We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #34 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Ritz-Carlton, you did not disappoint! The staff, the room, the bathroom - very nice. I never saw housekeeping, but my room was always clean when I returned from visiting with my client. The location can't be beat - a short walk to restaurants, a Starbucks (next to the Walgreens) is literally down the street and a corner Walgreens (across the street) for everything you forgot to pack. I'll be staying here for every trip I have to the DC area from now on.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    150
    62
    21
    12
See reviews for
116
89
29
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogdensburg, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The service was great from the time arrived. The room was beautiful despite not having much of a view. Very clean with a huge bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is about a 20 minute cab ride from Reagan Airport - you get to see a lot of the DC sights with just the cab ride. The hotel is in walking distance to a lot.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great experience up to Ritz standards. Staff is awesome. Club amenities are a bit shy, menu is sparse, but service is excellent as to be expected from RC. Location is very good and a short walk or easy cab to all DC sites and museums.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, get a courtyard room. Fire station across the street from the hotel is active all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent a few days here over the 4th of July Holiday. It was a great experience. Rooms were clean and spacious. Housekeeping we encountered were always smiling and friendly. The Club lounge staff were very helpful. The hotel had smores making in the lobby on the 4th with colored (red white and blue) marshmallows. The desk staff and concierge were very effecient and helpful as was the door staff. The location of this hotel is perfect......Great stay...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

One star only for the bell service. Expecting good service and cleanliness and got the absolute opposite. I stupidly stayed here on two separate occasions within the span of one week. No water or any real courtesy at check in. I realized they had overcharged me on my bill for my first stay and hoped they would fix it when i checked in the second time. the front desk person was beyond rude and unhelpful. In both rooms, all the linens had stains on them. Yes, all of them. Requests for normal amenities like slippers required at least two phone calls even when housekeeping definitely was not busy. They no longer have Bulgari amenities and are using some cheap and terrible substitute. They charge for wifi, they charge for the gym, they charge for absolutely everything. I expected a lot better for what the rooms cost here and am sorely disappointed. The only saving grace were the bell employees who were actually kind and courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason r, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I wanted to take this opportunity to apologize for not living up to the high standards that we promise at The Ritz-Carlton and we deeply regret the inconvenience this caused.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in detail with you and I hope that you could call me at 202-974-5504.

Thank you for feedback and I look forward to speaking with you.

Regards,

Jason Richter
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC has an understated elegance - public areas wood-paneled, broken down into more intimate spaces, comfortable armchairs in the bar area and (Murano?) glass chandeliers. The rooms are spacious and well-equipped but not overstuffed. The ladies and gentlemen of the staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful; many somehow knew our names. Good buffet breakfast, helped along by friendly staff. In fact, the restaurant here is a plus (though watch out for the prices of some wines by the glass); we can think of some Ritz-Carltons we frequent were the restaurant is the weak link. Not here. Washington and Georgetown attractions are in easy reach and this is a useful location for many embassies, as well as the World Bank and the IMF. Ris is an excellent restaurant on the same block too. Shirts are $14.

Green Features: One of the few hotels where they actually let you keep your towels if you left them hanging-up!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I have been coming here regularly for many years. Very attentive service. Nicely decorated rooms. A pleasant bar. An OK restaurant with acceptable food and a decent wine list. You do not get surprised here. And the location is very good whatever reason brings you to D.C.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC

Address: 1150 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz Carlton
Ritz Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.