We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #8 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is smaller than most brand name hotels and the staff quickly gets to know you and provide whatever services you need. It is located in an ideal area, 3 blocks from the White House. It is easy to walk to restaurants and some attractions. The rooms are spacious with excellent bedding and bathroom. The restaurant and bar/lounge area are excellent and outdoor seating is available under shady trees. The staff is well trained and the concierge is very helpful for maps and directions. It is relaxing to be at smaller hotel, especially when you do not have to wait long to get an elevator and the staff makes sure your stay is a pleasure.

Room Tip: Weekends tend to get busy with tourist on weekend specials, so we arrived on a Tuesday and left on S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,514
    542
    104
    40
    14
See reviews for
444
960
149
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We chose the Sofitel as the place to stay for our family trip to Washington DC based on it's location and my previous positive experiences with Accor group hotels. We recieved the best service of our stay there whilst checking in, with the staff that assisted us being warm, friendly and helpful. However for the rest of our stay, we did not experience good service within the hotel, apart from a couple of very friendly door staff. We had disappointing experiences with both cleaning and bar staff, and gave up trying to order drinks in the bar after being ignored twice over a 20 minute period. All in all our impression of service at this Sofitel was that they did not respect those visiting for tourism purposes as much as they seemed to value their business customers.

The rooms we were allocated were good and consistent with the standard set by Sofitel hotels I've stayed in elsewhere. The bedding as always with Sofitel was a highlight, and the bathroom facilities were excellent. One of the rooms we had was extremely spacious, but the other was a little more cramped. There were no coffee or tea making facilities provided in either of our rooms and there is no ability to store anything in the mini bar fridge due to the automatic billing installed. Wifi was only offered as a paid service, with the "free" wifi service not working for us.

Overall we were disappointed in our stay at the Sofitel. It was not representative of my previous good experiences at Sofitel and other leading Accor Group hotels, and was unfortunately the most disappointing stay we experienced on our US trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to Accor hotels and for taking the time to provide your feedback. Given our focus on leisure guests and traveling families, I am disappointed to learn that you were less than satisfied with your experience with us. We have several room arrangements to accommodate families, and have coffee/tea makers as well as mini fridges available complimentary upon request. I can assure you that the experience you had in Le Bar is atypical of our standards. Although we have a bustling bar and patio area, our ambassadors strive to make sure that each of our guests receives prompt and personalized service. What is consistent among our team is the warm welcome you received at check in, and the friendly door staff. I am confident that the next time you join us, you will enjoy a true Sofitel experience.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
192 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our first time in Washington DC, we made sure to find a good hotel. I found this one on a discount and wanted to try it out. The location is awesome, we could walk everywhere! The staff were nice and told us what to visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Sofitel was the perfect place to stay for mine & my boyfriend's weekend trip to DC. The location could not have been better. We planned to make all the touristy stops so we wanted to stay in the heart of downtown. The hotel was only a few minutes walk to the White House and about a 25 min walk to the National Mall. There is also a metro stop (McPherson Square) one block away so when we ventured a little further (the Smithsonian, Capitol Hill, etc), we were able to hop on the Metro in minutes. The hotel staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. Our room was bright and spacious with a ridiculously comfortable king sized bed. My favorite part of the hotel was the outdoor seating in the front (on 15th St) and the lobby/lounge of the hotel. They serve complimentary coffee and tea every morning and there are plenty of comfortable seats in the lounge area. We had pre-dinner cocktails outside every evening and it was just perfect. Overall, beautiful hotel with fantastic service and great location for anyone looking to be close to downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Everything as promised: close to the White House and to the president's church (that's what is all the fuzz is about on Sunday mornings). Nice rooms, beautiful bathrooms, terrific bar, menu and staff, lovely breakfast, although not cheap....but really good. Not the most trendiest place in town, but comfortable, stylish and relaxed. The only 'less positive' thing was the wait for the car and the cost of the valet; not really aligned, but that's a minor thing. Would definitely go there again....and again....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just got back from a lovely visit to Washington, DC. I was so glad we chose the Sofitel. The facility itself is lovely, but it was the staff that makes this hotel such a wonderful place to stay. The service was outstanding on every level, noticably so. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. I would have liked fluffier towels, but other than that I have nothing but good things to say.

Coffee is available in Le Bar from 5:30 AM onward, but there is no coffee maker in the room. On a lovely spring day, enjoying cafe and croissants in the walled patio outside bar and dining areas is a lovely way to start the day. The breads served at breakfast are magnifique! Le Bar is quite the happening place in the evening, full of young professionals.

The Sofitel in Washington is a dog friendly hotel. We had initially intended to bring our French bulldog, but changed our minds so we could take the train at the last minute. They asked after our dog when we arrived....a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a half marathon that I ran in. The hotel's location was great - close to good restaurants and most importantly the start line of my race. Service was also very good. Our room was clean and they were able to accommodate my request for an early breakfast on the morning of my race.
The tea and coffee service in the lobby was also great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.