for whatever reason you are in D.C. A great value, and better than a hotel. Make sure to say "hello" to Crystal Sullivan, the manager. She is a wonderful host, and does everything to make your stay truly enjoyable.

  • Liked — Clean and spacious
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Georgetown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Suites

Address: 1111 30th Street Northwest, 1000 29th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Georgetown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown Suites is an all suite hotel located in the heart of Georgetown. Georgetown is a quaint neighborhood in Washington, DC with lots of unique boutiques and restaurants. We offer studio, one and two bedroom suites along with 2 bedroom townhouses and a 3 bedroom penthouse. All rates include complimentary continental breakfast daily, free wireless internet and free local calls. Georgetown Suites consists of two buildings, located a half block apart. Our Harbour Building is across the street from the Washington Harbour complex on the Potomac, which offers several waterfront dining options and a brand new outdoor ice rink. Our 30th Street building, is right off of M Street, just steps from the many shops and restaurants in Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Georgetown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Georgetown Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.