We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Holiday inn is a Holiday Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3800 Reservoir Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20057 (Georgetown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
St.Paul Mn
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Holiday inn is a Holiday Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Pretty much what you would expect from the base model of the Holiday Inn brand. Clean comfortable with no frills. The interior of the room that I stayed in appeared to have some recent cosmetic updates .However when you start digging deeper it is apparent that everything was done on the cheap.Cheap light fixture.Cheap fold out sofa,so broken down I thought I was going need help just to get out of it.The lack of electrical outlets necessitated the use of a power strip to accomodate the room demands plus those of the guests.
this Hotel is not in the most convenient location to Georgetown so they make up for it by providing shuttle service to many of the places that guests need to be. They offer parking for $15.00 dollars a night. What they don't tell you is that there is meterd parking on the street that is not enforced from 6;30p to 0800a. So just go find yourself a spot and be out by 0800.
All in all, I wouldn't call it a bad place to stay. I would call it pleasantly functional.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    76
    52
    17
    11
See reviews for
47
22
16
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for business a couple of times this year. The location is great for those needing to be close to campus (it is actually on campus). The rooms are clean and comfortable. Some of the decor is a bit dated, but that is to be expected over time. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice place. Would definitely be my choice for on campus lodging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

From the first call to make a reservation to a confirmation call to ask about directions and reservations to a last minute call due to my husbands' illness, the Front Deask Staff could not have been more gracious and accommodating. Room was lovely, spacious and newly refurbished. I can't wait to visit Georgetown University and the D.C. area again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the University.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We just returned from a weekend conference at the hotel. The bathrooms are very small and rooms seem typical of a normal hotel room. Even though we had requested a fridge for medications a month prior to our arrival, one was not available. Upon our arrival our reservation was not correct and we were told they were completely sold out; however, staff immediately called a manager and figured it out for us ~ Thank you! The best part of this hotel was the chef. The chef at the faculty club went ABOVE and BEYOND to ensure over 120 children with severe food allergies could safely dine in a buffet style environment, which is hardly ever a possibility when you have a child with food allergies. He and his staff were AMAZING! The hotel's convenience to campus and easy walking distance to the shops at Georgetown is also a bonus.

Room Tip: If you were looking for a campus visit for a high school student, this would be a great hotel as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here on a visit to Georgetown University. Our room had been recently remodeled. It was clean, comfortable and attractive. Because parking is limited in the area, we appreciated the attached parking garage. There is a food court in the building. Rates are reasonable although parking is an additional $25/night and Wi-Fi is an extra $10/night. Special rates are available if you have some connection to the university.

I would recommend this hotel if Georgetown is your destination. Since the hotel is not close to the Metro or other transportation, the location is not very convenient for visiting DC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the hotel as it had been reserved for us for business purposes. I had stayed there before and had been disappointed by the attitude of some of the desk staff. This was to be the case again. On checking in it seemed as if the girl on the desk was doing us a favour. I asked if a package had been left at reception for me to collect and was told 'no' (it had been). The room size was adequate but small. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The bathroom and vanity area was poorly lit and badly designed. Car parking is an extortionate $25 for 24 hours and was made worse by the fact that I parked at midnight and left just before 6am.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I booked the Latham in Georgetown but it closed for refurb, so this was a last minute choice for my budget, I wasn't disappointed nice clean room and quiet. Only downsides $10 for 24hr wifi, and parking $25 for 24hrs

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 3800 Reservoir Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20057
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown's own peaceful retreat. The Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center offers a unique experience nestled among the building of the Georgetown University campus. Located in the center of campus, it is a leisurely walk or short taxi ride away from the bustling streets of shopping and restaurants in the heart of Georgetown. A variety of amenities and services are offered in this 146 room hotel to suit the needs of the business, family and leisure travelers. The 13,500 sq. feet of event space provides an ideal location for anything from corporate meetings to weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown University Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Georgetown University Conference
Georgetown University Conference Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.