We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #7 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Chocolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed 3 nights, reasonable price, excellent location, The bar is very nice, Lots of food and chocolate, the staff is great, what keeps me from giving the hotel the highest rating is that they are cheap and charge. 5 bucks for an hour of wifi. We did not need it, and I bet most guests like us could access Internet thu our own plans BUT I think, if the management needs to hustle five bucks, what else are they doing that I don't know about, so next trip I will stay somewhere else, even though this is a great hotel, but DC has lots of great hotels. Stayed at a Sofitel in NYC and wifi free, didn't use it much at all, but these days i think charging for it displays the wrong attitude, I don't trust a place that charges for Internet, and. I could be wrong, but that's me .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I hope you enjoyed Chef Bitauld's chocolate treats with the Winter Collection package. Wasn't that marshmallow declious!? We have been listening to all of our guest feedback and are pleased to say that very soon in the New Year we will be one of the first luxury hotels in the city to offer complimentary internet to our guests. So please, come back and enjoy!!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    538
    103
    39
    13
See reviews for
438
954
149
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Excellent property in DC..very helpful staff,especially at the front desk..leading excellent service at front desk was Mr.Danny Dabo.
The only thing missing is a bigger size gym and a pool or a well organized spa area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, thank you for your feedback. I have passed along your kind words to Danny. One of the most interesting elements of Sofitel is that each property has a fascinating story behind it. Sofitel Washington D.C. Lafayette Square has gone through numerous changes over the years, including being the home of two different United States presidents. It is a historic ledger of the city, so although that prevents us from building a pool, it certainly adds to the character and tradition of the hotel! The Concierge team would be happy to recommend and arrange for guests the use of a nearby pool as well. Happy 2013!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Arrived on New Years day - hotel was not busy - got upgrade to a room on the top floor. Excellent location at 15th and H St - 10 minute walk from the Mall and 1 block from the subway. Small deficiency in the room (burnt out light bulb) addressed promptly, Have never had a bad stay in a Sofitel but the pricing is premium - had a 3 nights for 2 offer that helped address that.

This isn't just a Sofitel problem, but I absolutely hate paying for wireless internet when I am in a hotel especially when virutally every cafe and coffee shop has it for free - feel I am being gouged.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are happy you could join us on the first day of what promises to be a magnifique 2013! It seems you were able to take advantage of one of the fabulous package options we offer on our website. For your next visit have a look at the seasonal packages. They can include some wonderful treats such as pastries from Chef Bitauld, champagne in your room, and even a late checkout to indulge and sleep in!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Once again stayed at the Sofitel in DC. This hotel is very conveniently located to all tourist attractions. It is clean, bright and decorated beautifully. In about 10 visits we have only had one room on the third floor that was not great....long, skinny, bath at the back and a closet that only held 4 hangers (NO other in the room). That was a late night check-in and the last room in the hotel. All of our other rooms have been remarkably similar and very nice. Concierge is great and the staff super friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank for your loyalty to Sofitel Washington D.C. I am very pleased to know you found your room to be more comfortable on this stay and we were able to meet your preferences. Wishing you a sparkling 2013 and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The welcome from staff was excellent and their attitude throughout our 4 day stay was brilliant. Rooms are very comfortable and the bar area lively. There is a fair gym. Best of all is the location close to the White House, museums and memorials.

Room Tip: Currently there is constiction work on the one side of the hotel. The view is terrible. Avoid roooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Washington D.C. for your visit into the city. I am glad you were able to take advantage of the benefits of our central location, and enjoy our team of ambassadors whose focus is provide luxury, personalized service to all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.