We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; comfort at reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1199 Vermont Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #71 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location; comfort at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

For business or touring, this is a very well located hotel. Easy access to the metro as well. A 24 hour pharmacy/convenience store right next door. Within walking distance of many offices, museums and restaurants. Each studio unit has a full well-equipped kitchen. You can easily heat up leftover meals or buy microwavable convenience meals right next door. Only negative is that no room has a king size bed.

Room Tip: There are no king size beds so if bed size is important, two separate beds might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    139
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
105
73
24
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Chose this hotel over the Inauguration weekend to utilize the kitchen while in town with family and standard with Residence Inns, for complimentary internet and breakfast. My review is two-sided as a guest and as a platinum elite member. As a platinum Marriott member, there was very little recognition; none if you don't count the "would you like points or a snack" at check-in. Despite it being a busy weekend, bigger rooms showed up as available on their website and I was never offered an upgrade. The front desk insisted the Marriott website was wrong. This is the very first Marriott hotel where I received no note, no small gift and/or no upgrade as a platinum elite member.

Outside of that huge disappointment, the hotel worked for my family. Location is 2 to 3 blocks from McPherson Sq Metro Station, next door to CVS and surrounded by retail and various restaurants. We took the train into the city to avoid traffic and it was about a 15 minute, $10 taxi ride (not incl tip or pax) from Union Station. We walked a few blocks to the White House and utilized the metro every day. Our room on the 9th floor was clean, appointed like most Residence Inns and spacious for a queen studio. There are no king beds in this hotel. Street noise was constant so I definitely don't recommend this hotel for light sleepers. I fell asleep to the noise and it woke me up early, but didn't keep me awake at night. Wi-fi was frustrating, especially in this day and age when staying connected is a priority for most. I ended up using my iphone as a hotspot for most of our time in the room.

Service, service, service...is the only reason I rated this hotel 4, very good and not a 3, average. Had a concern prior to my stay and Veva, one of the service managers, was very helpful. There was another manager, male-I can't remember his name, who was non-responsive to calls and voicemail but thank goodness for Veva. Front desk service was average, but the service at breakfast and housekeeping were top-notch over the busy weekend. Most notable was service in the breakfast room. There was always a little crowd in the room, but trays and dishes were plentiful. If you even looked like you were looking for something, at least 2 different people asked if they could help you find it. Smiles were abundant. There was a lady or gentleman in there everyday that mingled with the guests and checked on everyone. During one of our meals, the gentleman even brought us napkins for "just in case." A small, yet very thoughtful gesture for a meal with my kids. Their service gave a great start to our days there.

All in all, an average hotel. If I don't want or need the kitchen amenities, I will probably choose the Marriott-Metro Center or JW Marriott for my next stay. They are also in a great location and a little closer if you are in the area for anything in the National Mall or the Verizon Center. Also, if you are an elite member, they go the extra mile for you.

Room Tip: Light sleepers may want to ask for a room farthest from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouyn-Noranda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent value for the price paid, rooms were clean, staff was trumendous, within fairly short walking distance of many good places, white house, macy's to name a few.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

People, remember this is one of our oldest cities and this hotel is in a great location for any Capitol related business. The complimentary dinner is ok and the complimentary breakfast is very good. The service is top rate. The rooms are clean, though a little bit dated. The condition of furniture varies. Not too old, not brand new. We've stayed twice for business and will be back soon. The restaurant across the street (Lincoln's) is also great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I just stayed here for 3 weeks straight. The rooms are what you'd expect of an extended stay place -- no ovens in the kitchens, ancient, worn-out recliners, and a lived-in feel.
The worst crime is their non-functional internet access.
The wi-fi, when it works, is slower than Edge (2G) cellular data.
The ethernet port in my room never provided an IP address, and the tech who was supposed to fix it forgot to show up.
If you're a business customer, hopefully you have an mobile hotspot with a big data cap paid for by your employer, because this place is stuck in 1997, connectivity-wise.

Room Tip: Rooms on 14th St on lower levels are noisy. You will hear drunkards wandering home from the bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Sure, this hotel is a little tired, but the room we stayed in was spacious, clean and well equipped. The breakfast was tasty and generous. The staff were welcoming and obliging at all times. The hotel is well located in walking distance to the White House, the National Mall and the Penn Quarter. There are lots of good restaurants nearby, and the Metro is a short walk away. You will find nicer hotels, but this was a good value option for my family, and helped in ensuring we had a very enjoyable stay in Washington DC.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Where to begin, where to begin...

#1 - Don't use the dry cleaning. They will send it back uncleaned with an undecipherable note explaining why.

#2 - Don't use the food shopping delivery service. They won't bring it to your room as they say they will AND they will get your order wrong, lie to you about it, and then try to give you excuses such as "Well, we're very busy" as to why they got it wrong. You have to tell them to apologize, and then they eventually will.

#3 - Don't you dare put a "Do Not Disturb" sign on your door, only to take it off at 11:30 AM. Because, guess what? Housekeeping will decide that you evidently planned on staying in your room the whole day and won't service it. And don't you dare call down to the front desk and ask for a complete set of towels, because you will get a VERY RUDE security guard who brings you four towels. When you tell him that you asked for a complete sets, he will give you attitude and bring you two wash clothes and four (yes, four...) bath mats.

#4 - Don't plan on driving here because the only hotel parking available is valet. Where is the valet, you might ask? Good question, because you can never find him. When you call down for your car, don't expect it to be brought around in a timely fashion. DO expect to pay WAY TOO MUCH for parking of said car. DO expect them to not even be able to keep track of the billing of the car to the room as well.

I'm sure there are more awful things that I could say, and that will happen to me as I finish out my stay here. These are just the big ones that have happened thus far.

Basically, if you expect half-assed service for what you are paying for, then by all means stay here. But in my honest opinion, this hotel needs to have a Marriott representative come and do a secret survey because they will be APPALLED by the service that this location presents.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown

Address: 1199 Vermont Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington Dc / Vermont Ave. Hotel Washington Dc
Residence Inn Vermont Ave
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.