We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Far From Traditional Dim Sum” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ping Pong Dim Sum

Ping Pong Dim Sum
1 Dupont Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
(202) 293 1268
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ping Pong Dim Sum is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #779 of 2,498 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Dim Sum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: New Hampshire Avenue & O Street NW
Transit: Red Line - Dupont Circle - Dupont Circle South Exit
Phila, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Far From Traditional Dim Sum”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you have ever had authentic and love dim sum, this would not be a good choice. This would only be appropriate if you are looking for a fun place to have a drink with friends. Their decor is fun and trendy. We ordered 7-8 varieties to try, but bottom line all of their steamed dumplings were encased in a thick, gummy dumpling skin, sooo thick you can barely taste the filling. Also they are priced out of the ball park of traditional dim sum, you are paying for the trendy decor and atmosphere. I'm sad to say this was the most disappointing dining experience we've ever had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    34
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a great and different chinese restaurant. Even though I couldn't understand the menu, I decided to try the Prix Fixe Menu and it was good. A little bit rare for me, but it was a good experience. Nice atmosphere and good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“I love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I love Ping Pong Dim Sum. This had to be the third or fourth time this summer we have eaten here. The service is always great although eating inside of the restaurant (rather than on the sidewalk area) is a bit noisy on almost all nights until after 8 PM. We had Chicken and Black Pepper Spring Rolls (A+), Chili Pork Tenderloin (A++++), Honeyed Chicken Rice Pot (another A+++ item) and one or two other things that I can't remember. This is a restaurant where you order a lot of small dishes and keep ordering and eating until you are finished. I don't think you can go wrong here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Dim Sum Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Right in the middle of Washington DC, on DuPont Circle is Ping Pong Dim Sum. Do not even try to park near here! Park elsewhere and come by metro.
I have only read about Chinese tea houses - historic items I understand - but that tradition is alive and well here. With the tea comes many different snacks. You order these of course, and since our party was all vegetarian, we declared that up front. Our waitress said, "We will take care of your dietary preferences, gentlemen" and that she did.
The dishes kept coming and they all tasted wonderful on that cold evening. They were a combination of baked, steamed and fried. All were excellent!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“So much potential not enough effort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This place Has all the right layout and contemporary design the food and drinks are great but the service sucks … our server looked like she didn't want to be there and the host just the same. ATTENTION management please train your staff. Lots of potential but not enough effort here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ping Pong Dim Sum also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Ping Pong Dim Sum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ping Pong Dim Sum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.