We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The French do it right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The French do it right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Spent 4 nights with a 10 year old to see sights. Rooms were on the small side but it was an old building. Front desk staff doormen and restaurant staff were excellent. Only negative was no coffee in room. The pastries were Devine. For a couple it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for higher up will be a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
I have good news! If the only thing lacking from your stay is a coffee maker in the room, we can take care of that, no problem. We have coffee makers and tea kettles available for the room upon request, and of course you can enjoy complimentary coffee and tea each morning in Le Bar. I hope your son or daughter enjoyed Washington D.C. and we hope to welcome you back again soon. We will have your pastries, coffee maker and high floor preference arranged tout de suite!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    570
    108
    43
    15
See reviews for
474
1,007
150
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I just returned from a family vacation in Washington, DC and I can't wait to go back so that I can stay at The Sofitel again. We had 2 rooms for 4 nights and have no complaints. When we arrived in our rooms we discovered that the crib had not been set up and mentioned it to the bellman. The crib arrived before I even had a chance to call the front desk. Then a few minutes later room service arrived with cookies & milk for my children. They even provided the cutest little robes & slippers for my two younger kids. The rooms are not only clean they are decorated beautifully. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful (arranging museum tickets) and even referred to us by name on several occasions. The restaurant has amazing food, dinner was incredible and The Parisian Breakfast is on par with any bakery in Paris. I won't even consider any other hotel when we return to DC.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Merci beaucoup! I am thrilled to know you enjoyed your family vacation with us in Washington D.C. Although we are known for our luxury service, we pride ourselves in creating a warm environment, comfortable and welcoming to families and leisure guests alike. I am happy we are now your D.C. hotel of choice, and I hope your children brought home those little slippers, aren't the adorable!?

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

An excellent stay. The hotel was very comfortable and well appointed.
Thank you, in particular, to Azi and Germain at the concierge desk who were extremely helpful. Washington is a great city and their advice on getting around etc was invaluable.
I will undoubtedly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing us and for recognizing our 'outstanding' Concierge team. They are always at your service to help arrange your trip both during and prior to your visit. They are terrific at identifying your individual needs and preferences for tourist locations and restaurants around the city. Just ask!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in March 2013 for our honeymoon. The hotel is a little hard to find unless you are specifically looking for it. We took a cab from the airport, and the cab driver hadn't heard of the hotel. Fortunately we had the address for the hotel, so the cab driver was able to look up the directions. While it seems like the hotel may be far from the monuments, it is in fact one block away from the White House, and is close to the National Mall.

The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful during our entire trip! We arrived before our room was ready, so the hotel stored our luggage for us while we explored Washington, DC. When we returned, a bellman took our luggage up to our room. We had a corner room on the 9th floor. The view was good, but don't expect to see any of the monuments from the hotel. The room had a comfortable bed, feather pillows, a tv that had channels in English, French, and Japanese, and a nice bathroom. The shower in the bathroom was a bit small, but we liked everything else in the bathroom, especially the lighted make up mirror. The hotel provides citrus scented shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel, but I don't recommend them if you have sensitive skin.

Every interaction we had with the hotel staff was positive! The concierges recommended several restaurants that were within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel restaurant staff were extremely accommodating to my food allergies. The room was always clean, and the turn down service was a nice touch. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Corner rooms provide a great view of DC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It seems you were able to take advantage of many of our perks like location and our Concierge service. And I do not blame you for enjoying your corner guestroom. Our SoBeds are world famous and Lanvin bathroom amenities really add to the feeling of a relaxing getaway! Come back and join us again soon, and next time, bring us some sunny Florida weather!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a very fine hotel with great staff. The rooms and hotel itself are fantastic. Very close to the White House and other sites. The only bad thing I could say is as with any bill you receive, be sure to read it carefully. One of our parties was charged for a day of parking and they didn't even have a car, another party of ours was charged for 17 mini bar items. They only opened the door once and avoided the seven second law. The hotel did, without issue, remove all charges however. We would love to stay here again.

Venture out a few blocks to have access to more food options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback, and for choosing the Sofitel. I am glad to know that we were able to take care of your bill, we often have mini bar charges appear when, as you mention, guests lift up items or store something extra in the fridge, and we are happy to make any necessary adjustments. We hope you will have the opportunity to come back and join us again soon!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great personal service, staff is excetional. Beautiful accomodations. It was my daughter's birthday and they gave her special service and treats. The room was well appointed and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your family trip to Washington D.C. We love being a part of special occasions, and I am happy to know that your daughter enjoyed her celebration with us. We hope you will make another visit soon, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Sofitel Washington DC is a great hotel in a great location. It is right near a metro stop and walking distance to the White House, many museums and many restaurants and shops. The staff is friendly, the rooms are wonderful size with comfortable beds and very, very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to Washington D.C. Be sure to come back and see us again soon now that both of our patios are open for outside dining in Le Bar and iCi Urban Bistro!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.