We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location & Amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Washington, DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Washington, DC to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Washington, DC
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1475 Massachusetts Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Location & Amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

While I originally was disappointed in the lack of a pool/hottub, the location and amenities offered more than made up for it. First of all, the rooms were beautiful and contained of 2 separate rooms (bedroom and living room/kitchen). It was very convenient having a full kitchen since we were gone for an entire week. Another awesome aspect was the free dinner and drinks from 5 to 7 Monday through Thursday. This made our food/dining costs decrease dramatically. The dinners each night were absolutely delicious and free drinks are always a plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    263
    72
    20
    21
See reviews for
284
80
23
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here at the end of June and arrived the day after one of the worst storms in the history of D.C. We had booked at another Homewood out on Leesburg Pike but due to that area losing power we had to search for another hotel. By the way the staff of the Homewood that had no power was of no help in guiding us to another Hilton Property and did not seem to care what happened to us. We were in town for 3 days before heading up to Canada. However the staff at this Homewood property was incredibly helpful. After working our way thru most of DC having no power in most areas, we came upon this property thanks to our GPS. Upon arrival tired and hungry from our 9 hour drive we were greeted very politely by a nice young lady whose name I cannot remember(I am so sorry I forgot). After explaining to her our problem she took our problem to the Front Desk Manager whose name I believe was Surey. Again I apoligize if the name is incorrect. After explaining to him that we had pre-paid for our visit at the other Homewood location he worked very hard to make sure we recieved a comparable rate at this property. Thankfully he was able to accomodate my family. The property itself is beautiful and the location is ideal. However the breakfast is atrocious and that is being nice. Coffee always ran out without being refilled, food was cold even with the warming trays and also poorly restocked, and the fruit was usually under ripe. Parking is also very expensive and it was disappointing to find out that there was no discount for handicapped parking. Overall the staff was 5 star at the front desk but food and beverage was a 1 star so 3 stars is the final score.

Room Tip: Ask about the pool. We were told they did not have one. Also ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne_GM, General Manager at Homewood Suites Washington, DC, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hello, and thanks for your very balanced review. I appreciate that you took the time to acknowledge the front desk team, and the fact that they helped you in a very distressed situation. The derecho (a new term for most of us) that came through the Washington, DC area in July was absolutely devastating to many neighborhoods in our tri-state area. The hotel unexpectedly filled up with families who were without power or whose homes were damaged, and I'm afraid our product and service levels were not up to our usual standards. In addtion, our food service vendor was without power in their warehouse, and as a result, they did not make our bi-weekly delivery as scheduled. Everything that could go wrong did that weekend, and I am terribly sorry that you and your family were inconvenienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on several occasions. The staff is extremely friendly. They are at your service if you need anything additional in the room from a new iron to a pair of scissors. It's a nice walk to U street and several great restaurants on the way. Love the rooms. This is one of my top options when I come to DC. More than enough room for myself and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, OH
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We checked in a little early and our room wasn't ready we were happy to sit in the lobby and wait since we had free internet, however after a few minutes they asked if we were ok switching to a room with 2 double beds. Worked out fine for us. Our room was large and clean, even though there was no view there was plenty of natural light. The location is fine, but as my friend did say it is 3 LONG blocks to the metro. There is a CVS very close buy which is convenient. We only got up early enough to enjoy breakfast one morning, it was fine. The happy hour food wasn't very impressive, one night was cold meat sandwiches and pasta salad and the other was mexican. They really could have used chips either night but if you know in advance bring your own chips. We enjoyed the wine and the staff was always keeping our glasses full. We used HHonor points for the room but were still left with $118 bill for 3 nights of valet parking. I know this is normal for city stay but a bummer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here while attending a trade show at the nearby convention center. It's a solid 15 minute walk, although very safe (we hiked it both in the mornings and late night). Breakfast is very good, but don't go late since they stop at 9am. Also, there is free "dinner" (seriously, they have meals served) in the evenings Mon-Thu from 5-7pm, if you're interested. The suites are a good size, with a door separating the living room from the bedroom. The kitchen area is small but definitely is stocked with the essentials. Also, there's a ceiling fan in the bedroom which is really nice for those who like it nice & cool with a breeze.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I recently had a business trip to DC that involved blocking rooms for 25 business associates. As an event planner, I am well in tune to good customer service and getting the best deals available. Homewood Suites delivered on both of these issues. The location was great - A bit off the beaten path but close enough to everything to either walk or take the metro. Just around the corner is a quaint street with shops, great bars and restaurants and a Whole Foods supermarket. Whole Foods was a great find given that our suites had full kitchens! But keep in mind that breakfast and dinner are included In your room rate. The food was average but good enough. You even get beer and wine with dinner. I plan to return with another group in early November.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
187 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We traditionally stay at a major hotel chain left over from my business days. We switched to this Homewood Suites DC as our usual hotel was pricier than we cared to pay. This is a gem of a hotel. If you're into the luxe of chandeliers in the lobby, and fountains etc...this is not your place. If you're into comfort, full complimentary breakfast (and dinner Mon-Thu), excellent service, staff who can't seem to do enough for you then Homewood Suites DC is the place to stay. Conveniently located at Thomas Circle you're walking distance to the metro, shopping, etc... On site parking caps off the many amenities (free internet, complimentary beer and lemonade in the evening along with dinner) the hotel offers. Great for families as well!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington DC Down...
#83 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington/Dupont ...
#59 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Washington, DC

Address: 1475 Massachusetts Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Washington, DC 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Homewood Washington Dc
Washington Dc Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Washington, DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.