We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel stays I have ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1199 Vermont Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #69 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best hotel stays I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

-The room was clean and large, the bed was comfortable, small but comfortable living area with a pull out couch, chair and a small table, a complete kitchen with a full size refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher! The room was quiet and I rarely heard outside noises.
-The bathroom was clean and the shower had plenty of water pressure. The wash area was outside the bathroom and the sink had a large sinktop and plenty of draws so things did not need to accumulate on top.
Housekeeping was so courteous! When the "do not disturb/I don't need service sign was up", it was honored. When I left the room and housekeeping was in the hall, I told them my colleague was still sleeping. This was meant so they didn't make up the room at that time. But housekeeping, who was actually just cleaning the hallway, quietly conferred with his co-worker, and they moved to continue cleaning in a different hallway!
-Front desk/doorman-Said hello every time I went in and out, and it came across as sincere!
-The breakfast was great and different every day. Eggs, home fries, sausage, bacon, wraps, waffles, oatmeal, juice, coffee... A FULL and tasty breakfast.
-Convenient! We walked to the convention center (5 min). We also walked to the capitol and the mall, though this was a long walk. The subway is a block or two away, so is an easy alternative.

-I would definitely stay here again. It was a bit pricey (though not so much for the area), but I did not feel it was overpriced. Rather, you paid a bit more but were given a lot in return!

Room Tip: Whatever room I was given was great but I don't know if it was just that room or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    142
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
108
74
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

And expensive for what you get. I stay here when I must, service and staff are just ok as well. The place is dumpy and expensive for what you get, but one of the lowered priced in the idle of DC, if you consider 289 per night reasonable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We loved these apartment style units, it was spacious and clean. It had a good location to the McPherson Square subway station as well as to all the Washington monuments and museums. The breakfast buffet in the morning was really tasty, lots of variety - I particularly liked making my own waffles with all sorts of toppings! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed 5 days in this hotel while I was in DC for business. The place is convenient for it's in downtown DC and close to many attractions including the white house. The room was spacious and the hotel very clean. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast is pretty good with a wide choice of foods and drinks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a friend over this past weekend. The hotel itself is fine, rooms are clean and spacous, and the in-room kitchenette area was a bonus. Although we were on the second floor facing the road, there was no issues with noise. The staff was very friendly, helpful and professional. The common areas looked clean and internet access was free in their small business centre. Beware -- there is not safe in the room, so you have to use a safety deposit box (no fee) at the reception desk.

As for breakfast, the choices were a bit limited. It would've been great to have some bacon and/or breakfast sausages, perhaps a better choice of fruits and maybe a greater variety of bread/toast/bagel.

The location was not bad in the sense that it is about 5 minute walk from McPherson Sq (Blue Line) subway station and yes, there is a 24-hour CVS rigth next to it, plus various coffee shops and restaurants nearby; however, if you are in town to do some classic sightseeing, then expect to take transit, because nothing (except the White House) is walking distance from the hotel.

All-in-all, it is a good hotel, but I am not sure it is worth the regular $189 per night (we got our room at a discounted rate).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The location is 2 short blocks from the Metro station and a 5-10 minute walk to the White House. There are plenty of sandwich shops, coffee shops and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel provides a nice buffet breakfast each morning, and, a limited dinner menu on Monday, Tuesday & Wednesday nights...all included at no additional charge. After a long day of sightseeing, even with the limited menu option, sometimes the evening dinner option beats going back out to find a meal. What I liked most about this hotel is the exceptional staff...front desk, kitchen, valet parking, housekeeping and engineering, security...all were excellent and clearly focused on making sure that the guest experience was positive. The people were all warm, friendly and helpful. I suspect that the culture stems from the top as the hotel's General Manager and Assistant General Manager were often in the breakfast area in the morning not only greeting guests but helping the kitchen staff serve during the busy breakfast rush.

The on site parking was steep, $33/day. I bet that there is a less expensive option within a block. Unfortunately, I didn't inquire about it, but, would if I returned. The rooms do not have an in room safe. The hotel offers locked security boxes at the front desk...not a big deal, but, less convenient that an in room lock box. Free Washington Post and USA Today each morning.

The area around the room is safe and well illuminated at night. Suggest asking for a high floor as a way to mitigate the traffic noise of the adjacent city streets. There is a CVS right next to the hotel where you can pick up various sundry items. Also within a block...Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, Au Bon Pan, Five Guys, the West Wing cafe...many more.

Clean hotel...convenient location..exceptional staff. Can't say enough about the staff. They all should be complimented. Many other properties in the Marriott could learn from the staff at this location.

Room Tip: The rooms on the end of the hall, 501 for example, have small balconies. They're also very larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on a business trip, so we had our reservation months in advance. I took the advice from the Tripadvisor reviewers and requested a upper floor room, away from elevator and close to the circle with two beds. We got the upper floor as requested (so the room was quite), all other requests were completely ignored. The beautiful pictures with views of the capital/ circle comes with a 50-60% higher price tag and does not come by just requesting them. Our room was nice, excellent for two people. The sofa bed is very uncomfortable so be ware.

The staff was polite and professional, but not much accommodating. The breakfast buffet was very nice and excellent staff and attendance.

One more point, the hotel is pet friendly and they allow pets in all the rooms. That is good news for some. However, for people with allergies and asthma problems this can be extremely painful and uncomfortable. It would have been nice if the hotel had made it clear in their website that they are "pet friendly". In our next stay in DC I would probably stay in a different hotel, but this is not a bad place to stay as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown

Address: 1199 Vermont Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington Dc / Vermont Ave. Hotel Washington Dc
Residence Inn Vermont Ave
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.