We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My Husband and I live in the Phila area and love to get away for long weekends to Washington DC. Between Christmas and New Years is a great time to go to Washington since congress is on vacation and you do not have to wait in long lines. We chose the Sofitel due to the great on-line reviews and our previous stay at the Sofitel in Montreal. Without a doubt we were not disappointed. We were greeted by Anna Chaley Croll the Relations Manager at the front desk. She welcomed us by wishing us a Happy 24th Anniversary along with spending time providing us with ideas for dinner along with having a wonderful choc desert and bottle of Sparkling water and a special note wishing us a Happy Anniversary. The Hotel room with was clean, quite and specious along with being close to the White House and main attractions. The package we selected included a breakfast each morning which was fantastic. The breakfast was terrific. We were only there for two mornings yet they remembered what we drank and greeted us with hot tea. This is our third experience staying with the Sofetil, twice in Montreal and once in DC. As we continue to travel, Sofitel will be one of our first choices to stay. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

PS. Remember to ask for Anna she is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
My fellow Pennsylvanians!! It was such a pleasure to meet you both, and I was so happy you chose to try out Sofitel D.C. after your stay in Montreal. Thank you for your kind words, and remember I am always available to assist in planning your next getaway; even a staycation in Sofitel Philadelphia, it is a lovely property! I look forward to your next visit.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,670
    602
    118
    44
    15
See reviews for
504
1,048
154
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for four nights and had no complaints at all. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable and the service from all the staff was courteous and professional. Great location and Sofitel will be my first choice next time I'm in DC.

Room Tip: We actually preferred the two queen beds room over the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your trip to our Nation's Capital! We are here for all of your business needs and strive to provide an environment comfortable for your business travels. Do not forget to take advantage of our complimentary basic internet, or the paid light-speed business connection that can make working from your room extra convenient!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is perfect for anyone who is looking to "getaway" for the weekend. We stayed on friday and saturday night, had breakfast in bed, drinks and everything was just perfect. I will stay here again for my next needed weekend gateway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! We love the term "staycation" and have many local guests who join us just to get away from the same old everyday at home. We have special packages like the Romance Package, which can make that weekend just a little extra special. Feel free to call us as well, and we can assist you in setting up any arrangements you may desire to create a memorable getaway!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
734 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 478 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed at some very nice hotels; and, I have to admit that I was not looking forward to my stay at the Sofitel. Every year, when I come to DC, I stay at the Grand Hyatt; and, even though I have posted mixed reviews on the property, it is like "home" to me in DC.

Well, the Sofitel absolutely defines luxury. Check-in was friendly, efficient and quick. The guest services representative was very personable. I was booked into a higher floor, which was a little larger than the standard; and, I have to admit I was impressed.

But, it's really all of the "little things" that make Sofitel different from the rest. First, free Wi-Fi; but, you can also upgrade to lightning-fast speeds for what other hotels charge for their snail-paced Wi-Fi. Free coffee in the bar negates the need for in-room coffee service. With the bonus of genuine French-roast coffee, real cream, and fresh croissants; how, can you go wrong? Free water and fresh fruit in the fitness center make for a great workout in a very nice, expansive, basement facility.

The doormen are always accommodating; opening the door for each guest, with a hearty well-wish for a good day. Every staff member (unlike other DC properties), offered a smile and a hello (or, bon jour, if French, as most of the staff are).

Located near Lafayette Square; the White House; and, the McPherson Metro stop, the Sofitel is great for families or busines travelors.

Room Tip: Book the Superior Room, for more space on a hgher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is great to know that you were happily surprised with your experience, as I know it is difficult to leave a property you have become accustomed to. We do pride ourselves in the "petit" details, and I am happy they added to your comfort throughout your stay. Whenever you join us, you will enjoy our personal service and attention to the small things that make your travel more magnifique, so I hope we will have the pleasure of calling you a regular soon!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful long weekend at the Sofitel. From the moment our cab arrived to the moment we departed the staff was attentive, helpful and accomodating. The hotel is located one block from the metro, two blocks from the Whitehouse and a short walk to the national mall. The hotel is very stylish, from Le bar to the lovely restaraunt. Our room was very spacious, comfortable, clean and well appointed. When the staff at Le Bar learned we were celebrating our anniversary, they sent up our favorite cocktails and dessert to our room with well wishes for a happy anniversary. A truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel to your special celebration, and Happy Anniversary once again! I am glad you were able to relax and enjoy, and we hope to be your destination of choice for future occasions!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Perfect location and a reasonable price. The furnishings were classic and the staff incredibly helpful. they even spoke a little bit of french for you, just to remind you how classy the place was. maybe that might come off badly at some places, but it seemed to fit nicely here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Merci! I am happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for choosing Sofitel. As you probably know, we are a French brand, so wherever in the world you come across Sofitel, there will be a magnifique French touch throughout your experience. I hope you will be able to visit again!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel only one night with our 3 boys. We need a big room in which five can sleep and Sofitel has it. You can only park the car in the car park by using their valet service.

When we checked in the front desk supervisor Annika couldn't have been nicer and helpful.
The location is perfect, the White House is around the corner and you can walk nearly everywhere. The metro station is only a few minutes away. We took the underground to visit Alexandria. The train and stations are very clean and safe!

When we got back in the hotel late in the evening the Sofitel staff had left a little midnight snack for our boys: chocolate chip cookies and 3 glasses of cold milk. They loved it! The beds were very comfortable. We will definitely go back to the Sofitel when we visit Washington again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am happy that you and your family were comfortable in your accommodations, and that your sons enjoyed their cookie treats! We have several options for families traveling with children; from superior and luxury doubles, to suites and connecting rooms. Just call us and we can make sure to have everything set up for you! Cherry Blossoms are coming soon, I hope you and your family will be able to come back and join us again soon.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, BookIt.com, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.