We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #34 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel provided excellent service, provided a spacious room. Bedding was extremely comfortable, hotel staff was very helpful. Concierge service was average. Location is a several blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station, from there easy to get to museums, the mall, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    150
    62
    21
    11
See reviews for
116
88
29
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
united states
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice and quiet hotel with nice-sized bedrooms and bathrooms. Located in a quiet neighborhood but very accessible. However, was disappointed by the fact that although there was a full-service gym attached to the property, the hotel charges an additional $15/day for access to it. Also, wifi is an additional $10/day. Shouldn't both of these be free for a hotel that is supposed to be 5-star luxury? And no swimming pool? Really?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for recently staying at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC.
I appreciate your patronage and I also appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable comments and feedback.
I apologize that you found our internet prices to be excessive – our pricing is actually in line with the other luxury hotels in the Washington DC market place.
I also understand that you expected our Sports Club to be complimentary – The Club is actually quite different than the typical hotel facility. The charge that the guest pays grants access to all fitness classes – there are over 30 offered every day, squash courts, swimming pools (which is why we do not have one), cardio equipment, weight studio, yoga rooms, basketball courts etc. It really is a world class health club – the best in Washington DC.
Warm Regards,
David Child
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lookout Mountain, Tennessee
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, great location, what can I say? First visit to this location and I will return. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Room was nice and after I removed the feather bed from mattress, the bed was comfy. Only issue was my room seemed warm and humid. Even with my air on 65 it just didn't seem that cool...and it was hot and humid in DC when we were there (6/26-7/1). I had two rooms and the other room seemed to cool as needed. If you are a Ritz fan, the 22nd street location won't let you down.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had the good fortune to stay at this extraordinary hotel for 3 nights for a wedding in June 2013. From the time we checked in (midnight) to check out the service was impeccable. Each employee was courteous and professional. Although not privy to the planning behind the event, I will say the Ritz executed the event spectacularly from my perspective. Gorgeous room, great food, superior service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fabulous experience! Great location, rooms, services, amenities, and especially attentive and professional staff! Most highly recommend! Every small request was met in a timely and courteous manner. Recommendations and directions to off site dining and DC attractions were accurate and well researched.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

There are many great new hotels in DC, especially in the last 5 years. This hotel is older and more traditional than the newer boutique hotels that have popped up and become trendy, however, if you want to be well treated in a great location, this is the place to stay. The most impressive thing about the hotel is the staff, every time you walk into the hotel from an outing they know you and call you by name. Hotel staff like this are hard to come by and rare and the whole reason you should stay at this hotel versus the others in town. I recommend a room with a view of the inner courtyard and not the city for a little more peace and quiet.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your note on Trip Advisor - We are delighted that you selected the Ritz-Carlton and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewJersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Everyone working at this hotel seemed extremely friendly and willing to help. The service here gets 5 stars. But frankly I just don't see how this property gets a 5 star rating. There was nothing that set the room apart from any good 3 or 4 star hotel. The carpeting, furniture and linens all seemed a bit dated and worn. Also there is no pool and the if you want to use a gym it's an extra $15 per person to use a privately owned gym nearby. Our package included breakfast and we opted for the buffet. Again, the service was great but the food was nothing better than what you might get at an embassy suites. If you stay here you can expect excellent service from the entire staff but you might be disappointed with the hotel itself. Definitely not worth the 5 star price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad that you enjoyed the staff at the hotel - but I am sorry that you did not find our facilities "five star". I wish you had tried our Sports Club - it actually does have an adults only lap pool - its 100000 square feet and offers 100 excercise classes a week, a few hundered cardio machines, squash and basketball courts, its own cafe and so much more. When you return do DC please let me know - I would to host you in the Sports club so you can enjoy this amazing facility. Once again - I appreciate your comments.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC

Address: 1150 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz Carlton
Ritz Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.