We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compromise for location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Baron Hotel to your Saves list
The Baron Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Compromise for location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel has access to public transport, Dupont Circle subway is within walking distance of 10 minutes. It has small but clean rooms and provides breakfast facility. Resonably priced. Due to the Bar on the premises, the loud music blaring can be heard in the rooms till late night and is therefore very disturbing. I was there over a weekend and that could be the reason for the loud music. Tourists should check this out.There is no lift so for international tourists like me with luggage, carrying the luggage upstairs is a problem and the hotel does not provide a helping hand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    82
    73
    36
    38
See reviews for
35
64
37
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is an old hotel with small rooms, and of course, their famous Bier Baron is on the first floor, where I had a terrific meal and American ale. I was pleasantly surprised by the room, in that it was so well appointed for being so small. It was comfortable and sparking clean! I absolutely loved being there, and out of all the hotels I've stayed in in D.C., this is the one I most want to go back to. The hotel is located in Dupont Circle and is within walking distance of much that anyone would want to see. I got a terrific price for this Hotel on line - I had just left another large, modern hotel in Arlington (attended a conference) which stank on ice. For three times the cost, it was a gross experience. The Baron made up for everything and I can't say enough nice things about it. Mind you, if you're not into old-timey, quaint places and prefer modern high-rises, this is not the place for you. But, anyone who rates this hotel as "bad" is either oblivious to the Baron's charm, or is just a stinker by nature!

Room Tip: When there's a show or live music, it's possible some of the noise might filter up to the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were checked into this hotel with a group with grave foreboding. We were told that during this period in late October, bedrooms were hard to find and expensive.

The good news. It is in a good location in the Dupont Circle area but a little away from the capital's centre and main tourist spots. The housekeeper and maids keep very clean and well ordered bedrooms.

The bad news is it is a terrible hotel. You approach it via a good number of external steps, through difficult push doors to be faced by a considerable number more internal steps before reaching a long narrow dimly lit corridor, with damaged finishes, at the end of which is one person sitting (hiding) behind the desk. There is no one helping you with baggage. There were two people standing on the steps who were it seemed bouncers for the club and bar which you get to through doors on either side of the the hotel corridor. They were too busy smoking to take any notice of us struggling with our bags. The man at reception who spoke poor English was completely overwhelmed by our group arrival and had no initiative or training to deal with the problem, handing out a typed page for us to sign away our rights regarding damage etc. After an eternity we got into the one lift which is very, very small and capable of taking only 2 people and luggage at a squeeze once you have managed to open the door and sprung metal gate (very old). If the lift does not come, it means someone has left the metal gate slightly ajar. The stairs are very narrow timber staircases.

The rooms are small and spartan with bathroom to match with nowhere to put any toiletries, etc. A bar of soap was provided but nothing else. The shower was small (no bath) and meant you banged your elbows on the wall when trying to shampoo your hair.

The wardrobe was very narrow and the wall-banger air-conditioning poor and very noisy.

Some on the front of the hotel benefited from the noise from the club/bar during the night and found it hard to sleep. "sounded as if the people were in our room." One couple booked out immediately, whilst we booked out early next day for another hotel as soon as we could. We did not try the breakfast, having nipped round the corner to Starbucks. ps breakfast is extra.

It survives due to its location and was expensive for what it was.

Avoid if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid hotel if you can but if not possible avoid front and 1st floor to avoid noise from club goers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It's a perfect place to stay for few nights, if the purpose of your trip is not to stay in a hotel room. I was in DC on a business trip, and I needed something cheap but close to everything I needed. The Baron Hotel ended up being a perfect solution, within walking distance from many areas of interest.
The staff was helpful and breakfast was ok (basic, but enough for me). The pub downstairs is pretty cool, as it serves good food and tons of beers. True, they offer live music and rooms aren't really soundproof; but I stayed there for three nights, and they had live music only once -moreover, they stopped at 11.30, perfectly reasonable time, in my opinion.
Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I selected this hotel because it was cheap, and I stayed for just one night (business trip). From the previous reviews, I was expecting to go in a dump. Instead, it worked just fine for me. The rooms are small, but it is not a problem for me, and you have everything you need. Of course, if you want a swimming pool and a fitness room, then look for other more expensive places ... The people at the front desk were kind, and they even let me check in earlier without charging extra money. There is a really nice bar downstairs, with a great selection of beers. The area around the hotel looked great, full of restaurants and other meeting places.

Room Tip: Perhaps, avoid the rooms on the second floor, since you can hear some noise when there is a concert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was actually our second stay in this place. We liked it the first time so we came back. The rooms are quite small but clean and the area is quiet and close to everything. There's a cool bar downstairs. So if u're really looking just to put your head down somewhere after the whole day of sightseeing this is a good choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SportsFan2007
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

As other reviewers have said this hotel is definitely not high end, however it is in a great location, its clean, in safe area, and a lot cheaper then any other decent hotels nearby. The room was very basic, but of average size and was clean. Initially I was worried about the wifi in the room as others here had complained but I had zero problems and it worked great the full time i was there which was a relief. Basically if you need a place to sleep and want to save some money this place should do, but if you want a upscale hotel or are trying to impress a girlfriend (or anyone for that matter) I would look somewhere else.

Two other minor things of note:
- the bar/restaurant in the basement of the hotel is great. Amazing selection of beers and a great happy hour special for $10 of a beer and damn good burger!
-The elevator as others have mentioned is VERY old, but it works and I only used it when I was carrying my bags up at check in. Otherwise I just took the stairs as its not a huge hotel so most guest probably are only up one or two flights of stairs.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#111 of 135 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#120 of 135 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington, DC - Connec...
#108 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#60 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#19 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.