We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Could not have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while doing a college visit with my daughter. It could not have been better. We choose the club level as I wanted the option of a quick breakfast and was pleasantly surprised with the club lounge that offered a choice of food all through the day. Curtis in the club lounge was very helpful and made us feel welcome. I found the entire staff very courteous and offering to help at every turn. We will be back.
For family dinner nearby try Founding Farmers a nice restaurant with locally grown food.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with family do the club level you can use the club lounge for a lite breakfast...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel had many environmentally friendly features like the water bottles were biodegradable.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    165
    69
    26
    12
See reviews for
137
98
33
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had booked their simplest room for a brief three day stay while exploring local colleges. When we came onto their property, we had to hunt down a valet to help us with our luggage as they were hanging around the door, talking to each other. This soured our mood slightly, all though I was impressed one of their valets knew how to properly drive a manual, unlike so many other valets.

Check-in was brief all though the property is maze-like to get to the elevators from the entrance–but that is nothing that they can fix at this point, obviously. Since we paid with our RC Credit Card, we got a upgrade to the Club Lounge, but we didn't get the $100 credit towards our stay since it was over two nights, which isn't too big, but wasn't like a good RC would be like. Our room was big though, which was a nice touch, with a large and beautiful bathroom. As we went about the property, it was a nice location in downtown DC and had lovely fixing around the property.

The saving grace of this hotels' service lies in the club lounge. IF we weren't in a room with access, we would have left after the first night. The lounge's food was excellent, as was their staff, which made us feel better about our decision on the hotel. Another neat part of this hotel is that you can text the valet to bring your car around front. Since their garage is underground, the cars come rather quickly, making sure you don't have to wait in the heat for your vehicle.

The food from in-room dining was okay but not as excellent. For the location, I'd recommend going to Joe's (McPherson Sq Metro Station). It is an AMAZING place for lunch or dinner. Just be warned, their clientele are businessmen and women, so dress accordingly.

Checking-out was simple as we did it in room and just like that we left. We will be exploring their Georgetown property or the JW Marriott in DC. Most likely will not be returning because of the staff service, which is what makes or breaks a hotel like the Ritz-Carlton. Everything is in first impressions. Everything.

Room Tip: Club Lounge floor or bust.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason r, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I wanted to take this opportunity to apologize for not living up to the high standards of service you should expect from the Ritz-Carlton Washington D.C. and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in detail with you and I hope that you could call me at 202-974-5504.

Thank you for feedback and I look forward to speaking with you.

Regards,

Jason Richter
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Ritz-Carlton, you did not disappoint! The staff, the room, the bathroom - very nice. I never saw housekeeping, but my room was always clean when I returned from visiting with my client. The location can't be beat - a short walk to restaurants, a Starbucks (next to the Walgreens) is literally down the street and a corner Walgreens (across the street) for everything you forgot to pack. I'll be staying here for every trip I have to the DC area from now on.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The service was great from the time arrived. The room was beautiful despite not having much of a view. Very clean with a huge bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is about a 20 minute cab ride from Reagan Airport - you get to see a lot of the DC sights with just the cab ride. The hotel is in walking distance to a lot.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great experience up to Ritz standards. Staff is awesome. Club amenities are a bit shy, menu is sparse, but service is excellent as to be expected from RC. Location is very good and a short walk or easy cab to all DC sites and museums.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, get a courtyard room. Fire station across the street from the hotel is active all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent a few days here over the 4th of July Holiday. It was a great experience. Rooms were clean and spacious. Housekeeping we encountered were always smiling and friendly. The Club lounge staff were very helpful. The hotel had smores making in the lobby on the 4th with colored (red white and blue) marshmallows. The desk staff and concierge were very effecient and helpful as was the door staff. The location of this hotel is perfect......Great stay...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

One star only for the bell service. Expecting good service and cleanliness and got the absolute opposite. I stupidly stayed here on two separate occasions within the span of one week. No water or any real courtesy at check in. I realized they had overcharged me on my bill for my first stay and hoped they would fix it when i checked in the second time. the front desk person was beyond rude and unhelpful. In both rooms, all the linens had stains on them. Yes, all of them. Requests for normal amenities like slippers required at least two phone calls even when housekeeping definitely was not busy. They no longer have Bulgari amenities and are using some cheap and terrible substitute. They charge for wifi, they charge for the gym, they charge for absolutely everything. I expected a lot better for what the rooms cost here and am sorely disappointed. The only saving grace were the bell employees who were actually kind and courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason r, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I wanted to take this opportunity to apologize for not living up to the high standards that we promise at The Ritz-Carlton and we deeply regret the inconvenience this caused.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in detail with you and I hope that you could call me at 202-974-5504.

Thank you for feedback and I look forward to speaking with you.

Regards,

Jason Richter
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC

Address: 1150 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz Carlton
Ritz Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.