We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bear, DE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

The location is fantastic; close to the White House, many restaurants and to 2 Metro stations. The service is outstanding. The Valet parking is expensive $53.00/night, but there are no other options around.
The rooms are big and very clean, and the bathrooms big and modern. The only problem we had was with hot water coming on and off while taking showers; in reading other postings apparently this is a known problem.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,676
    603
    118
    44
    15
See reviews for
506
1,050
154
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed at the Sofitel for 4 nights to celebrate our anniversary in June. We had never been to DC so we wanted something close to the museums and monuments. As others have said the hotel is in a great location, very close to the White House. The service was wonderful. Have stayed in a few other Sofitel hotels and have always gotten great service, so was no surprise to get the same here :)

We stayed in a Superior King Room and it was very nice, spacious and comfortable. The bed was very large and comfy. Bathroom was well appointed and clean. Very relaxing tub and separate glass shower. Always love having a robe and slippers available!

There was a lovely snack and water waiting for us when we got into the room which was a special touch! We did not eat in the restaurant but did order room service on 2 occasions, breakfast and lunch. Both were very good. The breakfast pastry basket was excellent!
We can't wait to come back and stay again! Merci!
- Abby

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We are from Austria " Vienna ". We stayed here for four nights and have never been to Washington ,DC before. we were very happy with the location. It was great for the kids and the common and public transport was really easy access. Also well located " just nearby the WHITEHOUSE. The rooms were spacious and well fitted out and the beds extremely comfortable. The staff were lovely and very helpful specially SAM " Issam " I can tell he knows his job very well . On our last day he was very humble and accepted our simple gift " CHOCOLATE" as my kids were very satisfied and happy every time they see him . He always say " please feel home ". I honorably recommend this hotel for everyone planning to visit DC . . I forgot to mention and say "BIG thank you" for Marlos . He knew the menu by heart. Overall the best vacation in the right place .

Room Tip: "great and wonderful patio"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We knew Sofitel hotels from other (European) vacations and we stayed at Sofitel Lafayette Square (Washington DC) few nights in July 2014.
- We've selected this hotel for its location, since we wanted to walk to the Memorial, Smithsonian museums, Capitol, etc.
- Check-in/check-out - quick, no lines, since the hotel was not full.
- Room is average size, furniture old-ish.
- Bed/mattress is amazing !
- Complimentary toiletries (Lanvin, very good), robes and slippers are provided.
- No coffee maker in the room.
- Mini-fridge in the room; some prices: 15 $ for a little cognac bottle, 6 $ Coke/Sprite, etc. plus 15% tax, plus 20% other tax, etc
- Hotel bistro and bar: not many menu choices, 15$ small glass of wine in the "le Bar" (one restaurant down the road, same wine, in a bigger glass it was 6$).
- Stuff - service ok; we didn't need the concierge services.
- Valet parking - 50$/day
Overall it was a nice stay and I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

After 2 nights in Sofitel, I don't know how I can now go on to stay in other hotels. It has to be Sofitel henceforth. You have spoilt me, you have spoilt my husband, and most of all, you have spoilt our little 18-month-old who refused to take off the fluffy bathrobe that you so awesomely provided for her…
The location was fantastic (Obama is a neighbor), the service was more than impeccable (impeccabl-est?), the room was not huge but charming and more than sufficient for our needs. We had our breakfast and one dinner at the onsite restaurant (Ici). The staff at both the hotel and the restaurant were nothing less than excellent, and their patience, really admirable and commendable. Especially when the aforementioned headstrong 18-month-old also loves throwing fries, napkins, crayons on the floor. Thank you for taking care of us, two very tired and harried parents and one, er, interesting toddler, whom they called "Princess".

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights on business and so got to make good use of the hotel facilities. Firstly, brilliantly located one block from the White House, easy walking distance to the mall, monuments, restaurants etc. Nice restaurants surrounding it and quick food spots like Starbucks and pret a manger all around. Lobby is nice,not very grand but has a nice bar which is the perfect amount of busy. Not noisy but enough going on to make it welcoming and a pleasant place to have pre or post dinner drinks. Bar also has a nice outside seating area (which isn't that common in DC surprisingly). Staff are welcoming and efficient but not intrusive. We were given a box of macaroons to welcome us because we were staying for a week. Housekeeping staff were excellent. Everyday our room was immaculately tidied with care, not just the bare minimum, real attention to detail which was very nice and made us feel welcome. There was also a turn down service every evening. Bed was large and very very comfy. There is also a pillow menu but we didn't use it. The decor of the room is simple, not particularly stylish but is classic so it doesn't feel dated. Bathroom is similarly styled and is a good size with separate shower cubicle. Good quality fixtures. Everything in the room is functional and ergonomic making it very easy to use. Plenty of room, dark, quiet, temperature controlled. Good cupboard space. Very comfortable. We used room service several times. It was efficient, warm. Generous size. We have stayed in many hotels that are more luxurious and more stylish but this place really won us over because of it's no nonsense classic style, efficiency, comfort, professional staff and attention to detail. We had not stayed in a sofitel before but wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel or other Sofitel in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Hotel in mid July and had a superb time. Rooms are of a good size, well appointed and provide the usual Sofitel levels of comfort. The Bar and Restaurant offer good quality food and beverages and the staff provide an excellent level of service. The Hotel is well situated being close to major attractions and the concierge is happy to book and provide concise information on local attractions and trips. If I have one criticism, it is the way that the Group block and reserve payment against ones credit card as this is often confusing and makes little sense to me but seems to add up in the end? However, one minor criticism should not overshadow what was a splendid few days with the Sofitel Washington.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.