We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Everything as promised: close to the White House and to the president's church (that's what is all the fuzz is about on Sunday mornings). Nice rooms, beautiful bathrooms, terrific bar, menu and staff, lovely breakfast, although not cheap....but really good. Not the most trendiest place in town, but comfortable, stylish and relaxed. The only 'less positive' thing was the wait for the car and the cost of the valet; not really aligned, but that's a minor thing. Would definitely go there again....and again....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,518
    546
    105
    40
    14
See reviews for
446
964
149
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern New Jersey
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just got back from a lovely visit to Washington, DC. I was so glad we chose the Sofitel. The facility itself is lovely, but it was the staff that makes this hotel such a wonderful place to stay. The service was outstanding on every level, noticably so. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. I would have liked fluffier towels, but other than that I have nothing but good things to say.

Coffee is available in Le Bar from 5:30 AM onward, but there is no coffee maker in the room. On a lovely spring day, enjoying cafe and croissants in the walled patio outside bar and dining areas is a lovely way to start the day. The breads served at breakfast are magnifique! Le Bar is quite the happening place in the evening, full of young professionals.

The Sofitel in Washington is a dog friendly hotel. We had initially intended to bring our French bulldog, but changed our minds so we could take the train at the last minute. They asked after our dog when we arrived....a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a half marathon that I ran in. The hotel's location was great - close to good restaurants and most importantly the start line of my race. Service was also very good. Our room was clean and they were able to accommodate my request for an early breakfast on the morning of my race.
The tea and coffee service in the lobby was also great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Sofitel could not be more centrally located, being just a few blocks away from the White House, and convenient to the Metro (McPherson Square). The door men are excellent and protect you from the rush of traffic - we used the Washington Flyer service from Dulles who provided a SUV at zero notice since we had significant luggage - there is a separate waiting area at the end of the normal taxi line for parties requiring larger cars. The rooms are well appointed and have good beds and spacious bathrooms. Check in was very efficient and the hotel had read the booking notes and provided a quiet room facing into the inner quadrangle. There is solid wi-fi throughout. Room service was generally good, prompt but perhaps a little expensive by DC standards. The one breakfast we had actually in the restaurant was disappointing with indifferent service and we reverted to the in room option which was more predictable. The bar provided a good range of snacks and light meals. Overall this is a very nice hotel with a genuinely good ambiance and very good rooms. The service element of the dining experience seems to be the "work on" item and was the one exception in an otherwise excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I had no preconceived idea about what this Sofitel hotel would be like, I just wanted to get there after a long train journey and a very long queue at Union Station for a taxi. Wow, I was blown away by the customer service from everyone. The room was quiet and luxurious, breakfast was amazing and a great bar to have a couple of drinks after a long day seeing the sights. It was a perfect stay, you'll love it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, arriving on the first day about 9am to drop our bags off and being very pleasantly surprised (and happy!) that our room was ready. After a quick pit stop to shower and change shoes - we were off to the National Mall, only a short walk away. The hotel is so conviniently located, it was perfect for our stay.
The room was huge, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom and shower were lovely.
All staff were super friendly (though we found the porters and doormen a little too friendly and a bit grabby).
Our only issue was that our door card stopped working on our second day, and we had to wait a while for the new key to be given. We were given two complimentary water bottles for our trouble.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Fantastic stay in DC at a great hotel. The most comfortable bed you can imagine. The location is fantastic to explore DC and the staff can't do enough to help you achieve whatever you want to see or do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.