We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love everything about it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love everything about it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The room smells really good, the location is superb, exactly what I need, it's walking distance to almost every landmarks in DC, a block away from white house and lafayette square, the services were great and has very friendly staffs. It was perfect. Keep up the good work!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the personal service we strive to provide to our guests. We hope to be your hotel of choice for any future travels to Washington D.C.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,702
    614
    120
    46
    15
See reviews for
517
1,062
156
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Sofitel Washington is superbly located whether visiting Washington DC on business or pleasure.

I cannot remember the last time we stayed at a city centre hotel where the staff were so polished and approachable.

Our room was one of the executive suites and lived up to our expectations. Great beds, and really welcoming decor in a modern traditional manner if that makes sense!

We didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast which was good and most enjoyable. The hotel is well priced for the facilities offered and standards attained.

If and when we return to DC, I think we would be hard pushed to better the Sofitel for quality, service and price. If it fits your pocket, I think it will tick your boxes!



Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Director of Guest Relations at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the personal service we strive to provide to our guests. While we are an excellent choice for business travelers, we pride ourselves in also catering to our leisure guests that choose Sofitel for the personalized service and to take advantage of the prime location, close to all of the tourist sites. I have shared your comments regarding your experience with our General Manager, Jean-Christophe Gras, who appreciates all guest feedback. We hope to be your hotel of choice for any future travels to Washington D.C.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Fabulous hotel - especially for the price point. The service and staff were incredible. Location is perfect. Will definitely stay here again...and recommend to others. Easy walk to tourist attractions

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit! I am glad to know that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our central location. We strive to provide our guests with genuine, personal service, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We spent 5 nights in this hotel and it is close to all Washington DC attractions, White House, Treasury, Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, The Smithsonian Museums and the National Gallery . I can say that I was the President's neighbor for a short time. The rooms we got overlook the street and it was quiet. The service and staff were friendly and helpful. The housekeeping needs to be improved. Sometimes I'm missing hand towels or floor towel. On the last night, we didn't receive any water bottles. They usually leave 2 bottles, which is greatly appreciated after a day of walking to the various attractions, by the night stand. I wouldn't recommend the restaurant there for dinner. The food was okay but for the price that it charges, you can find a better restaurant close by.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Guest feedback is imperative to maintain the level of personal service that we strive for. I have shared your comments regarding your experience with our General Manager, Jean-Christophe Gras, and I can assure you that he will address them with the necessary departments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We were lucky to be upgraded to the suite. It was a huge room and beautifully decorated. There was even a guest bathroom.
The location is perfect for visiting the national mall highlights and is just a couple of blocks from the White house.
The patio bar was very nice and popular every night.
Only issue was that there is no fridge as a standard and you have to request one separately.
Its in a safe neighborhood with plent of eating, coffee and shopping nearby.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It seems you were able to take advantage of our central location, in the heart of downtown Washington D.C. As you mentioned, we have mini refrigerators available upon request for your convenience. We hope to be your hotel of choice for any future travels to Washington D.C.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We chose the hotel primarily because of its location, just a jump from the White House, for a "lets play tourist in DC weekend." However, the hotel itself is excellent as well. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Elegant furnishings and fabrics. The hotel bar and restaurant are both very nice destinations in themselves. This is an easy hotel to recommend. It also left us with a nice impression of Sofitel and I look forward to exploring other Sofitel properties.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Director of Guest Relations at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit! I am glad to know that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our central location. We hope to be your hotel of choice for any future travels to Washington D.C. and that you are able to seek out our Sofitel sister properties world wide!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is a little thing, but it irked me enough to write a bad review: I felt totally ignored by the staff when there were white males in suits around me. I didn't get the same attention or "Good morning, can I help you?" from staff members or bell attendants. The rooms are fine. Small, but clean. Overall, not worth the extra money over nearby hotels in Downtown D.C. Stay somewhere else for cheaper and same experience. This is not a luxury hotel.









  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. At Sofitel, we are always concerned about making each guest feel magnifique at all of our locations worldwide and strive to exceed our guest’s expectations. We are sorry that your experience with us did not fulfill this pledge. Please feel free to reach out to me directly so that I may address your concerns.

Best Regards,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
202-730-8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 136 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 749 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,689 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.