We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but needs some refreshing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1199 Vermont Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #68 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location, but needs some refreshing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 5 years, as it's close to a client's office I visit 4-5 times per year. This hotel used to be my first choice. It is now becoming my last choice. Marriott needs to invest in this property and update it both cosmetically as well as with better HVAC and plumbing.

Location: Close proximitey to major attactions like the White House. Easy 4 block walk to the metro. Many excellent restaurants within an easy walk.

Staff: Always extremely friendly and helpful. Usually able to accomodate an early check in.

Rooms: Here's where the problems begin. I have stayed on every floor of this hotel. One is not better than the other. The matresses are uncomfortable. One side is extremely worn, so you roll from one side of the bed to the other. They need better mattresses or to rotate their mattresses for more even wear. In my last few stays the sheets and towels had holes in them from wear. Also, were very rough in texture. In more rooms than not, pipes frequently rattle and you can hear water running in the walls, ofent loud enough to prevent a good night's sleep. Finally, the AC is VERY loud and in some rooms blows directly onto the bed.

Breakfast room: Generally clean and has a good selection of breakfast items. I do not usually have dinner here, unless it's poor weather. Have enjoyed the manager reception on occasion.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to reduce street noise. However, DC is a busy city so you will not eliminate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    143
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
109
74
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pocatello, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed at this Residence Inn for two nights December 4 and 5. Check in was speedy. Thanks guys! $50 deposit for those paying with cash, but will be returned to you upon arrival. Room was clean, plenty of towels. I had 2 queens - more than enough room for a single traveler. The beds were comfortable. Slept quite well and didn't notice any noise from the street below or the neighboring rooms. I tried to use the business center to send a few pics back to work - but the PC is very basic and let's face it, I'm a Mac person. I also didn't have a chance to use the gym but I think I read there was no pool available. Had breakfast there one day, which consisted of potatoes with peppers and sausage, ham, eggs and juice. I noticed there was also an assortment of cereals, toast, waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, juices and of course coffee. They are located right next to a CVS in case you forget something. Or want something to make with your kitchenette. I noticed there was an Au Bon Pain near, plus a few other sandwich shops. It's surrounded by a few cocktail lounges and restraints. I went to Stan's - drinks are expensive but very worth the money. This hotel is about a ten minute walk to McPherson Square to ride the metro. I really enjoyed my stay and hope to make this my regular spot when I come to DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at this Residence Inn with our 3 children for 3 nights. Our trip was both business and pleasure. This hotel was in a great location - easy to get to public transportation and sites. The room was very large - 2 queen beds and a hideaway. PLenty of space for a family of 5. It has a small kitchenette. Much larger than I expected to find in DC. The breakfast was also much larger than I had expected - lots of hot and cold options. I was especially impressed with the staff - every single person I met from the front desk, to the bellman, to the ladies in the breakfast area were extremely helpful and pleasant. I would definitely stay here again when traveling with our family to DC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent Thanksgving weekend here. The location is excellent for using transport system and for walking to many sites.
The room was large and very comfortable.The buffet breakfast was excellent and saved us a tidy sum each day.
The staff were very nice and welcoming and always on had to assist.
We defo stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The property is very centrally located and only a short walk from the Metro. Parking street-side can be challenging, especially due to alternate side regulations. That can be expected in any popular neighborhood in DC, however. Complementary dinner (served three nights per week) and breakfast (every morning) were excellent. I will definitely return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is located in the heart of everything. The rooms are big and clean. The staff is very friendly. They came across very sincere and happy to be there, smiling and greeting you all over the hotel. The beds are very comfortable and I love the pillows.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to help with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I have had the pleasure or staying in this amazing hotel 5 times since this past august and everytime was anincredible experience to be sure! Everyone involed and employed hereis absolutly wonderful! Anything i needed was taken care of and any challange met(challenges i had and they solved!) Dont rememberall the names butall were great and represent the Marriot name very well.They we remember me - they named me the Ravens guy! Again thank you all for everything and anyone needing.a hotel in Washington DC do yourself a favor and put this one at the top of your lost

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown

Address: 1199 Vermont Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington Dc / Vermont Ave. Hotel Washington Dc
Residence Inn Vermont Ave
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.