We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of best hotels I've experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of best hotels I've experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

One of the best hotels I ever stayed at. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Everything was top-flight. I would highly recommend this hotel. It was a French experience in the best way--great food and the room was excellent.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room--the desk was very accomodating--the room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Merci beaucoup! I am happy to know we were able to accommodate your preference for a quiet room. We do our best to take care of each of our guests, and do not hesitate to call in advance to let us know so we have plenty of time to arrange and be flexible.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,677
    604
    118
    44
    15
See reviews for
506
1,051
154
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived late on Friday evening and check-in was very fast. One of the women at the counter asked my daughter all sorts of questions while I was signing in. One of which was "did she like chocolate chip cookies?" . I was only half listening. The next day shortly after we came back from our sightseeing there were cookies and milk delivered to our room! The concierge was very helpful and everyone treated my daughter like royalty. The hotel was easy walking distance to most attractions. The room was large and the bed comfy. The only problem was with the safe. I had to have someone come and reset it twice. It was not user error as I use these quite often. However they were fast and efficient in dealing with this.
Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I remember that special young girl who likes chocolate chip cookies!! I hope she enjoyed all of the sites in Washington, and I am happy you had such a comfortable stay. I apologize there were complications with your safe, but appreciate you bringing it to our attention so that our security and engineering team could correct the problem. We hope to have you back again soon, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly should you have the opportunity to return to D.C.!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a lovely weekend stay at the Sofitel in DC. The location is fantastic - downtown and right near the White House, the National Mall and museums, and plenty of restaurants and bars. The staff was incredible and went out of their way to make sure we had a memorable time. The room was modern, the bed was really comfortable, and the big windows (with a great view of downtown) let in tons of light during the day. This is my favorite place to stay in DC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sofitel for your visit to Washington. And thank you for making us your favorite! We are, indeed, in the heart of downtown D.C., close to many tourist attractions and walkable distance from several neighborhoods full of the cities hottest restaurants and bars. Our family of ambassadors will be here to welcome you back and ensure you make more magnifique memories!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our Anniversary. When I called to ask for early check in they were totally accommodating and asked if we were celebrating anything special. When we checked in they had already upgraded our room and later that day sent up complimentary dessert and water.The staff is wonderful and the room was quiet and very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
It was a pleasure speaking with you, thank you for calling to let us know your arrival time. I am happy we were able to accommodate, and have something ready for you early. Be sure to come back and visit soon, even just for dinner or cocktails on our new open air patio!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I spent our anniversary here. The service was outstanding and the location is only about a block from the Mcphereson square metro stop. There are several good restaurants in the immediate vicinity. I would stay here again and absolutely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Happy Anniversary once again! Thank you for choosing Sofitel to celebrate. I see that you enjoyed one of our Pastry Chef, Vincent BItauld's specialty desserts, yum! We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully before your next anniversary.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in February for a meeting. You're only a few blocks from the White House, and two blocks from the McPherson Square Metro Station. The Mall is only about a 20 minute downhill walk.

This is the second Sofitel I've stayed at, and I'm really starting to think it might be my favorite hotel group. Both stays were impeccable. The lobby at the Sofitel is beautiful, with welcoming front desk staff. My room was so cozy, but modern, too. It's amazing to me how their decor could be so soothing and welcoming, and look entirely gorgeous at the same time! The room was large, with plenty of room for luggage. The bathroom was lovely, with a nice shower and separate tub.

My meeting was at the hotel, and I must say that the meeting facility is great. A nicely sized conference room for a group of around 20-30. EXCELLENT meals, too. I used the workout room once, and it had nice equipment and was very nice.

I would whole-heartedly stay at this hotel again. Great facility!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are honored to be considered among your favorite hotels, and I am happy to know you enjoyed your business stay with us in February. We have a meeting floor with a variety of options for different sized meetings as well as our Paris Ballroom. Chef Frank Loquet designs the banquet menus to reflect the quality and selection of our restaurant, and it makes those meetings that much more enjoyable! We strive to provide a comfortable environment, effortless and convenient for our guests to lessen the load of the busy work week. This includes amenities like complimentary coffee and tea to go in the mornings, a lightning-speed business wifi option, complimentary business center access to printing and our newly rennovated fitness center 24/7. We look forward to being your home away from home in Washington D.C.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I spent 5 nigths at Sofitel Lafayette Square (DC). Not only the hotel itself is amazing, but the staff are extremely friendly.
The location is perfect! Super fast checkin and chekout. Very clean, comfortable ... and the food is wonderful!
The bar (which every night is attended by executives from the neighborhood) has a wonderful special menu, including wines.
It would be unfair to say any employee name since I can not remember all names. But I appreciate the special attention from Chloe, who very often helped me with the maps.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Obrigada! I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your extended stay with us. Just like Chloe, who speaks Portuguese, French and English, we have Ambassadors from all over the world who speak a range of languages like German, Arabic, Russian, Amharic, Spanish, Croatian, Vietnamese, Dutch, Swedish and more. Wherever you are traveling from, Sofitel Washington D.C. has a warm welcome waiting for you!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.