We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip to Washington, DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown Suites to your Saves list
Georgetown Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 30th Street Northwest, 1000 29th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Georgetown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Vineland, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family Trip to Washington, DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Georgetown Suites two nights. We were in the Washington, DC area for a college visit and then did some sightseeing. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating and the rooms and general areas were very clean. This hotel came with continental breakfast which was also excellent. Overall, this was a great experience and we would stay there again. The location was good too as it is positioned on a canal and the Potomac is about two blocks straight down the street the hotel is on. At the end of the street the hotel is on, at the river, there is a restaurant that has patio seating and an outdoor bar, which we sat and had a drink right on the Potomac. If you do not have a problem walking you can actually walk to the Washington Mall area. We ate at a restaurant called the Sea Catch which was within walking distance and was right on the canal. Everything we all ate was excellent and would highly recommend eating there if possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    272
    87
    33
    21
See reviews for
212
154
34
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
croatia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Excellent choice for Washington DC. A bargain during certain weeks of the year, or with an arrival on Saturday. Surprised that a well balanced breakfast was included, with things like espresso and croissants. The one bedroom suite was truly like a small apartment. Right in Georgetown, and a 10 minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro with access to the rest of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and you took advantage of the variety our continental breakfast offered! We hope to have you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel is a good value for Georgetown, but a tiny lobby and an inadequate number of elevators make it feel somewhat claustrophobic and overcrowded. Entrance is in a courtyard off the street, so it is easy to off load the car or taxi. Our suite was large, but only had a single bath for such a large unit. It was clean and fairly comfortable. Good breakfast, and the usual tight, over-priced DC parking garage (self-park). That said, if you want to be in Georgetown, this is a good location. Lots of restaurants and stores nearby (and lots of tourists) and the staff (there weren't many) were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed over labor day weekend. Average price $85.50 per night. Great location. Spacious suite and quiet - except AC was bit loud. Breakfast was fair. Staff was friendly and helpful. Stayed at 30th street property and would highly recommend for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
The timing for your trip to DC was great! You were able to take advantage of the special holiday weekend rates we offered. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is placed in a noble area in DC, next to the M Street, close enough to some pretty cool shops. You have apple store, urban outfitters, zara and other cool places around. And you are in walking distance to georgetown university, hospital and the foggy bottom metro station.

The hotel staff is very nice, being very regardful with us. The rooms are pretty neat and very spacefull. The breakfast, though, could be better.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Pro's: attentive front desk, Georgetown location, kitchen
Con's: housekeeping, dated interior, slow elevators, no outlets near the bed, escort needed to unlock the gym

The housekeeping issues were pretty basic issues. There was no toilet paper on check-in and they failed to replace the removed towels. Each time a trip to the front desk was met with prompt, friendly service. Even when I needed an extra blanket for my son, the front desk went to the sixth floor to find one.

If a kitchen is an absolute must and you need to walk into Georgetown then this hotel will meet your needs.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thanks for posting your comments. I apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered. There is no excuse for that, and we will investigatate what happened. I'm glad you found our front desk to be helpful, and enjoyed our location in the heart of Georgetown. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ightham UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed for six nights with my family in a two bed condo. Ample room with all the basics including a kitchen,maybe slightly tired but acceptable. Location was great with many bars/restaraunts/shops a few minutes away and Washington Harbour very nearby, then hop on a bus into DC - easy !
Breakfast was poor compared to say an Embassy Suites and was a bit of a scrum (far too small an area), after second morning we took our breakast back to our rooms to eat.
Value for money in DC area we were satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I'm glad you were able to enjoy a long stay in DC in our spacious two bedroom suite. We are in the process of renovating our kitchens, and getting new furniture for our suites. I hope you can come back soon to check out our new look. Our continental breakfast area does get busy in prime time, so thanks for sharing the tip about taking it to go instead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Georgetown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Suites

Address: 1111 30th Street Northwest, 1000 29th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Georgetown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown Suites is an all suite hotel located in the heart of Georgetown. Georgetown is a quaint neighborhood in Washington, DC with lots of unique boutiques and restaurants. We offer studio, one and two bedroom suites along with 2 bedroom townhouses and a 3 bedroom penthouse. All rates include complimentary continental breakfast daily, free wireless internet and free local calls. Georgetown Suites consists of two buildings, located a half block apart. Our Harbour Building is across the street from the Washington Harbour complex on the Potomac, which offers several waterfront dining options and a brand new outdoor ice rink. Our 30th Street building, is right off of M Street, just steps from the many shops and restaurants in Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Georgetown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Georgetown Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.