We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location for Georgetown University” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3800 Reservoir Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20057 (Georgetown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location for Georgetown University”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Right on Georgetown's campus and in walking distance to fabulous M Street, the Potomac, and public transportation or cabs to travel all over Washington, DC.
Garage parking is available with easy in/out.
The staff is lovely from the front door to the lobby desk staff and cleaning staff.
The individual charges for internet service, late check out and other miscellaneous needs add up and are a detriment to staying here.
Views out over the campus are lovely from the rooms although the drive up to the front door is unattractive via the hospital driveway or the parking garage cracked concrete drive.
Being able to walk through campus especially for parents' weekends and graduation make this the best place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms with views over the campus are lovely. One side looks out across campus with steeples, the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    69
    48
    16
    10
See reviews for
40
18
16
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Signage to hotel is confusing since hotel is right behind hospital. Construction going on around the hospital was a bit of a nuisance but that was not the fault of the hotel. Staff was helpful and friendly at check in but service fell off after that. When we got to our room, we found it was 2 doubles when we booked a king. Hotel was booked and staff was unable to make a change. Room was on the small side but clean. We requested a wake up call for 3 rooms which no one ended up getting, NOT GOOD. Lobby area had no restrooms, had to go down a long hall that was actually part of the campus in order to access a bathroom. Not a very good design in my opinion. How do you not have a public restroom in your lobby area for your guests?
Location is great for the university or the hospital but it was a good walk to get to the shops and restaurants in the main section of Georgetown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a weekend of testing for my nurse practitioner program. Not only was it right across from the hospital and at the center of the Georgetown main campus, it was within walking distance of a great restaurant (Epicurean) as well as downtown Georgetown. The front desk staff were immensely helpful and even asked how I was doing with my testing. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The bedding was excellent. I am definitely planning on staying there again for my next round of testing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great location, once you find it! No signage, none. You enter through the GU hospital complex from a busy, busy street. No sign. Standard issue hotel, plain but functional. No dinner restaurant on premises, you have to walk two blocks to nearest one, and that is a student cafeteria. Great beds. No chair other than desk chair. Only one wastebasket and that in the bathroom. Water pressure in shower almost non-existent. No Metro stop, but for parents of students, visitors to the hospital complex, it would be ideal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed here while attending the National Undergraduate Bioethics Conference on the Georgetown University campus. The room was excellent: a very comfortable bed, well-equipped bathroom, and wide screen tv. The reception desk clerks were very welcoming. Wifi was not free, but not exorbitant, at $9.95 a day. However, I had trouble logging on, staying logged on, and using my email account. I called the front desk, which switched me to their IT person. He was very nice, and explained that the problem was not with the hotel but with the University (I admit I didn't really understand his explanation). I told him that if I couldn't use my email account, the wifi was not worth it for me. He said that I would not be charged and could continue to use it. It worked pretty well after that, and I was not charged, so I was very satisfied with the service and the problem solving. The breakfasts in the Faculty Lounge were ample and varied. The first morning oatmeal was served in coffee cups, but after several people complained (the oatmeal dripped from the ladle over the side of the cups), they provided real bowls. Again, if there's a problem, they fix it. I like that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We'll keep staying here since it's right on campus, and there's nowhere as convenient.
However, our window fell into the room while we tried to open it, the sink drain was very slow and the door handle to our room was broken.
The fix-it man was very nice, but they may want to look at infrastructure a bit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Not having been to Georgetown or D.C. in many years, I wasn't sure where to stay when visiting Georgetown Univ. This hotel was the most reasonably priced so I chose it. It turned out to be a great move. Although the entrance to the hotel is difficult to find due to signs being overshadowed by the hospital, once we did find it, it proved to be the perfect location. The hotel is literally on campus and therefore very convenient to visiting the school. Once there we could walk everywhere we needed to go. In addition, the hotel offers free shuttles to Metro stops in D.C. and Maryland. The room was good-sized, clean and very comfortable. The front desk staff was very helpful; arranging for museum tickets when we couldn't purchase them online. The $25 parking fee is a bit steep and my only complaint with the hotel. I would plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 3800 Reservoir Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20057
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown's own peaceful retreat. The Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center offers a unique experience nestled among the building of the Georgetown University campus. Located in the center of campus, it is a leisurely walk or short taxi ride away from the bustling streets of shopping and restaurants in the heart of Georgetown. A variety of amenities and services are offered in this 146 room hotel to suit the needs of the business, family and leisure travelers. The 13,500 sq. feet of event space provides an ideal location for anything from corporate meetings to weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown University Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Georgetown University Conference
Georgetown University Conference Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.