We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3800 Reservoir Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20057 (Georgetown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Clean, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This used to be a Marriott and is now run by Aramark, and I can feel the difference. The rooms are updated and clean, nice staff. As with a lot of older buildings, the elevator is loud and you can hear the airplanes coming over, but it is not too bad, just noticeable. I get the sense that the staff are not appropriately empowered to make customers happy. I witnessed situation with several people where the front desk wanted to help, but did not seems to be able to make small changes to make people happy. I hope Aramark will work more towards empowering their staff to focus on the customer more. For example, I needed to extend my stay for a night and I was out at a conference. I called the front desk and they transferred me to reservations. Reservations could not do it, and asked me to call back the front desk...they did not offer to transfer me. When I called back the front desk, they tried again to transfer me to reservations. The front desk finally said they would take care of it. When I came back to the front desk that evening, it was not taken care of. It took me to interface wi four people to get a small thing done. All were very nice, but not trained nor empowered to take care of it. So Aramark, I know you can do better!

Room Tip: Ask to be as far from elevator as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    69
    48
    16
    10
See reviews for
40
18
16
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

One under advertised aspect is "The Faculty" restaurant located in the conference center which is wonderful for breakfast. The Epicurean cafeteria style restaurant on site is horrible and should be avoided for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable but you come here because your child attends Georgetown(or you are interviewing).It is on campus so it really doesn't make sense to stay elsewhere (clearly closer). The prices are reasonable for the area (unless you want to spend $500 in Georgetown and walk). The entrance is tricky to find: entrance #1 of the hospital on Reservoir Road (follow the signs to the cancer center) then park in the garage and take the elevator up one flight to the lobby. It is part of the Leavey student center. I rent a car from DCA or Dulles. (It's 15-20 min to Reagan and 40 min to Dulles).. If you are going to take an OUTGOING taxi you need to order one at the desk, there's not always one ready...or walk down to the Healey Gates and take one from there,. If you want to eat: you can buy groceries from "Vital Vittles" the student-run grocery store in Leavey; or order room service until 11pm (burger or sandwich) or walk across the street to Epicurean student dining hall; or make reservations on M street and walk for 15-20 min.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The room I stayed in had two double beds. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable. Cleanliness is the most important factor to me. The room was also smaller than most. It seems that the more expensive a hotel, the fewer conveniences are free. Internet was $10 per day and the in-room bottle of water was $5.00. They were also trying to sell a very small bed pillow, embroidered with “Georgetown” for approximately $40.00.

The convention center was standard and the meals prepared by the hotel were all very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul Mn
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Pretty much what you would expect from the base model of the Holiday Inn brand. Clean comfortable with no frills. The interior of the room that I stayed in appeared to have some recent cosmetic updates .However when you start digging deeper it is apparent that everything was done on the cheap.Cheap light fixture.Cheap fold out sofa,so broken down I thought I was going need help just to get out of it.The lack of electrical outlets necessitated the use of a power strip to accomodate the room demands plus those of the guests.
this Hotel is not in the most convenient location to Georgetown so they make up for it by providing shuttle service to many of the places that guests need to be. They offer parking for $15.00 dollars a night. What they don't tell you is that there is meterd parking on the street that is not enforced from 6;30p to 0800a. So just go find yourself a spot and be out by 0800.
All in all, I wouldn't call it a bad place to stay. I would call it pleasantly functional.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for business a couple of times this year. The location is great for those needing to be close to campus (it is actually on campus). The rooms are clean and comfortable. Some of the decor is a bit dated, but that is to be expected over time. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice place. Would definitely be my choice for on campus lodging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

From the first call to make a reservation to a confirmation call to ask about directions and reservations to a last minute call due to my husbands' illness, the Front Deask Staff could not have been more gracious and accommodating. Room was lovely, spacious and newly refurbished. I can't wait to visit Georgetown University and the D.C. area again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the University.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 3800 Reservoir Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20057
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown's own peaceful retreat. The Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center offers a unique experience nestled among the building of the Georgetown University campus. Located in the center of campus, it is a leisurely walk or short taxi ride away from the bustling streets of shopping and restaurants in the heart of Georgetown. A variety of amenities and services are offered in this 146 room hotel to suit the needs of the business, family and leisure travelers. The 13,500 sq. feet of event space provides an ideal location for anything from corporate meetings to weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown University Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Georgetown University Conference
Georgetown University Conference Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.