We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Okay, so the Sofitel was more expensive (the parking too--$44/night!) than the Intercontinental in NYC, but wow, the hotel room is immaculate and FANCY! The personnel at the front desk are so friendly, the young concierge seems a little snooty, though. in-room wifi is not free, but the business center is and there is a Starbuck's just across the street with free wifi--the free morning coffee here is amazing (according to my husband)--I can't seem to get out of the oh-so-comfy bed to try the morning tea! There is a fitness center, but we've been walking so much around the Capitol and museums that we haven't had time to try it out...maybe next time...maybe not!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,647
    589
    115
    44
    15
See reviews for
492
1,034
153
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

In June, I stayed at the Sofitel for a multi-day Board meeting. My stay lasted three nights.

Location: Excellent - right on the corner of 15th and H Streets NW. The McPherson Square Metro stop is right around the corner, and cabs are abundant. In addition, a walk to Metro Center is only 5-10 minutes (depending upon your pace) where there's shopping and another metro stop.

Service: Excellent. As expected, bell staff were at the main door available to help with cabs and luggage. The concierge desk is directly inside the front doors, which is very handy. The staff speak (at minimum) both English and French, plus I heard staff speaking Spanish to guests. Front desk staff, servers, housekeeping. . .everyone was well-trained and attentive.

Ambiance of the lobby, bar, & restaurant: Excellent. The hotel is a classic and the Sofitel chain has kept it updated. The bar has many comfortable seats and done in dark browns and reds. The restaurant is bright, cheerful and sophisticated.

Patio Bar: The best in the district. It sits on the southwest corner of the block so there's no afternoon sun to blind you. They have large umbrellas set up, high tables & stools, as well as cushioned rattan sofas and chairs. You can eat outside, have a drink - it's a wonderful setting.

Rooms: Immaculate, well-appointed, comfortable, and quiet. Exactly what you need in a sleeping room.

Overall, this is my favorite hotel to stay in when in DC. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Request a corner room - these rooms have windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

As normal with Sofitel, the room was outstanding with great service throughout the hotel. Perfect location for sightseeing, and many good restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast was very good, as was the lounge. I didn't eat dinner there, but my business colleagues from France that were traveling with me said the food was very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We recently stayed at the Sofitel in Washington and can not speak highly enough of it. The location was super, we were able to walk to all the main ponts of interest. the rooms were clean and very comfortable. The staff from check in to leaving could not do enough to assist us in our stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Our recent two-night stay at the Sofitel-Lafayette Square was outstanding. As befits a French-owned flagship hotel close to the White House (close to McPherson Sq. Metro station), the hotel is in beautiful physical shape, attractively designed and classy, without being stuffy. The hotel staff provided friendly, prompt and professional service. (One of the bellhops even offered to shine my shoes when he explained that the hotel did not have a shoe shine stand.) Our superior king room was comfortably sized, with plush bedding, large flat-screen TV and a reasonable amount of work space. The bathroom's marble finishes added another touch of class, and we liked having both a shower stall and a bathtub. The superb French press coffee, fabulous French-style omelettes, and real French bread and croissants served with our room service breakfast each day (delivered hot and on time, I might add) gave us a touch of Paris as well. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and hope to return - soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I visited Washington in May with a group from school - we stayed in Arlington - then met my dad and moved to a hotel in the downtown core. The Sofitel was amazing. The room was utterly spotless. The bathroom was huge. The decor was lovely. We had a sitting area that was great in the evening and the beds were very comfortable. The tv swiveled so you could watch from anywhere in the room - I thought this was actually a great idea and I hadn't seen it before.

My only complaints with this hotel were:

1) You had to pay for internet - I've stayed at far cheaper hotels that included internet in the rate.
2) If you even opened the fridge, the room would be charged. This meant we couldn't store leftovers in the room.

The location of this hotel was utterly perfect. We walked everywhere. We only took the subway once and that was to go to Adams Morgan, which was still very close.

I would highly recommend the Sofitel for its convenient location and the total comfort of the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a great hotel that is close to many of the great tourist destinations. The hotel feels small. The receptionist always remembers you. A colleague of mine asked for a coffee maker and full sized ironing board and each time hie checks in these items are in his room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.