We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Plan B Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of District Commons

District Commons
2200 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC
202.587.8277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
District Commons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #342 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: On Washington Circle near corner of 22nd St. and Penn. Ave.
Transit: District Commons is located two blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro on the Blue/Orange Lines , and is serviced by Metrobus and the Circulator.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
192 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“The Plan B Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Eh...

That's my overall feeling. I went for Sunday brunch with some enthusiasm because I had heard good things.

It's too big... and the service was poor despite numerous "I'm so sorry for the delay" and friendly comments by the staff. Apologies only get you so far... you're so sorry for the delay bring me a bloodly mary or send over a blueberry scone, will ya? If you make no gesture to compensate for understandable problems- cook calls in sick, waiters are short staffed, etc- then you aren't really sorry, you're just providing lip service.

The decor... eh. The menu... eh. The tables are too small and too close together. I hate having brunch with strangers. In Europe it's quaint and part of the bistro experience on Saint Germain... but in America I want American standards.

The price was OK. And it's close to my house... but eh... I won't go back.

Sorry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    152
    45
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A very busy weekday lunch stop. We had a late lunch and the crowd was leaving. Really enjoyed the crab cakes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Location, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Food was excellent. Table was ready at the time of reservation. Ambiance was nice, conversation was easily heard, but the restaurant was not so quiet that you lost privacy. Highly recommend! And did I say the food was excellent? Yes, I did but it bears repeating.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great atmosphere. Actually quite a large restaurant by area standards. We opted to forgo a table, even though we had a reservation, and sit at the bar. Restaurant had no issue with our change in preference. Bartenders were friendly and attentive. Happy to talk to us. We munched our way through the menu rather than doing actual meals. Individual pizzas are quite large, can easily feed 2. Oyster shooters don't skimp on the alcohol at all. The only disappointing part of the meal was the chili. Texas style with large chunks of beef, no beans, a little bland by my taste. Within easy walking distance of Foggy Bottom metro and the Kennedy Center. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
873 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“good service and quality of food, but very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ate here with a colleague on Tuesday evening. Nice menu, although fairly limited choice. Good service and quality of food. We had steak and duck--- both nicely done and presented. Very noisy and large open restaurant--- hard to discuss. Things settled down a bit after the happy hour rush ended, but it was still quite loud even at 21h00 when we left. Prices are on the high side.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed District Commons also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to District Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage District Commons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.