We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1199 Vermont Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #68 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Chester County, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Residence Inn DC Downtown is within walking distance to the White House and the Smithsonian Museums, in an area populated by lots of great restaurants. Our room was quite large and fully equipped with a small kitchen (even a dishwasher) and the complimentary popcorn was a nice surprise. The staff at the hotel was helpful, valet parking was quick and efficient, and the hotel hosts complimentary wine and appetizer events several times a week, with a large spread of appetizers and your choice of red or white wine. The free breakfasts were amazing. We will stay here every time we are in DC!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    144
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
109
74
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I had never stayed at Residence Inn DC before and so when my favorite DC hotels were all sold out, I decided to try this one based on good location. What I discovered was that it felt like joining a friendly family instead of just staying in a hotel. Every one who I chatted with in the elevator or the breakfast area seemed to be staying there for a week or a month and they all seemed to know each other--catching up on their travels or work since last time they saw each other. Even the breakfast servers and hotel staff seemed to know the guests and welcomed them "back home." It was a warm comfortable feeling that I am not used to feeling at a hotel. So while the rooms and public areas feel a little worn out and in need of refreshing, it was certainly a refreshing experience to be among such a friendly group of people.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This property has a great location with a CVS drugstore on the first floor. Breakfast was good and the manager's reception were nice. Not all rooms are the same size so ask for a larger one. Nice staff, interesting to watch them deal with the 12 inches of snow that shut the city down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband just returned from a 2 night stay in DC and we really enjoyed this hotel where we stayed on points. The room was generous in size and very comfortable. The breakfast is a real meal -- freshly scrambled eggs, pancakes, fruit, sausage, etc. When the main breakfast room was too crowded, the staff opened an adjacent room and continuously cleaned the main room. The door man hailed a taxi for us, although the hotel is conveniently located on the Metro for trips around DC also. If the rooms come in at an appropriate price, I'll stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel is central to many restaurants and only a few blocks from the Metro. The rooms were large and very clean. They offer quite a large variety of breakfast food and dinner offerings Monday through Wednesday. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OJT2014, Manager at Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown. We'll look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the area.

Residence Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Below average communication skills at the front desk. Rude, snickering staff. Samuel, the front desk manager / clerk is rude and unfriendly. Told me that my complaints are not valid because I was not on the list as one of the guests in the room.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OJT2014, Manager at Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. It is our goal to provide every guest we encounter with personalized and genuine service. We will definitely use this issue as a training mechanism for our Front Desk associates.

Residence Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel during new year's weekend, the location is pretty good, the Hotel is very clean, decent rooms, a good internet and a nice breakfast... Valet parking is expensive $23 but is better than parking across the street in the meters (I almost got a ticket)...
One of the most convenient things about this Hotel is having a CVS Pharmacy next to the property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown

Address: 1199 Vermont Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington Dc / Vermont Ave. Hotel Washington Dc
Residence Inn Vermont Ave
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.