We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and calm in well-run hotel two blocks from the White House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Luxury and calm in well-run hotel two blocks from the White House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed five nights in this beautiful hotel on the corner of H St. and 15th in Room 916, overlooking 15th, Bobby Vann's Steak House, and a business building (king room). Rooms on the southern end of the hotel facing east would overlook Lafayette Park and the White House...next time we might request that. From the ninth floor traffic noise was audible, but muffled; did not bother us at all.

Arriving by taxi, there is a small inset (two car space) in busy 15th St. to unload your luggage, also a few spaces usually available on the street where you could pull a car in long enough to unload. Parking however is valet only, $52/night. We rented a car for two days from Enterprise on Vermont St,. a three short block's walk west, to tour Annapolis and Mt. Vernon, and the rental and valet parking all worked out conveniently. The bellmen were courteous and efficient, not pushy.

The exterior of the building is attractive with inviting outdoor seating and international flags (it's a French chain). Plush, smallish lobby with smooth check-in from pleasant, professional staff.

Our room was lovely, just as in reviewers' photos, with safe, mini bar, robes & slippers, comfortable, plush bed, maybe a bit soft. Maids were unobtrusive and quiet. Only complaint was our towels were not replaced for three days, probably because we re-fold them to keep things looking neat, but still it was obvious they were used. The beds do not have a top sheet, so we left housekeeping a note requesting one, which was done. Greatly appreciated.

We had room service one night, hamburgers and soup. It was nicely served; food was okay. Tea and coffee are complimentary every morning in the posh bar, but no food at all. There is the White House Deli immediately across the street with good pastry and breakfast burritos, but on weekday mornings only. Starbucks and Cosi and others are within two block's walk. The hotel restaurant is open for a lovely, but expensive breakfast.

For dining, we ate at Siroc, and Ceiba and Old Ebbitt Grill. All were in close walking distance with excellent food and ambience; the Old Ebbitt was our favorite. You will pay over $100/couple at all three for dinner, but it was worth it. We walked past the Occidental Grill near the Willard Hotel, looked very nice, so we'll try it next visit. Did not eat at the hotel restaurant...looked sleek and elegant, but the contemporary decor and the menu just didn't invite us.

We loved being two blocks from the White House. Walked over there several times, saw the presidential motorcade leaving twice, with all the resultant security. It's quite impressive. Plus we walked all over downtown, the mall, the museums. The hotel area feels very safe with many business people, tourists, joggers, etc. at all hours. However, there are MANY homeless who overtake the lovely little parks every evening (the smell of urine is quite strong) and were crowded into the doorway of an abandoned shoe store two blocks away on 14th St. They did not approach anyone that we saw, but it puts a definite negative undertone to being downtown.

Oh, the WiFi and flat screen tv worked great in the room. The staff were lovely; several spoke French. This is a very well-managed hotel and we will be back!

Room Tip: Higher up east-facing rooms would overlook the White House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review of your visit to Washington! It seems you were fortunate enough to see some of the unique benefits we experience as neighbors to the White House and many prime touristic sites, how lucky! We do have luxury rooms that face 15th Street and H Street, but just to clarify, none of the rooms overlook Lafayette Park and the White House directly. There are just a block away, and as you noticed a very short walk. We look forward to welcoming you back, and thank you again for choosing Sofitel.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,670
    602
    118
    44
    15
See reviews for
504
1,048
154
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Quite pricey, but we booked late. We stayed here for the first time having been at the Sofitel New York (see review). We booked a Junior Suite, and were told that we had been upgraded to the next suite up. The suite was nice, but no different to the suite in New York, and not as well set out. We had asked for a room without a communicating door, and were surprised to find that there was a door. However, there was no noise. The room was nicely furnished, and had a lot of windows. However the windows were narrow, and the curtains thick, which meant that they could not be drawn fully, so not as much light as we would like. As common with Sofitel, the bed is both large and very comfortable. More important was the bathroom. Nice separate shower, but real problem with the bath. Very disappointing for a 5star hotel. Short, and shallow, max water level was 8 inches, and legs sticking out at the end, and I am only 5ft 10ins. As a result impossible to relax, and water goes cold. More like a Holiday Inn. Also bath towels short, not a bath sheet at all, we asked for larger towels, but they are all the same size! Contrast with New York, deep bath, and large bath towels!

We elected to have breakfast in the hotel. Service was good and for a 5star hotel not expensive. You got a small free uplifting drink, apple carrot and ginger, and bread and pastries are included. Only concern was that the bill varied each time and 18% service was added.

I am a Gold member and so entitled to late check out. However I had to fight for this, availability problems, which is always annoying. Front desk were helpful, however, and a particular mention for the concierge and doormen, who were very good and nice. They even spoke French, not just bonjour!

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise, which resonates off the buildings, so upper floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel and AccorHotels worldwide. As a valued Gold member of our Le Club program you receive benefits in Washington, like in all other Sofitel properties, such as welcome drinks in Le Bar, a complimentary upgrade in your room category and late checkout upon availability. As you mentioned, this may have been slightly complicated only because of the limited availability of your prestige suite room type. That said, I am happy they were able to accommodate and I will pass on your compliments to our Concierge team. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again on your travels to Washington D.C.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Recently stayed at the Sofitel while at. Conference in DC. Overall a great hotel situated in a very convenient tourist location close to the White House. Overall a lovely stay. Great staff who are always attentive and helpful. Comfortable room but on the small side compared to other DC hotels. Considering the price this hotel .provides a smalrer room that in my opinion needs an upgrade. The carpet was shabby and well overdue for replacement. The restaurant was good but certainly not great.the hotel rooms have aged a lot since my last stay 6 years back. In saying that I enjoyed the overall hotel experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level to avoid street traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have many business travelers as you can imagine, and adapt our amenities and facilities to anticipate and accommodate these needs. As I mentioned in a previous review, we are constantly upgrading and refreshing our rooms, carpets, furniture etc. The fitness center was just rennovated as well as the corridors. For your next visit, feel free to contact me directly and I will be sure to assign you a room layout that is a bit larger so you have more space for your stay.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had a wonderful one night stay here. The hotel is elegantly decorated in art deco style. We were staying for our anniversary and casually mentioned it at check in. We returned later that night to find a dessert awaiting us with a note from the hotel. What a lovely gesture, we were touched. The room was well-sized, with a great bathroom, and a comfortable bed.
We didn't eat at the hotel but had some drinks and nibbles at the bar which were very good. The bar staff were friendly, chatty, and knowledgeable about the local attractions.
The hotel's location is fantastic - a 5 minute walk from the White House. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Happy Anniversary once more! Thank you for choosing Sofitel to celebrate your special occasion. I am glad we were able to make it enjoyable for you and hope you will make it an annual tradition to visit us again!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful holiday in Washington DC. The hotel is situated very close to the White House and a short walk from the mall and all museum and monuments. Our room was roomy with lots of storage. The room was on the back of the hotel and very quiet especially for such a busy location. The staff on the whole were marvellous and couldn't do enough for us. Cynthia the concierge was extremely helpful and most knowledgeable. She arranged tickets for bus tours and a tour of the Capitol. It was lovely to get a "welcome back" after a days sightseeing by the doormen. The hotel also has a turn down service which adds a spot of luxury to an evening - to walk back in to music playing, curtains drawn and lights on - bliss! The complimentary bottles of water were also most welcome. Wed certainly recommend a stay at this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
I always like to say that the only thing better than touring Washington D.C. is coming back to the hotel and being welcomed "home" by our Ambassadors! The turn down service is a lovely way, indeed, to return to your room and after all of that walking, Evian water is essential! I will pass on your compliments to Cynthia, and thank you again for choosing Sofitel!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great location! Walking distance to the back of the White House as well as a short distance away from a Metro Station. If you prefer walking to the National Mall it's a straight shot down on 15th street. The National Mall is a few blocks down from the hotel, but keep in mind in Washington DC some of the blocks can be rather large blocks. About a 10-15 minute walk if you are walking briskly. Also, a block or two away is a pay station to rent bikes. There are also a variety of restaurants a short walk or cab ride away.

The Sofitel's employees were all very kind and attentive. Definitely stop by the Concierge if you have any questions. Jermaine gave us a lot of helpful information about the surrounding area as well as places inside and out of the city. Thanks to him we utilized our time in DC wisely.

The only thing if anything that I would like to see change about this location would be to upgrade their rooms. Our room was definitely clean but some of the furniture and fixtures seemed dated and looked worn.

When we come back to DC we will definitely look into staying at the Sofitel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. You seemed to have gotten a little bit of all of the great things DC has to offer. The Capital Bike share is a great way to get around to the sites. I will pass your kind words onto Germain and the Concierge team. Rest assured we are constantly refreshing our accommodations, both in the public areas and in the guestrooms, and as things inevitably become worn with time, we are proactive to update and replace them for the comfort of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Great service from the time we checked in until we left. Clean nice room. Good free coffee in the morning. Bar is expensive and lots of options nearby. Same goes for breakfast. 1 block from the White House. And walked everywhere easy access to everything. Wonderful outdoor seating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for Sofitel Washington D.C. It seems you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to many of the tourist attractions and local neighborhoods in the city. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.