We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and usefoul hotel / bnb in dupont circle” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Baron Hotel to your Saves list
The Baron Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice and usefoul hotel / bnb in dupont circle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights because of research reasons and I found this hotel very nice and usefoul to be in the center of DC. Dupont Circle is a nice place and the hotel is just 5 minutes walking from it. In addiction is just 10 minutes walking from Georgetown, a folkorist place that i recommend to see.

The rooms are really small, that's the only real problem. But they are clean and internet connection is good, so nothing to say. The good thing is the pub included in the hotel where you can relax at the end of a busy day.

In conclusion: cheap, good position, good internet connection, clean and pub in it. Bad things: the room was really small, but ofr this price I have nothing to complain.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    82
    73
    36
    38
See reviews for
35
64
37
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last December. I chose this hotel because it was cheap, and near the metro. The rooms are small, clean and with the basics. No luxury, no perks, and no elevator. In the halls I saw young adults or students. It has the feeling of a hostel more than a hotel. I would stay there again understanding that it’s a hotel to just sleep and leave not to hang out. Overall it fulfilled its purpose.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This hotel is in a great neighborhood, only two blocks from the Metro. I stayed here for a week on business. There was no working elevator and the free breakfast consisted of oj and a box of donuts. However, the room was clean and comfortable. If you don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room and being on the move then this hotel is great. The staff was friendly and accommodated all of my needs. However the internet connection was not consistent. I think it definitely is worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The room was fine. Kind of small, kind of shabby, no lamp, but hey you get what you pay for. The real problem was the bogus $150 'smoked in your room' charge that I found on my credit card later on. Totally unsatisfactory response from the hotel, currently contesting through Mastercard and Better Business Bureau... watch your step.

Room Tip: Avoid the front side of the hotel: you can hear people from the tavern downstairs hackin butts in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights as it was one of the cheaper places available in Dupont Circle although still on the pricey side, I think approx $150 per night. The room and bed were quite small for what we paid however very clean & appeared to have been recently renovated. Has the basic amenities however didn't look like it had been completed. Broken telephone, no lamp on bedside table etc.

Pub downstairs served yummy meals and we were on the 4th floor & didn't hear a thing!

Neighborhood was lovely & in perfect location. Close to metro lines & lots of restaurants & shops.

If it was a little cheaper I would certainly stay again.

All the female staff were wonderful but came across one male staff member who was quite rude & unhelpful.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Although I'm more of a 4-5 star hotel snatched on Hotwire kind of person, I was recently in DC and needed a place at the last minute. I picked The Baron because it was reasonably priced and sounded kind of interesting with the tavern down stairs (and interesting even though I'm not a beer drinker). The staff was WONDERFUL and helped me pick a room that faced the street with a lovely view. The room was neat and super clean with many new items and it was really just a lovely place to be. Staff was knowledgeable regarding local food, transportation, plotting metro, etc. etc.
Fair thee well Embassy Row hotels - I am never staying anywhere else in DC. Loved.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My room was about 8' x 10'. Basically, all that fit in the room was a double bed. I didn't book this hotel, but was bumped to it from one of their partner hotels. That's not what you want when you arrive at 10:30 PM.

The doors on the rooms don't lock automatically. So be sure you lock it when you're in your room, or when you go out.

The location was nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#111 of 135 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#120 of 135 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington, DC - Connec...
#108 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#57 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#19 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.