We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A warm welcome greets your entry into the Sofitel. Followed by a
informative and chirpy check in. The rooms were airy well designed and
fresh. Very nice king bed with crisp linen. Bathroom a tad dated but had
l'Occitane products and fluffy towels. Location is amazing just behind the
White House and walking distance to all major sights. Would i stay again?
Definitely!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
It seems you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us, thank you for choosing Sofitel. One exciting bit of news is that we are launching a new line of bathroom amenities from the French line Lanvin. Guaranteed to make your luxurious stay even more magnifique!!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,518
    545
    105
    40
    14
See reviews for
446
964
149
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for a seminar during Sandy. Probably the best thing was the staff and their interest in our being prepared for, well, whatever. Right down to giving us flashlights. Maybe I've never been in a hotel during dire weather conditions, but I thought this was pretty cool.

Never missed a beat, solid back up generators, I guess.

The only (minor) complaint was that, while the shower head was one of those massive disks, the water pressure was weak. Everything else was what I'd expect from a solid city-center hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing Sofitel, we hoped you enjoyed Washington even in inclimate weather. The safety and comfort of our guests is of the utmost importance to us, so we take all preventative measures possible to ensure this. Fortunately for us, everything held up just fine, and we wish the best to our guests and their families who may have been affected by the storm. For your next visit, we will try to make sure the Sofitel sun is shining bright!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We got a great deal on a room at the Sofitel for a quick Sunday - Tuesday family sightseeing trip at the end of a trip to visit family in Baltimore. After I confirmed my reservation on a discount site I called the hotel directly to confirm that we needed two beds and a crib because we had our 3-year-old and 7-month-old with us.

Unfortunately, the week before the trip my grandmother passed away so I had to fly to Ohio after driving up to Baltimore and then fly back to meet them on Monday morning. So my husband had to check in by himself with two small children and a lot of luggage. The valets and bellhops were extremely helpful in getting him unpacked and ready to check in, but when he got to check in they didn't have us in a double room (but they did have the note for a crib). So they switched him to a double room and when he got settled he called to ask when the crib would be arriving because it was bedtime. The first answer he received was that the crib couldn't be moved and they didn't have one for us, but after a few phone calls (and I'm sure some frustrated complaining) the crib was delivered about an hour later. And so were some delicious warm cookies and milk. This was the way to my husband's heart, so all was forgiven.

The room we were switched to looked directly at a wall about 10 feet away, so we just kept the curtains closed most of the trip. The beds were comfortable, the room was very clean and the bathroom was nice and roomy.

It was the perfect location for a vacation. We walked to the White House, the Washington Monument and a few museums.

As with most nice hotels, the extras were expensive - parking and room service for breakfast one day added the equivalent of an extra night to our bill. Just something to keep in mind when planning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and for choosing us for your family visit to Washington D.C. We were very sorry to hear about your loss and hope that you were able to spend quality time with your family touring the sites and museums. I apologize for the initial confusion with the crib, but happy to know everything was sorted our and your family was comfortably accommodated. For your next trip, with the view as a top priority, visit our website or call the hotel directly to request a luxury double room which will face outwards towards the street!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

High quality hotel close to White House and monuments - all easy walking distance.
Hotel was quiet with excellent rooms. Staff were very helpful and happy to engage. Breakfast was very good and the attached restaurant first class.
Free early morning coffee is a welcome touch
Hotel has a warm welcoming ambiance and is world class

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sofitel is always our hotel of choice when in the nation's capital; we have also stayed at Sofitel in New York, and the quality of both hotels has been consistently good. The DC hotel is at the corner of 15 Street NW and H Street; as such, it is convenient for walking to major landmarks, such as The White House, the Mall, and major museums. This time we had a package which included valet parking and breakfast; for under $300, including all taxes, this seems a good deal for a quality hotel in a capital city. The breakfast choice was extensive and excellently prepared and presented; it was not just a buffet-style breakfast. The room and its king-size bed was spacious and well appointed (see photos). We had a great stay.

Room Tip: See if the special is offered with valet parking and breakfast; it's a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel hotels. I am happy to know you were able to take advantage of one of the numerous special packages that are available on our website. Each season you will find a selection of options that make for an extra special stay. Next time you return, we will have the a la carte breakfast waiting for you with the same delicious croissants and pastries still complimentary with every meal!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is not very big, but has an excellent location (to blocks away from the White House). Rooms are very good, with an excellent bed to rest.
The girl that helps you in guest relations is a sweet heart! She will tel you every thing you will need to know about the city.
The bar is really good and is always full in the weeks after work, nice terrace and good food. Very quiet weekends.
I didn't liked that they charge the wifi!!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger and have a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.