We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A man who deserves this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial

Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial
1964 Independence Ave, SW, The National Mall, Washington DC, DC 20024 (National Mall)
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial like an insider
Top Rated
$49*
and up
Washington DC Express Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #32 of 472 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A man who deserves this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

One of the many places where you will see this man honored. Long walls with his powerful words and large statue displaying his likeness. Make sure to spend some time here.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,162
    467
    132
    31
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Nice memorial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was my first occasion to visit this memorial in Washington DC. It's in a great location with street-side parking and a lovely gift shop. I appreciated the quotes etched on the stones - very thought provoking, and makes you recall why Dr. King was so important.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

So worth the visit. Makes you appreciate everything he did for America as a whole without seeing black or white. Love that his quotes are included.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Inspiring - read the quotes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I wasn't impressed in viewing pictures of the memorial, but upon visiting and seeing the symbolism of the memorial (passing through two monoliths representing oppression, which he has put behind him), I changed my mind. I was familiar with many of his quotes, but it was very inspiring to read all the quotes here and remember the impact he had on changing civil rights in the United States

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Impressive and thought provoking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I'm so glad I went to view this memorial! The design is unique and I loved that they included so many excerpts from his speeches, many that is never heard. A beautiful tribute to an amazing man.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.