We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Baron Hotel to your Saves list
The Baron Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Lake Forest, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“you get what you pay for”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The good is the neighborhood,short walk to metro and many fine restaurants and bistros.The bad is the aging hotel,with unresponsive and an unhelpful staff.On my 4 nite stay 10/9-10/13.I had a positive interaction on only one shift.The elevator is limited to 2 people,one must open a sliding door than another gate to enter it takes 2 hands and a knee for entry.While this is ongoing the front desk clerk sits 10 feet away and offers no assistance.As for the continental breakfast,donuts still in the bakery box,cold pastries(no microwave to heat)and orange juice chilled with ice cubes.All this served in an area best described as dungeonesque.When housekeeping realized I was a solo traveler the towel count was reduced!So much for a nice dry towel after a monument walk.
I have traveled extensively in the past 16 years and this is the first time I felt compelled to write a review.......Beware of the Baron!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    60
    59
    26
    30
See reviews for
22
51
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed here for 4 nights was handy to the white house etc, clean but only problem myself and husband had a really bad rash all over, after we left the hotel this disappeared, i have come to the conclussion it was whatever they washed the bedclothes in maybe to much starch?, we stayed on the 5th floor facing the front. it was a bit noisy from traffic and they have a bar in the basement and only hear the people leaving at the end of the night , but doesn't last long, all in all ok hotel for the price

Room Tip: hugh floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaimiro
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed three nights in the hotel. The room was a bit small and the bathroom was a bit dated. It was clean and the large windows made it nice bright. At arrival we checked in and tried to ask some questions, but we felt the staff was not overly helpful with information. The area where we had breakfast was decorated nicely and created a nice atmosphere. The variety of food was excellent. Wifi worked well. And the hotel is only one block away from the metro, about 5 minutes walk.
Some nice restaurants are just around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Baron is a small but comfortable hotel in the NW quarter of Washington DC in a great location just a 5 minute walk from the Big Bus stop (no. 35) at the corner of P Street and Rock Creek Parkway and a 5 minute walk from the metro at Dupont Circle (via Q Street).

I was checked in by a helpful receptionist and allocated a room on the third floor at the front of the hotel and with a view of the church opposite.

The room was functional, with a comfortable double bed, desk, flat screen TV and importantly, air con, as the temperature reached 89 during my stay. The bathroom was equipped with a walk in shower, hairdryer and a good selection of quality toiletries and like the bedroom itself was very clean.

The hotel also provides a basic breakfast at a minimal cost, which is served downstairs in the bar. The hotel also boasts a Tavern, perfect for that relaxing drink or two after a day’s sightseeing.

The hotel seemed a little dated but was very comfortable, clean and ticked all the boxes for me and I would wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this budget priced hotel. It is within easy walking distance of DuPont circle metro and is close to many restaurants. The rooms are not large and we had a double bed, but all was clean and comfortable. We ate the breakfast there which is quite basic but well priced. We walked from here into Washington each day. The staff were mainly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was pleasant. The hotel.is located near a subway station but we often walked into central Washington DC, which took about 30 minutes. The room was clean and it was a fairly quiet location. The wifi didn't seem to work too well in our room, but did I other parts of the hotel. Having said this, hotel staff acted promptly to investigate our problems connecting and were apologetic that they couldn't rectify the problem.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This place is definitley for young people who are on a budget not a couple on a weekend away. If you're looking for nostalgia this may be for you. The old elevator alone would make you happy. The neighborhood was nice but the room was a closet!! It was one step from the toilet to the bed. There was no comforter although the top blanket was thick, I thanked God there was another thick blanket in the closet or armoire.
And the last thing I will say is that the noise from the street was as loud as the window unit air conditioner. And waking up with the sun due to the lack of curtains is no fun. Just like I told my sweety, "Blinds are not curtains!"

He lost his right to choose the hotel...LOL!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.