We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location/close to dupont circle metro...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Baron Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Baron Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Lake Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“great location/close to dupont circle metro...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

cute, safe neighborhood--great for the female solo traveler. quaint/creaky/cool/funky---rooms configured strangely, but that's what i'd expect. cool bar with extensive beer list in basement. reasonably priced for dupont circle, and the weird old elevator worked just fine! accomodating, bright front-desk people... breakfast: meh. skip it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    55
    54
    25
    29
See reviews for
22
43
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

stayed overnight for some Washington sight seeing. Room clean and comfy. Staff friendly. great location and price. Lots of coffee shops nearby and subway not far.Free coffee and tea available in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location for public transport DuPont Circle is less 5min walk away.Great beer selection 600+.Great value for money.Lovely little coffee shop on the corner and great Irish bar and restaurant on the next.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

May 17, rock band in bar blasted so loudly that the room walls were vibrating. No relief from management, and next day no follow-up on our complaint, other than offering another smaller room one floor higher. Would have moved to another hotel, but no vacancies on a graduation weekend. This hotel should be shunned.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

April 10, 2013, I made a "reservation" at The Baron for May 14 to May 18. Confirmation number on the email I received. But today, May 10, I receive an email that they cannot confirm my reservation. Of course, I called immediately, having made all sorts of plans for visiting DC. Young lady at the desk said they didn't have a reservation for me, that I was supposed to receive an email and they had no record of sending an email. She said she would check the sister hotels, put me on hold, never came back! I called back. Sister hotels full, so sorry. She told me to "HAVE A NICE DAY". I ended up booking a Marriott hotel in Falls Church, VA. From now on, I will stick with a company I can trust. Have a nice day indeed!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have stayed in better Motels. Four stories high and elevator not working, rooms are very small and offer no extras, no coffee maker, no refrigerator, no microwave, nothing more than an
hair dryer. If you want coffee have to walk downstairs. They have a small breakfast in the morning with coffee, two types of cereal and danish then charge you five dollars to eat there. Way overpriced for what they give. Would never stay there again.

Room Tip: There is no room service or pool. Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you are looking for a cheap downtown location, The Baron hotel is the place for you. You shouldn't care too much about music or live bands though, as there is a bar in the same building! Our room was clean and the beds comfortable. Don't take the breakfast because it is not worth its 5$ .. there are a lot of nice places around the corner where you can get much better breakfast or brunch!

Room Tip: Don't stay there if you are sensitive to noises or choose a room higher than the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.