We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old building with no Curtains!!! ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Baron Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Baron Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old building with no Curtains!!! ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This place is definitley for young people who are on a budget not a couple on a weekend away. If you're looking for nostalgia this may be for you. The old elevator alone would make you happy. The neighborhood was nice but the room was a closet!! It was one step from the toilet to the bed. There was no comforter although the top blanket was thick, I thanked God there was another thick blanket in the closet or armoire.
And the last thing I will say is that the noise from the street was as loud as the window unit air conditioner. And waking up with the sun due to the lack of curtains is no fun. Just like I told my sweety, "Blinds are not curtains!"

He lost his right to choose the hotel...LOL!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    57
    54
    26
    29
See reviews for
22
45
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location in a safe neighborhood (Probably because of it's location near some embassies) with the nearest underground subway at about 10m walk and all the downtown at a 10m ride.

Excellent value for money - the room was spacious, clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location BUT ragged and very rough. Lobby looks like some college dorm room ... No front desk to speak of and a scary old cage type elevator. Room was bare bones to say the least. If you are trying to save money but looking for a good neighborhood it's a good choice. The owners could spruce up the lobby and that would help a lot. Overall looks like the hotel that time forgot and the hotel that forgot to care .

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Its a very basic and old styled hotels.It is clean and well maintained. The room was small but the bathroom was big and well supplied with toiletries and most importantly clean. Since i was travelling with my 1.5 yr old baby i had requested for a bath tub, refrigerator and microwave oven in my room but refrigerator and microwave oven was not available. So we had to store our food and milk in the common refrigerator. Every time we wanted milk or something we had to ask the manager to open the common hotel refrigerator for us. The microwave was in a dingy room without proper space and stopped functioning on one of the days. So we had to request them to let us use their microwave oven in their kitchen. Another downside is the lift which is old styled and designed for body builders. its very hard and tough to open and closes forcefully so I refrained from using elevator when alone with the baby. The manager himself was not very friendly although the staff was. We inquired about the menu of the breakfast and if anything in it would be vegetarian so he discouraged us from having breakfast by saying that cereals and bread also might have egg in it. Upon requesting for a vegetarian bf he simply asked us to go buy fruits from nearby grocery.I found him discourteous. Next morning we chanced upon the breakfast and found it quite suitable for vegetarians. We could have bread and cereals plus the juice. This hotel may be a good option for couples and friends but definitely not for family. The biggest plus being its location. Although it was value for money but the downsides were too many. I don't think i will consider this hotel for my next stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/c unit noise and less weekend show noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.c.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Well my family trip to Washington was nice, the hotel very near to the downtown area, comfort and nice place to stay. Self service breakfast was good, just what we needed. We had no issues at all, it is a great place to stay and on my next trip to DC I will surely be there again or recommend it

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

its pretty old but clean and a excellent location.our bathroom was nice and clean and pretty big. The downsides were that the aircon was very loud so you couldn't really have it on over night, the bed moved every time you sat on it as it was on wheels and there was no butter with the continental breakfast for the whole of the 4 nights we stayed there. we asked one of the breakfast staff the first day and she said they'd ran out. i then asked the manager the next day who seemed totally unaware there'd been none and who said he'd sort it but didn't. They also have no real secure storage its just leaving it in front of the reception desk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I thought that this was a nice hotel in a good location. Close to Dupont circle and the Metro. They have a breakfast for $5 which is about what it is worth. If you want ice, you have to go to the bar. In the morning, the desk guy will give it to you. The staff was nice. The room was good, but not excellent. The Wifi is a little iffy in the room we had. However, if you go out into the hall it works better. it has an old elevator with a gate which is quaint, but not so practical. Good hotel for more experienced and flexible travelers. I would definately consider this hotel again. The price was reasonable, the staff nice, the room acceptable (even quaint) and the location great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.