We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Baron Hotel to your Saves list
The Baron Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nothing special, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went for a short weekend break- this was a pretty cheap hotel, so we decided to stay here.

Bar in the basement was the best thing about it!

Staff were not great, rooms although clean were nothing special, but the location is good.

Could do with a facelift, but not awful.

Basement bar is good fun!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    84
    74
    37
    39
See reviews for
35
66
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Baron is a small, friendly hotel in an ideal location, just two blocks from Dupont Circle, the Metro Red Line, as well as Rock Creek Park. Comfortable rooms with flat screen tv, very good air conditioning (crucial in DC's summer) and a helpful staff. Great shower in the bathroom, and a lively restaurant/bar.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

cute, safe neighborhood--great for the female solo traveler. quaint/creaky/cool/funky---rooms configured strangely, but that's what i'd expect. cool bar with extensive beer list in basement. reasonably priced for dupont circle, and the weird old elevator worked just fine! accomodating, bright front-desk people... breakfast: meh. skip it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

stayed overnight for some Washington sight seeing. Room clean and comfy. Staff friendly. great location and price. Lots of coffee shops nearby and subway not far.Free coffee and tea available in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Excellent location for public transport DuPont Circle is less 5min walk away.Great beer selection 600+.Great value for money.Lovely little coffee shop on the corner and great Irish bar and restaurant on the next.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

May 17, rock band in bar blasted so loudly that the room walls were vibrating. No relief from management, and next day no follow-up on our complaint, other than offering another smaller room one floor higher. Would have moved to another hotel, but no vacancies on a graduation weekend. This hotel should be shunned.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

April 10, 2013, I made a "reservation" at The Baron for May 14 to May 18. Confirmation number on the email I received. But today, May 10, I receive an email that they cannot confirm my reservation. Of course, I called immediately, having made all sorts of plans for visiting DC. Young lady at the desk said they didn't have a reservation for me, that I was supposed to receive an email and they had no record of sending an email. She said she would check the sister hotels, put me on hold, never came back! I called back. Sister hotels full, so sorry. She told me to "HAVE A NICE DAY". I ended up booking a Marriott hotel in Falls Church, VA. From now on, I will stick with a company I can trust. Have a nice day indeed!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#113 of 136 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#119 of 136 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington, DC - Connec...
#109 of 136 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#106 of 136 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#112 of 136 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.