We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a fan of the Accor chain of hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Always a fan of the Accor chain of hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed at this property over the July 4th weekend. I managed to get some good rates as I booked early. I consider Sofitel a luxury hotel, and their rates are always fair. I love the atmosphere and it is comfortable to stay, whether it is DC, NYC or anywhere else. The staff were very attentive, courteous and always had a smile. The concierge was helpful when I needed assistance in finding a restaurant. Room service was quick and the food was great. Just what I needed after a full day of sightseeing and I just didn't want to go back out into the Summer heat. The subway station is very close. Just one block North and then one block East, I think!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
I hope you enjoyed your 4th of July trip in the Nation's Capital! I imagine you were able to walk right down to see the incredible fireworks on the National Mall. I hope you will come back next summer (or sooner!) and it will be our pleasure to have you again.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,613
    577
    110
    44
    15
See reviews for
481
1,016
152
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I love a good boutique hotel and this one is truly top notch. I try to stay here every time I'm in DC. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, even pronouncing my last name correctly! The rooms do vary in size but are always well stocked and appointed. The food is really good, even among all the great restaurants in DC. The locations is perfect for walking to the White House, National Mall, Capitol, etc. This is exactly what a boutique hotel should be, in every way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for providing your feedback. We strive to provide personalized service where each of our guests is an individual, not a room number, and I am glad to know you noticed this. Please do not forget to mention your room preferences to us and we would be happy to note them for your return visits and accommodate as possible. The chef is constantly updating his menus to ensure fresh seasona quality, so come back again soon and indulge in iCi Urban Bistro again!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogaland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed at the hotel with friends. We had a wonderful time. Extremely comfortable beds. Great location just two blocks from The White House. As we had a car the valet parking was a plus. And all the staff was friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the restaurant and bar, good selection of wine and good food. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Washington.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to D.C. It seems you were able to enjoy our infamous SoBeds, many guests say it is like sleeping on a cloud! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Happy Holidays!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited the Sofitel to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary. The fine service started at the door and didn't end until we left, two day later.

We were met by a smiling, very pleasant doorman who treated us warmly and welcomed us for our stay. At the front desk we were treated as valued customers though we only visit once a year. We told the desk person why we were there and he expressed true delight that we chose to stay there to celebrate. We had planned to see a sports event during our stay and wanted to have dinner prior to attending. The concierge asked our dining preferences then directed us to a choice of good restaurants and provided guidance to get to our destination.

That evening we went to the hotel bar for an after event nightcap. The bartender prepared us a special treat to have along with our drinks because he knew we were celebrating our anniversary. When we got to our room there was another surprise, a dessert with anniversary best wishes written in chocolate around the dessert.

Did I mention the proximity to many of our nations capitol's best monuments and local landmarks? Everything you could want is within walking distance of the hotel!

Room Tip: Didn't use swimming pool or spa, don't know whether or not they have those facilities. Best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Sofitel Washington D.C. is honored to be your destination for an annual trip to the nation's capital! We love to be a part of our guests' special celebrations, and are here for your convenience to assist with any arrangements prior to or during your stay. Just ask! We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I just got back from staying one night in DC before meeting up with family outside the city. You expect great service at a hotel like this but yet it's still a surprise when you actually get it. From the minute our cab pulled up someone was there to greet us and immediately take our bags. The woman at the front desk was gracious and quickly got us through the reservation process. Our room was in great shape, my wife loved the shower. As folks have said, location is great. We were able to check out the next day, leave our bags and walk to a ton of your typical tourist sites from Lincoln Memorial to the Capitol (well we walked to Lincoln at least but you probably want to cab from there to the Capitol and only a short cab from there back to hotel). When we got back to the hotel and although we had checked out, service as still great. They had our bags ready to go quickly, radioed to have the valet grab a cab and when I asked the woman at the front desk if I could get one more of those Evian bottles for my wife before leaving she was nice enough to provide gratis without pointing to the closest vending machine. Small things like that can make an impression.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are happy to be your hotel of choice in Washington D.C. I hope you can plan another visit soon, and spend a longer time with us. There is tons to see in the city, and as you know we are close to it all!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.