We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to feel unwelcomed come here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Station 4

Station 4
1101 4th St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
(202) 488-0987
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Station 4 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #890 of 2,494 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: M street
Transit: two steps from Waterfront Metro Station /Green Line
Description: A New American bistro-style restaurant
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you want to feel unwelcomed come here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My friends and I were staying in a nearby hotel and wanted a nearby bar to enjoy. We were told by the concierge that station 4 was the closest. Walking into the bar it was a very nice atmosphere but we received dirty looks from the bartenders when we arrived around 12:30am. The barback was extremely friendly but the bartenders made sure we knew they were closing soon. Last call was at 1:30am which felt a little early for us but after receiving dirty looks from the bartenders (especially the female bartender) we realized they wanted us to leave. My only regret is that I left a great tip. After leaving a 30% tip they told us we had two minutes to get out as soon as the clock struck 2:00. Overall it was a very uncomfortable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    52
    23
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre food. Very crowded & no personal space.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you like your personal space, Station 4 is not for your. This seems to be the only nice place to eat before a show at Arena Stage, so it's very crowded. We went on a Wednesday, so the restaurant is probably crowded every night there is a show (I can't even imagine what it's like on the weekend!). My friend and I had wanted to sit at the bar, but the small area was already PACKED. The tables in the dining room were as small as coffee tables and we had to keep rearranging our dishes to fit. Our waiter was very attentive and nice to try and make up for it though. Neighboring tables we quite close (just out of elbow's reach), so it felt like we were having a conversation with six people, not just the two of us. We split a margherita pizza and a side of the mac&cheese (since it sounded so delicious). The pizza was okay, and I can make better mac&cheese at home. We also specifically asked for the mac&cheese without bacon, and it came with bacon anyway - but the waiter was nice and took off a buck or two for the mistake. I got a hot apple cider cocktail, which was good but a bit strong. Nothing on the dessert menu caught our eye, so we didn't bother. All in all I wasn't impressed. If I catch another show at Arena Stage I'd probably try the burger place opening next door instead.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bite before Arena Stage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The only good place to eat around the theater. Had excellent pumpkin soup, and swordfish very lightly cooked, just the way I like it. Cheesecake desert was mediocre, but nice that they let you return after the theater to finish your prix fixe meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN Sun Feb 10th 2013”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We got there early 5:50 I explained we had a 7:30 show The seating was very tight almost like a cafeteria. Then I noticed that the table wear and wine glass were dirty and I was missing silverware. The server was very nice and replaced them but her supporting cast were HORRIBLE. When the bread came out ,they brought two tired little cubes of bread in a basket & some oil in a small bowl. I asked for more then they brought back the same bread and two heels. After we ate the bread my appetizer came out & I then noticed the couple seated next to us got a basket bristling with nice warm bread, at least eight to ten pieces. I actually began to wonder was the fact that we are a interracial couple a factor in the HORRIBLE service. The other patrons didn't have any of these issues. This along with the fact that after waiting 45 minutes we still were without our main course really bothered me. We ended up leaving without eating so as not to be rushed, in order to make our show. This was an evening that I spent weeks planing. I was so angry i could barley contain myself.. NEVER AGAIN this was an outrage.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Finally! A great meal option near Arena Stage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've been struggling with the food at Arena's Catwalk Cafe; it is both not good and overpriced. Someone mentioned Station 4 and we thought we would try it. As soon as we walked in the door, we knew our meal dilemma was over. Very obliging hostess. Terrific server -- Keera -- who managed to beautifully manage our questions and our order while training a new server on a full-up Saturday night. And a thoughtful manager -- Marco -- who reacted to our questions and compliments about the restaurant by offering us a glass of champagne. Good and varied menu selections whether you want a little (the salmon sliders are terrific, the soup was delicious) or a lot. Fairly priced and tasty wine. The food delivery was mindful of our curtain time but not rushed. Equally important, we could talk to each other without straining. (We were seated in the front of the restaurant.) We were delighted and look forward to returning for dinner before the show and maybe some other meals, too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Station 4 also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Station 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station 4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.