We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #35 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
united states
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice and quiet hotel with nice-sized bedrooms and bathrooms. Located in a quiet neighborhood but very accessible. However, was disappointed by the fact that although there was a full-service gym attached to the property, the hotel charges an additional $15/day for access to it. Also, wifi is an additional $10/day. Shouldn't both of these be free for a hotel that is supposed to be 5-star luxury? And no swimming pool? Really?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for recently staying at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC.
I appreciate your patronage and I also appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable comments and feedback.
I apologize that you found our internet prices to be excessive – our pricing is actually in line with the other luxury hotels in the Washington DC market place.
I also understand that you expected our Sports Club to be complimentary – The Club is actually quite different than the typical hotel facility. The charge that the guest pays grants access to all fitness classes – there are over 30 offered every day, squash courts, swimming pools (which is why we do not have one), cardio equipment, weight studio, yoga rooms, basketball courts etc. It really is a world class health club – the best in Washington DC.
Warm Regards,
David Child
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    110
    51
    16
    10
See reviews for
81
69
24
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lookout Mountain, Tennessee
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, great location, what can I say? First visit to this location and I will return. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Room was nice and after I removed the feather bed from mattress, the bed was comfy. Only issue was my room seemed warm and humid. Even with my air on 65 it just didn't seem that cool...and it was hot and humid in DC when we were there (6/26-7/1). I had two rooms and the other room seemed to cool as needed. If you are a Ritz fan, the 22nd street location won't let you down.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had the good fortune to stay at this extraordinary hotel for 3 nights for a wedding in June 2013. From the time we checked in (midnight) to check out the service was impeccable. Each employee was courteous and professional. Although not privy to the planning behind the event, I will say the Ritz executed the event spectacularly from my perspective. Gorgeous room, great food, superior service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fabulous experience! Great location, rooms, services, amenities, and especially attentive and professional staff! Most highly recommend! Every small request was met in a timely and courteous manner. Recommendations and directions to off site dining and DC attractions were accurate and well researched.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

There are many great new hotels in DC, especially in the last 5 years. This hotel is older and more traditional than the newer boutique hotels that have popped up and become trendy, however, if you want to be well treated in a great location, this is the place to stay. The most impressive thing about the hotel is the staff, every time you walk into the hotel from an outing they know you and call you by name. Hotel staff like this are hard to come by and rare and the whole reason you should stay at this hotel versus the others in town. I recommend a room with a view of the inner courtyard and not the city for a little more peace and quiet.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your note on Trip Advisor - We are delighted that you selected the Ritz-Carlton and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewJersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Everyone working at this hotel seemed extremely friendly and willing to help. The service here gets 5 stars. But frankly I just don't see how this property gets a 5 star rating. There was nothing that set the room apart from any good 3 or 4 star hotel. The carpeting, furniture and linens all seemed a bit dated and worn. Also there is no pool and the if you want to use a gym it's an extra $15 per person to use a privately owned gym nearby. Our package included breakfast and we opted for the buffet. Again, the service was great but the food was nothing better than what you might get at an embassy suites. If you stay here you can expect excellent service from the entire staff but you might be disappointed with the hotel itself. Definitely not worth the 5 star price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad that you enjoyed the staff at the hotel - but I am sorry that you did not find our facilities "five star". I wish you had tried our Sports Club - it actually does have an adults only lap pool - its 100000 square feet and offers 100 excercise classes a week, a few hundered cardio machines, squash and basketball courts, its own cafe and so much more. When you return do DC please let me know - I would to host you in the Sports club so you can enjoy this amazing facility. Once again - I appreciate your comments.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Amazing time! Great service. Started with lunch room service. Tasty Cobb Salad.
Club Lounge was awesome. They had a special Sangria fthat was perfect on a hot summer day. Ryan was extremely helpful and attentive throughout our stay. I also loved the afternoon snacks. Beri was very nice and made us feel welcome and answered all our questions. She was one of my favorites! I loved the fondue with fresh strawberries and mini Madeline's.
Dinner at the Westend Bistro was outstanding. Loved the Halibut special with gnocchi. The calamari was a great start to the meal. Dessert was smores and it was unbelievable. The weather was ideal for the patio. The wait staff was quick and very nice. We liked our server Ted.
That night we watched the hockey finals in the lobby lounge. Chen was our server and recommended a great champagne. We also loved our yucca fries. She was very prompt and responsive.
Late night room service with Michelle was a wonderful end to the day. Michelle was really nice and explained everything we had ordered. She offered to help us get a wake up call and make sure we were all set for the next day. Great selection. We liked their beer Loose Cannon.
We had our wake up call and took advantage of the 15 minute snooze call for a follow up. Breakfast was a delicious way to start the day. We did the pre order and they came right on time. The chocolate chip pancakes were super good and I liked the eggs Benedict too. The breakfast potatoes were delicious too.
The hotel room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The view was of the courtyard which is really nice. Elevators came quickly. Valets were nice and gave us water before we left. I also love their robes. We used the pressing service and it was prompt. Allie carried our luggage up and helped us get settled in right away. I requested foam pillows because of allergies and they came right away. Internet was fast and easy to access. Jacqueline at the front desk checked us in and the conceirge Robert helped us get reservations for dinner. Both were really helpful and gave us great tips for DC.
We had an awesome stay and I would go back to the Ritz In a heartbeat! Great for families too.

Room Tip: Go for a courtyard view on a high level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make comments on Trip Advisor.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Please come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC

Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington Dc Hotel
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz Carlton
Ritz Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz-Carlton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton
Washington Dc Ritz
Address: 1150 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.