We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood bistro with charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Le Zinc - CLOSED

Bistro Le Zinc
3714 Macomb St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20016
(202) 686-2015
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Neighborhood bistro with charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I've been here several times since it opened in July, 2011, because it's near my home. What I like - charming decor, good service and good food. What isn't so great is that it's small so you are right up against others but that's what a bistro is. It's also fairly pricey although less so at lunch. We sometimes bring our own special bottle of wine (corkage fee is $25) and have always been received graciously by the sommelier/maitre d'.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“we won't go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

we came with another couple, and as other's have said, our table was practically on top of the next table. the noise level was terrible. tin ceiling, hard floor, nothing to lessen the noise. we had barely ordered when loud music came over the speaker that was near our table. we asked for this to be turned down, and we were told that is the way they like it. nothing changed.
service was slow and inattentive. if the food had been terrific, we might have excused some of this, but the food was only mediocre.
at the end of the meal, the waitress slapped our bill down in the center of the table and walked away.
we were stunned. needless to say, we will not return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The first review of this restaurant (when it first opened) was terrible so I wasn't interested. Then it got listed in the top 100 in Washingtonian magazine, so we wanted to try it. Liked the atmosphere, nice neighborhood place. Tables were packed one on top of the other though. Service was attentive. Disappointed in the food though. It was not bad, just not worth coming back for. Husband had vichyssoise - had little taste. Mussels were large, but broth was just "eh." Needed more garlic. He thought the frites were the best part of his meal. I had the house salad. Fresh ingredients but the dressing usually makes the salad. It needed something - garlic or more vinegar or fresh pepper (which was not offered). My fish was a special for the night. It was cooked nicely and the portion was generous - it just didn't have much flavor. It was supposed to have a pomegranate sauce. Came with a creamy risotto. Not much flavor. So bottom line, the service and atmosphere are there. The food looks fresh and is nicely cooked. But the flavor just wasn't there. Maybe the chef had an off night? The herbs and spices took the night off? I agree with my husband. His crunchy fries were the tastiest part of our meal - especially dipped in mayo. As we left, we saw the long line outside of 2 Amy's, and we both thought out loud - could have had a tastier meal there, for less money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience ever -- service consistently ignores the cusomer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We arrived 10 minutes early for our 8:00 PM reservation for a party of four, and proceeded to wait MORE THAN NINETY MINUTES to be seated. After waiting more than a half hour, an older man approached us and assured us we would be seated momentarily, that he was terribly sorry, and that he would make sure he made everything right with our party. We were then ignored for another hour before being seated. When we finally were seated, our waitress was brusque, rude, and ignored us for more than another 40 minutes before we could even place an order for wine.

Service continued to be uneven for the rest of the meal, and the appetizers and entrees were pedestrian at best – nothing particularly well-executed or memorable. Our party had the salmon, risotto, skate and ravioli entrees, but despite being famished, none of the entrees were in any way memorable and offered a favorable endorsement of their meal.

Even when we were clearly finished, our waitress ignored us and we finally had to ask more than once for the check.

Through no lingering or other fault of our own, our “dining experience” at your restaurant last night took more than 3.5 hours. I have never received worse service at a restaurant, and I regret not walking out of your pretentious establishment with your insincere pledges to treat us well. We will make sure to tell all our friends in North Cleveland Park not to bother patronizing your restaurant. I have never given any restaurant a "Terrible" review before, but this rating is entirely deserved.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Le Zinc: Noisy Place with Mediocre service and a rude manager”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Bistrot Le Zinc has very good food. But you have to be willing to cease any conversation with your dinner partners unless you want to scream above the music and the general pandemonium created by the tin ceiling, which reflects ALL noise EVERYWHERE. It would not be a big deal to sound absorption panels from the high ceilings to manage the incessant racket. When we asked the manager to lower the volume on the amplifier, his response was: "That is the level we play it." IE if you do not like it, suck it up or leave. The waitress was barely civil and not attentive; when we did not order dessert, she merely dropped the check on the table without a word. NOBODY said good night/thank you when we left. Won't be going back there any time soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Le Zinc also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Le Zinc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.