We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern French flair in a convenient DC hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Various
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Modern French flair in a convenient DC hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Excellent conversion of a former office building without any of the lingering sterility that this normally brings. Tasteful downstairs bar and an intimate restaurant bracket the entrance. The rooms vary in configuration, but all are generally satisfactory and at a high standard.

Beware, prices will reflect location (hop, skip and a jump to the White House) and any Beltway blitzkrieg of official visitors.

Room Tip: Inside atrium is boring, but a bit quieter when the trash trucks come in the early DC morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,605
    572
    109
    44
    15
See reviews for
480
1,012
151
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Washington is a great city to visit as a family and for students. My daughter is currently a medical student and she loved the energy level of George Town. She definately wants to go back there.

Room Tip: The suits are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

very near to the White House, very clean and comfortable rooms, the internet is charge every day (expensive). the concierge are the worst never help, the people at the reception are more helpfull. the guest relation manager is excelent we thanks all her helps.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We recently spent four nights at this hotel. I selected it due to it's superb location as I wanted to experience all the monuments, museum etc. but have the feeling of one of those Dupont Circle boutique hotels. Hotel Sofitel did not disappoint. The greeting was unsurpassed as was our "introduction" to our room by Chris. The room was gorgeous and HUGE. Everything was plush and the bathroom was the perfect ergonomic bathroom for two people getting ready to hit the town at the same time. (So unlike most hotel bathrooms) One reviewer griped about the bed. HUH? Apparently she levitates when she sleeps. After my morning run and the door was opened for me to enter the hotel, I was immediately offered water. I do not like Paris and was skeptical about a French hotel but I really wanted the location. I am so glad I picked it! There are 2 starbucks about a block away also. We walked everywhere!! I am going to have a difficult time staying somewhere else when we return to D.C.!!!

Room Tip: We were on the eighth floor and faced another building, but I'm not there to sit and gaze out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Really good location and the hotel itself was a very good standard. The bedroom was very spacious and the bathroom was lovely. Very comfortable bed. Very quiet/well soundproofed. Very clean and nice decor. The only downsides were that the room's lighting was very 'atmospheric' but too dark to actually see yourself clearly in the mirror, and that there weere no tea/coffee making facilities in the room (though the hotel did provide free tea/coffee in the bar every morning. It was expensive, but no more than other hotels of its standard in the city, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to Washington D.C. I am thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, and do not hesitate to request a coffee maker or tea kettle for your room. As you mentioned, we offer complimentary coffee and tea in Le Bar in the morning, but we would be happy to place those items in your room for you as well.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My room wasn't the largest, but it was comfortable and had great amenities. The location is fantastic for morning walks down the mall and to the White House. The service was impeccable and the hotel decor was clean and sophisticated. We went to the bar for a cocktail, they were pricey like most hotel bars, but the weather was mild that day and we were able to sit outside. I would definitely stay there on my next trip to D.C.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Amex, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.