We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Washington DC to your Saves list
Sofitel Washington DC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Yukon, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

This was a beautiful hotel. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was very nice and big. No street noise. Great location.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Internet service was a little pricey
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,603
    572
    109
    44
    15
See reviews for
479
1,012
151
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

The Sofitel was off to a great start as my niece and I arrived at 10 am and expected to check our bags. We were of course delighted when we were promptly checked in and shown to our room.

It was a gorgeous room and quite roomy. The view was of an alley- but what can you do. The location was amazing as we walked or took the metro everywhere. A quick walk to the metro.

The bathroom was also quite spacious and delightful.

A word about the metro stop right by the hotel.... The park just outside the metro feeds the homeless every night and therefore there are lot of homeless milling about. My neice and I were quite nervous about coming home late one night.But there was no problem-we walked fast!

Also- I noticed one night there was no top sheet between the duvet and the bed- I called housekeeping and had that corrected.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

The Sofitel is a great place to stay in DC. The location is very close to all of the sights and is around the corner from the Metro to help you get wherever else in DC. The service was very good at the hotel and the room itself was perfect. A very comfortable bed and the room was a good size for a couple of people.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

My wife and i just spent columbus weekehd at the sofitel and had a great time. The room we stayed in was not large but was plenty big enough for the two of us. The bathroom had a seperate shower and tub and was very clean. the only bad part was that the shower was glass enclosed and the shower door was heavy and scraped on the bottom when openning and closing. the rug was old and had a few stains on it but was clean. the best part of the stay was the hotel staff. we cannot say enough about them. they were promt courtious and always very pleasant. they would tell you to enjoy your day when you left in the morning welcome you back with a smile and a greeting when you returned, these people made you feel welcome.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

The Sofitel is in a good location, very close to the Mall and a Metro stop. Our room was modern and very clean and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever stayed in at a hotel.

However, at this type of higher end hotel, the difference is in the details and that is why I didn't give this hotel a score of 5. We were supposed to be on a non-smoking floor. There were ashtrays everywhere (including in our room). Worse than that was the very thick perfume they use to cover up the smell of cigarettes. We gagged every time we stepped off the elevator on our floor. There were no telephone books in the room and when I called the concierge desk to request a telephone number I was put on hold for over 5 minutes (after which I gave up and hung up). There was no coffee maker in the room (while there was free coffee in the morning in the bar, we like to have a cup first thing before we go outside).

Overall, we thought the hotel was good but not amazing and we were glad we went through Priceline and did not pay full rack rate.

  • Liked — Room and bathroom were spacious, modern and clean
  • Disliked — Smell in the hallways
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

My husband and I had a wonderful 2 nights at this hotel. We booked a suite at the last minute and loved everything except there was no view. Had we booked earlier, we would have expected a good view, but we only decided to go a few days before the reservation.
We liked the stylish decor (there's a real orchid in the bathroom) and loved the featherbed with the duvet. I personally am skeptical of the cleanliness of hotel comforters, so I was pleased to see a duvet cover that is laundered after each stay.
The bathroom was gorgeous, although there was only one robe. The toiletries had a nice scent and there was even a loofa for the tub.
The room was very quiet even though we were close to the elevators. We never heard another guest. There was a nice foyer before walking into the sitting room. This room had a desk with chair with plenty of space. There is a charge for internet service. The sitting room also had a nice couch and chair where we could relax and enjoy our breakfast. The bedroom was average size and comfortable, with reading lamps on each side of the bed, a safe and iron in the closet, and effective blackout curtains.
The pay per view was broken on our tv, but maintenance was at our door within 20 minutes to fix it and we received 2 calls later on to make sure it was working alright.
The most amazing part of the stay was room service. The first night, we were too full from our delicious dinner at Ceiba (fabulous Latin American food) to have dessert, so we ordered profiteroles and coffee later from room service. It arrived in about 15 minutes and was very good. For breakfast both mornings, we ordered room service. It arrived in about 20-25 minutes. The food was fresh and delicious (brioche french toast, eggs benedict, freshly squeezed orange juice, good strong coffee), and the first morning we had complimentary small glasses of banana honey smoothie. Both mornings they included complimentary whole fruit that we snacked on later in the day.
The front desk was busy but pretty helpful. We did not use the concierge. The bellmen were extremely nice and helpful.
We would definitely stay again - location was great. We walked to the Mall and all the museums. The immediate area has little to no shopping, but there are a few restaurants. This is a business area, so Starbucks closed at 6 pm, which was disappointing to us. We did not visit the bar or the restaurant. The weekends are much more inexpensive. Expect to pay at least $100 more per night during the week.

  • Liked — food and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — no view from room 619
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

My family and I stayed at the Sofitel for 4 nights. We booked in January for a September stay, but this obviously did not get us a priority room with a view, just the brick walls of an opposite facing building.
Upon arrival the bellmen were very attentitive. Our bags were brought up to our rooms and we were given instructions on how to use the rooms amenities (although it seemed more like a ploy to get a tip to me).
The foyer and facade of the hotel were beautiful....but that's where it ends.
My room was worn. The carpet had stains everywhere (as did the carpet in the second room that was booked). The furniture was beat up, the air conditioner was broke, and the shower had.....BLACK MILDEW! I did not take my shoes off the entire time in my room, nor did I touch anything in the shower.
Housekeeping was just ok....and by this, I mean, while you could tell they came to your room because the bed was made, they did little else. They left 1 bottle of water at the bedside every night (but both rooms had 2 occupants....and after a long day of walking, I think everyone would appreciate a bottle of water) . We did not utilize room service or our minibar due to the high prices .
We asked for a wake up call that never came our first night.
There is hardly any space to unpack but for a tiny closet with 5 hangers and 2 tiny shelves, so plan on living out of your suitcase.
Now, the pluses..location, location, location. 1 block away from the subway, and 2 blocks from Old Ebbitt Grill, which we ate at 3 times in 4 days, and was truly one of the highlights of our trip...do not miss!
The hotel bar was nice, and we sat outside and had very attentive service and complimentary snacks.
We paid $380 for the first night, $320 the second night and $210 the last 2 nights, and, all in all, this place is not worth the money. While it is a short walk to all the attractions, we took the subway 75% of our stay, so no matter where you stay, you can always take the subway.
The restaurant rarely had anyone dining any of the 4 days we stayed, so we figured this was a sign.
Save your money and stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDC, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, October 8, 2007
It is our mission to try and make every stay for each guest a special experience. We are aware of the issues with carpeting in some of the rooms. We are currently in the process of replacing carpet in ALL of our rooms and anticipate that we should be finished by the end of Jan 08. In addition the mold in the shower area was a recent issue brought to our attention which has now been resolved. We encourage all of our guests to let us know if their room does not meet their satisfaction. We look at each guest as a member of our family and it is very important to us that each person leaves with a warm feeling of hospitality.
Merci - Denis Dupart General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.