We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Sofitel in DC is a well-located hotel, and we enjoyed the few days we spent there. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We ate dinner there one evening and it was excellent. We hope to go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your Washington D.C. visit. As the warm months approach, many exciting things are coming in the city, so I hope we have a chance to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,674
    603
    118
    44
    15
See reviews for
505
1,049
154
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Branchville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at The Sofitel after researching several options in D.C. The convenience, luxurious amenities and willing, knowledgeable and accommodating staff are all reasons to return. Cannot say enough about the entire staff, from Chris, the bellman to Annika at the front desk, every single employee had a smile and knew how to make guests feel completely taken care of. We will stay here again and again. Also stayed at Sofitel in Versaille, France. They are all wonderful.

Room Tip: Perfect gym, although compact, equipped with excellent attributes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your rave review of your stay with us! It is always nice to know that our ambassadors can make such a connection with our guests, and are often the reason they return time and time again. There are many Sofitel properties worldwide, and you will always receive a warm welcome at our properties. Please come and see us again soon, Chris and Annika will be here waiting to welcome you back!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed in a jr suite for a week.
It's a great hotel with a perfect location for business and pleasure. Room was excellent with a separate living area with Bose tv and music facilities. Very clean and well appointed.

Free coffee to take out every morning was a nice touch and the restaurant was also very high quality. The bar is also nicely decorated with great service from attentive staff.

Hotel has a good gym with 24hr access. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy you were able to enjoy the comfort of our junior suites for an entire week. That separate living room really makes it convenient to separate the business day from the comfort of a restful night of sleep. The free wifi helps to accomplish all of that work as well! Our gym, as you most likely recognized, has just recently been rennovated, and our guests are very happy with the upgraded equipment and design. As you mentioned, for business or leisure, we have what you need, and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great and thoughtful service. Sent the kids chocolate chip cookies, milk, and kid size robes and slippers--they were all smiles. Outstanding food and accomodations. You pay a premium; but well worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your holiday visit to Washington D.C. As you can tell, Sofitel loves special occasions and holidays, especially with families! We have an excellent selection of childrens accommodations including Chef Loquet's kids menus in all of the outlets, bath amenties for children, coloring books and activities and even cookies and milk (SHHH!) The concierge can put together recommendations tailored to your family's needs to ensure you have a magnifique stay! I hope you will join us again soon for the next special holiday.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was very happy to be able to book a hotel that is so close to everything (a couple blocks from the whitehouse) that wasn't super expensive! It's a very nice hotel, the rooms are clean, & are larger than the standard tiny, mid-city hotel room. The beds aren't super comfy (they really need to do something about that!), but it wasn't miserable at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We do our best to create a home away from home in the heart of Washington D.C. for all guests, whether traveling for business or pleasure. We want you to be comfortable both in our public areas and in the privacy of our guestrooms. Please let us know next time if you are not entirely pleased with your sleeping arrangements, as our SoBeds are known for heavenly comfort, and I am disappointed to learn you did not get to enjoy this treat! Just let us know and we will make it right for you. I hope you will join us again soon.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is located close to McPherson Square subway. It is within walking distance of most of the main attractions, particularly the White House and environs. The rooms are of a high quality and very comfortable with excellent amenities that is expected of this hotel chain. We ate in the restaurant where the food was excellent. We had some clothes washed/dry cleaned and the price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Our king room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to the Sofitel brand. It seems you have come to expect the luxury service and accommodations our properties are so well known for, and I am happy we are no exception! Please come and see us again, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.