We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of District Commons

District Commons
2200 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC
202.587.8277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
District Commons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #347 of 2,558 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: On Washington Circle near corner of 22nd St. and Penn. Ave.
Transit: District Commons is located two blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro on the Blue/Orange Lines , and is serviced by Metrobus and the Circulator.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrible Service!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It didn't seem that busy but the service was atrocious! When you have been sitting for 45 minutes, your starter has been put in front of you, and you still don't have the bread you asked for there is something wrong. The main meals arrived before we had finished our starters. Although they took them away they brought them back again before our starters had been cleared, and then finally, after the third time of asking we got the bread we wanted for the kids literally shoved in front of us.
The sad thing is the food was actually quite good, but the service is terrible. Go to Georgetown instead!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    151
    45
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good food but noisy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The helpful hostess found our group of 11 a table on a busy Friday night. She was just the first of a number of friendly and attentive staff at this upscale restaurant on Penn Ave NW near GW University. My pork rib chop was fantastic as was the brick chicken and fresh trout. Desserts were mixed -- the funnel cake was not worth it. A vast beer list (99 I think in total) can be mind boggling but the waiter was knowledgeable and helpful. Only downside was the noisy din which made it hard to have a conversation. One can ask for a table in the back, which is just a bit quieter, but not much. Booths by the windows offer a nice view of Washington Circle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food; noisy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Eight of us had dinner here together. The food was wonderful -- the trout, shrimp & grits, and duck were all favorites. But in the main dining room, it was almost too noisy to hear the person sitting next to you and it wasn't possible to talk across the table. Some of the tables in the back room were much quieter.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York,NY
Level Contributor
419 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Great staff-great drinks-great dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stopped in here after having dinner at another restaurant. I was in need of something sweet and all the bakeries in the area were closed. We decided to stop in this place and were greeted by a very friendly hostess staff. We asked for the bar area as we were only going to order dessert and drinks. Our server was very professional and polite. The dessert was delicious and the drinks were great to. The only regret is that I want to try the dinner. I will give this place a 5, because the experience was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What an excellent mix of food and a great staff!! Probably the best Crab Cakes ever!!! Oh the Pretzel bread is awesome and basically everything else we ordered!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed District Commons also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to District Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage District Commons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.