We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel..Luxurious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Hotel..Luxurious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival. The only thing that tainted this hotel was when we arrived, we had got the Super Shuttle from the airport to the hotel, when the Super Shuttle pulled up out the front of the hotel, the staff asked the driver what he was doing here (he was dropping us off!). When we got out of the shuttle no one helped with our luggage and we struggled to open the door to the hotel. As a regular guest of the Sofitel chain i was really disappointed with the service and welcome we received from the staff out the front of the hotel. That aside, the location was perfect, close to the metro, near a Macy's and starbucks, near the hop on hop off bus tour route and only a block away from the White House. The rooms were clean and very spacious, the bathroom was beautiful and large which came with amazing toiletries. Every morning complimentary coffee and tea was available downstairs in Le Bar, and you could take it away with you. Downside to the room is that you can't use the fridge to keep the complimetary water cold, as it is stocked with mini bar products. But that seems to be the case with many hotels in the USA.
Overall a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel hotels worldwide. As you mentioned, it is easy to get used to our luxury service and you come to expect that same level at each property you visit. I can assure you that the experience you had upon arrival is extremely atypical of our service. We welcome Super Shuttles daily, and absolutely should be available to assist you with your luggage and to escort you to the front desk to check in. I am sorry that you were welcomed any differently, and I am confident on your next visit that you will be satisfied with the pleasant and warm Ambassadors at the front door.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,643
    589
    115
    44
    15
See reviews for
491
1,033
153
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It was hard to choose a hotel in Washington we only had a couple of days so wanted a location that we could see all of the attractions also only about 15 minutes from airport taxi about 20 dollars the sofitel is located at the back of the White House 5 minute walk away an older hotel but clean immaculate and very quiet we had a 2 bed room because we were travelling with children great bathroom staff very friendly will give you map of area no tea or coffee facilities in rooms a downside although they do offer free tea and coffee downstairs until 10 am also our room had no view at the side of the hotel it was great to sit outside the White House in the park we even saw the presidents car leave and in the evening as night falls we watched the fire flies light up the
grass

Room Tip: No pool hotel very quiet did not fing air on noisy rooms average size
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
It seems you were able to really enjoy the neighborhood and take advance of the downtown location, close to many sites and attractions in the city. I have to say that those fireflies are my favorite part of summer here! For your next visit, do not hesitate to ask for a coffee maker to be placed in the room, we have them available complimentary for your convenience to complement the morning coffee and tea in Le Bar.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I didn't mind paying a lot, as its location is perfect (a block from the White House). However, it was VERY expensive, and I'm not sure I got my money's worth. The hotel was clean and quiet and well-situated, but I ended up paying $350 with parking. Also, it's very hard to find....the only sign is very low and small and difficult to read...I passed it once and didn't see it. Hotel staff was VERY professional and very nice...kudos to the manager for training the staff to be so kind and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Washington D.C. You are correct, like so most big cities, the parking charges can be steep at downtown hotels. We offer a competitive rate in comparison to our neighboring hotels, and several advantages over local garages such as 24 access to your car as well as in and out availability as frequently as you would like. I am happy to know that you enjoyed professional and courteous service from our Ambassadors, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The bathtub is just for one person, but there is a bathtub, that is in it self a very nice feature. The rooms are spacious and equipped with Bose radio, large bed, large tv, nice desk. Very classy decoration. The location is excellent for visiting the national mall, the white house and the smithsonian.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Takk! I am glad you enjoyed your visit and found the acommodations to be comfortable. Hpoefully you will come back to the States soon, and make sure to visit us again!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ne england
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

we stayed for 4 nights, would have like 6 but for some reason the rates shot up so only booked the 4 nights, the joys of computerised systems.
That said we had a great room on the corner on the 10th floor it was furnished in the sofitel style and was very nice even though it was the standard grade room, everything was as expected.
The staff here are excellent very friendly and they all want to ensure you have a good time and return, the door staff were always chatting and asking how you were and what sort of day you had. We ate in the restaurant one night and the staff here were great too and not ott, the food was good especially the dessert, even though it was chocolate it was very light.
Lots of places around for breakfast as we find the standard breakfast in the hotel too much, we really like the devon and blakey across the road the best.
we had a problem with internet access and it was sorted prompty, this one hotel that is happy to know when something does not work and they fix it.
Such a shame that the new york sofitel does not meet the standards this part of the chain provided us with. I would recommend this for all the reasons everyone else has it really is as good as everyone says and to have the white house round the corner who else would you want for a neighbour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to Washington D.C. I am glad you enjoyed interacting with our personable Ambassadors. They take a genuine interest in how your trip is going, and want to be sure you have the best possible experience. I am sorry that you had to cut your visit short. Our prices vary depending on our occupancy which can be affected by the goings on in the city. Do not hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel and our in house Reservations team can arrange the best possible accommodations for you in your desired time frame. I know I always like speaking to a real person! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is at least 4 stars, maybe 4.5. Like many DC hotels, it's not very large, but the staff is friendly, despite the whole French thing they enjoy laying on pretty thick bc of the hotel's provenance. (They thankfully withhold the typical French rudeness, so that's a major positive.) The rooms are well-appointed with robes and slippers. The bed is comfortable, and the hotel feels new. My king room bathroom had a separate shower and tub and the BA floor was done in some unusual dark green tiles, which might normally have been unattractive, but worked somehow. The customer service is very good and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We had an issue getting a rollaway bed (they gave us an air bed instead) and after I complained they gave us free breakfast coupons. The breakfast was nice - especially the basket of bread and the croissants, although the eggs tasted weirdly powdered or aired in some clearly European fashion. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July having read very positive trip advisor reports.
We were not disappointed . From the minute we got out of the taxi we were looked after really well by all the staff at the hotel. They couldn't do enough for us. Everyone was happy to help and did so with a wonderful smile and cheerful attitude. The room was huge and exceptionally clean. the bathroom was enormous and had a bath and shower and great toiletries. Breakfasts were really good and the service was efficient, friendly and could not be faulted.
The hotel is in a great position near to the White House and it is easy to walk to hop on hop off bus stops , the Capitol building and the Mall and the museums. Excellent!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.